Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Front Light

Knog Boomer Front Light

Overall rating:
2.909 / 5
2.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
9
12 out of 22(55%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Knog Boomer Front Light
Review 1 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adalace
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Loving it

PostedJuly 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I love this product, perfect for city cycling. So easy to use and surprisingly bright
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zero2hero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

easy to use, good value for money

PostedApril 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
the light is bright enough for city commuting, easy to attach/detach. Great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jelaki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Brilliant Value

PostedDecember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to use
Cons: Unattractive
I bought this light on sale to use for winter commuting when my previous light broke. I am really impressed at just how bright it is and is so much better than the pricier Electron one I had before. I already had the rear light version of this light and did experience the problems others describe with it switching itself on but have not had this issue with the front light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobster99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid!

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great for the price, and incredibly bright for the size! I wouldn't recommend this for a commuter who is riding in the dark morning and evening throughout the winter, but for someone like me who quite rarely goes out in the dark and just needs something to strap onto the bike at a moment's notice, this is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ouroboros
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Initial impressions favourable

PostedNovember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I was slightly concerned by some other reviewers' comments about switch problems and random changes of lighting mode. So far, all appears to be well. The light does not seem to switch on when stowed in a pocket/bag (although I've been careful how its stored in light of comments) and the light stays in the selected mode despite several journeys along rough and potholed roads.
The light is compact, sufficiently bright (I just want to see where I'm going rather than blind on-coming traffic), mounts securely and quickly. Only used in drizzle/damp so far but has coped well.
I'm not entirely in favour of the trend for multiple flash patterns which this light shares but its not too intrusive even if off/simple flash/constant would be adequate options in my view.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave12345
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Powerful little light

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Powerful beam, looks great, attaches more securely than standard light. The Apple of lights, does a job & does it well, while looking funky. If I could afford it I would get the USB as the beam is very strong.
I was sceptical at first due to negative reviews, but very glad I bought this light. I since got a rear light so I will definitely be seen on the roads this winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
esp82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super bright. Great value for money

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I love my Knog Boomer. It's really bright for such a little thing and is very easy to attach and detach.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
husto68
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design, let down by a dodgy switch

PostedOctober 6, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor switch
The Knog boomer could be a great light, it's just let down by a dodgy on off switch. I purchased both the front and rear Knog Boomer lights and they both have the same problem. They turn on, when you don't want them on. They don't turn off, when you want them off. They turn off and on while cyclin etc. They are nice and bright, small, easy to install and swap between bikes (reason I purchased them). If knog could fix the switch, they could be onto a winner.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Doddsyno9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Great product

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Got this as a replacement as lost/had stolen previous incumbent. Great little light for commuting on lit streets. Not sure it would be the best on darker roads for sight but stobe would get you seen
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mothermuppet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

good bright light & lightweight

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
An excellent light which weighs very little so can be kept in pocket for use as and when needed. Very easy to put on/take off the bike - hence keeping it in a pocket when not in use!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Juandeatatime
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good light but has reliability issues

PostedMarch 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Very pleased with the light: easy to attach and detach from handlebars; three modes of light, two flashing, one permanent. My problem is with reliability. First one lasted two weeks before it started a rapid flashing and would not turn off. Taking the batteries out for five minutes cured the problem for five minutes before it started its rapid flashing again. Took it back to Evans who exchanged it no problem - unfortunately the replacement light lasted two weeks before it developed the exact same problem. Currently on my third one which three weeks in is fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
cashina
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Not good on bumpy roads!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
I just cannot get this light to stay on constant. As soon as I hit another bumpy bit on my commute, it switches to flashing mode.
Hopeless.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J0NNYG
Country:United Kingdom

Points for design

PostedNovember 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
I think you have to hand it to Knog for their growing range of lights that look good and can be popped onto the bike and back off again in a flash. I ended up with a Boomer light when I had trouble with their Beetle model and I'm happy with what I've got.
The only criticism I have is that Knog are a little over-optimistic in their instructions when they tell you battery replacement is simple. It is when you've done it, but it is NOT as simple as peeling back the silicon as they describe. It IS as simple as using your thumb to push the batteries from the back of the light towards the lamp at the front. The batteries and lamp are forced out of the front of the light in a single unit and you can then unclip a cover that cups the back of the batteries and slide them out.
You'll need to do the battery removal operation when you first buy the Boomer to get it working. Whip the batteries out and shake out the slip of paper that keeps the cells from touching the front contacts and prevents power drainage. Replace everything and you should be ready to go. Simple!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Milks
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Terrible product - good service

PostedJuly 6, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Knog, great service to replace the knog I had bought some 6 months ago which never seemed to work. But the one you replaced it with also doesn't work.
Agree with everyone else on this blog. Any bump that knocks this renders it useless.
I gave up using it. Enjoy your cash knog.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Carlton77

Disastrous

PostedJune 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
Difficult to even give this product one star: bought one, broke within a week; replaced with a new one, also broke within a week.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Chaos
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

First and last Knog

PostedApril 1, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Pretty much the same as other reviews here. The light was great for a couple of months and now it is useless. Switches on and off at random. It even came on in the middle of the night when a train went past my house (the train vibration is not noticeable to me, but the light coming on was!).
3-months old - no receipt! Lucky Knog!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
end2end2008
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

knog lights

PostedDecember 31, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, rubbish
For my daily commute this light appeared to tick all the boxes.I liked the fact that there is no clamp to mess about with, very bright for its size and simple plus easily tranferrable to my other bike (no clamp).
However it is rubbish, just like all the other Knog products I have used or my mates have used. It broke within one week. In other words it wouldn't turn off which is ironic as that is what it did every time I went over a bump.
Cleary it never gets dark in Oz.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Urbanburner

Nice light, shame it's rubbish

PostedDecember 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I echo the sentiments of most other people who've reviewed this light: looks very cool, got a bright LED and takes about 2 seconds to put on/take off your handlebars - no messing around with screwdrivers and brackets etc. I thought I'd found the perfect light (after trying a LOT of different ones).
Despite all the above, this light is...well, rubbish. Within a week of getting it I got slightly rained on one day and since then it took on a mind of its own, constantly switching from strobe setting (which I like) to constant when you go over the slightest bump on the road. After a while it just stopped working altogether, and when I took it apart I found a small crack in the battery compartment, which meant it couldn't close properly and therefore couldn't keep the battery touching the contacts.
Possibly the worst built light I've ever had. Avoid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PKDick
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Booming awful

PostedDecember 20, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
This light looks great and fits onto the bike easily but is easily the worst light ive ever owned as it fails terribly at what its meant to do. The light constantly flicks between settings when you ride over a bump and frequently jams on a quick flashing strobe effect, whereby the only way to fix it is to open up the light and take the batteries out. I find it incomprehensible that a company can create something so rubbish, was this light ever tested on a bike? Avoid and seek out much cheaper yet similarly designed lights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Knog Boomer Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PjLL
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Design flawed

PostedJuly 30, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, design badly flawed
This is great when you hold it in your hand a try it. You could think it was ideal.
However, the flexible case means that the internal battery compartment keeps coming apart and disconnecting the batteries. This gets worse on rough roads with vibration. The result is the light either goes off or changes modes randomly. I did try electrical tape to hold the case together as I was on a London to Paris ride but this didn't help.
Oh, and it's not waterproof either, go out on a grey rainy day and expect it to give variable results.
Sadly, I don't have the receipt, so I guess that's £25 down the drain and a customer who won't buy another Knog.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>