Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tights & Trousers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights

Altura Summer Cruiser Tights

Overall rating:
3.909 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
26 out of 33(79%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Review 1 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
cyclops123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too short

PostedApril 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: too short for long legged cyclists
purchased these as an extra pair in the sale but found them to be too short I am 6ft 2 and they could have done with being about two inches longer in length for me but the quality was good I sold them on for the same money as I paid for them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Yorks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Spring riding.

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, not too tight fitting
Cons: short in leg for waist size
Bought these as it was still a little chilly to be wearing sorts when out mountain biking. Wore them over mountain biking shorts. Felt comfortable and protected when out on a very windy cold day. As others mention they are not very long in the leg. I have a 29" leg and bought the XL as any smaller would have pulled while cycling with having the feet straps. Also they have no pockets. Slight loose fit so not skin tight which for me was ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
RodB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sizing is a problem

PostedDecember 21, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, legs too short
I bought a Medium size as that is my normal size, but the leg length is too short so with the stirrups in place the legs are pulled down too far and the waist band slips down to the hips which is not ideal on a bike! I have cut off the stirrups and keep the leg end inside my socks. I am not a long legged person ( inside leg 31.5") so these tights are not properly designed for cycling, which is a pity as the material is good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigel23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I was looking for!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A an ageing middle aged man who has returned to cycling after several years, I was looking for an alternative to tight fitting lycra but that would not flap around or be baggy. The Altura Cruisers fitted the bill admirably. Similar to track suit bottoms, they have enough give in the fabric to make them comfotable but not baggy (either around the lower leg or bottom). They are quite thin, but feel durable, and are fine on all but the coldest days. I am normally 'average' sized, but found the large to be a perfect fit. The only minus is the lack of a decent size pocket, but at the price you can't expect everything. I would recomend this product without hesitation. The service from Evans was also first class with the goods arriving very quickly after the order was placed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Howard60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Nice tights, shame about the sizing!

PostedOctober 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I actually bought these for autumn rides so used them for the first time today.
When I was choosing the size I specifically checked out the Altura website and ordered XL but after trying them on in the shop the legs were too short so I have got XXL. The waist is clearly too big but it doesn't matter because the non-elasticated pull cord works well. With this waist size the cords are too long but I just tuck them back in.
I've bought these to minimise the wind chill on my knees, since I have my padded shorts on underneath and a pair of long socks.
They worked really well today when the temperature was only 9°C.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pierat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cruiser tights

PostedOctober 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
reasonable product, waist a little low but only a problem with shorter tops, good reflector strips, washes well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Owlnhoot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura summer tights

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product from Altura again! I'm relatively new to wearing tights but these are more like close-fitting tracky bottoms and have the added benefit of loops to keep the leggings in place with no possibility of riding up during the ride.
They are comfortable to wear for those of us who do not do lycra and do not conform to the stick-man cyclist.
I got mine online with the Jubilee reduction and have been delighted with the comfort and price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barcelona
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value road bike tights.

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these Summer Crusier Tights for not so warm summer road bike riding. Well they work a treat they're a little long in the waist and they're not skin tight but I'm not a racing snake whose interested in what other people think I look like. I like them and they're good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JessKF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Initially looked baggy, but perfect in practice

PostedMay 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no padding
Great tights. Not too thin so as to be immodest. I initally thought they were a little on the baggy side (I am a UK size 10), esp behind the knees, but they are actually really comfortable while cycling.
The only thing I would have liked in retrospect was a bit of padding around the seat area (for longer distance rides), although I was aware of this when I bought them. Perfect for my 20k round-trip commute though.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OneofFive
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight & comfortable

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good for cooler early morning/late evening rides. A slightly looser fit for those of us unsure of the sprayed on Lycra look!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vovas3
Country:Russia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good pants not for fops

PostedMay 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
High quality tights , pleasant material, but below a knee is wide - therefore it similar to training pants.
I'm 92cm and 186cm - XL well conform in waists and a hips, but legs a little bit short.
Good fitting for easy leisure touring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
actionjackman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quailty. highly Recommend

PostedMay 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good price
very good all round product.
lightweight
good quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have been using these to ride 22 miles a day to and from work, regardless of the weather.
I have ridden in all temperatures and I have still found them to be warm enough.
The sizing is a little odd but Evans were helpful when I wanted to change for a different size
The waist is adjustable so not a problem for me. In the rain they keep you dry, even in fairly heavy rain
Good value and not showing any signs of wear yet despite regular washing and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MacLu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not what I was looking for.

PostedApril 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not tights
These trousers are more akin to the old style tracksuit bottoms I had when I was a kid. Tighter and more streamlined than modern tracky bottoms (as they were actuallly designed to train in then rather than for sitting round eating chips or shoplifting).
They are definitely not tights as they are not a tight fit and as a result I sent them back.
If you are looking for comfortable, light cycling/running pants I imagine these would be fine
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
lejoger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

not the best altura product

PostedMarch 30, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable, poor fitting
having the altura winter cruiser tights and being pleased with those i was hoping for the same but sadly not .These tights are loose around the ankles and a poor fit , won,t buy these again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jezy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A solid 3*

PostedMarch 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: unremarkable
I have an Altura Jersey and it's very good nice quality and fits me well. I bought these hoping for a good match. I'm 6 3" with normal proportions the XL size is 1-2 inches short, the feet loops pull the gusset down, luckily they stretch to make them wearable. There is no padding and I noticed the difference after 10 mins, the fit is indeed loose around the knee and there are no pockets of note. They were ok to wear this morning in about 8 degrees ambient.
So far nothing wrong with quality or materials I just think they may end up not being worn if I have a choice of something else.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Safmeister
from Aylesbury
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Good cycling trousers

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no pockets
Bought these for my husband as a present. He already has the winter warmers, but wanted some slightly lighter ones for the warmer days. These come up quite small, as he is a 34 inch waste, but needed the large. Bit of a shame they don't have any pockets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cakesandbrakes2
from Glasgow
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

lightweight and comfy

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent cycling tights for summer riding.
very light and comfy for all day riding. good quality and very well made for the money. have wore these all summer and can highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
greybeard2
from Swindon, Wiltshire
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 9, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Unattractive
The cut was not as the Altura picture; very baggy around the knee and not a flattering look. A tiny inside security pocket is included which might just hold a key. I was disappointed and returned them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Summer Cruiser Tights
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
greecl
from London
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
These tights are very comfortable and the fit is good. Keeps the chill off in the early mornings. The only slight complaint is that it could benefit from a bigger pocket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>