Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey

Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey

Overall rating:
4.054 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
7
2 Stars
3
1 Star
0
33 out of 37(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Review 1 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gumbo1977

Love it!!

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This top is great. Not too hot, not too cold. Comfortable and easy to wear. Excellent quality too. Highly recommend it. It is expensive, but you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nivag
from Yaarkshire
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Versatile windproof shell with a neat party trick

Posted16 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, versatile
In our changeable climate, deciding what to wear when you leave the house can have far-reaching implications for the comfort and quality of your ride. With the aptly named Transformer jacket, Altura have come up with a technical cycling top that transforms from long to short sleeved and vice versa, at the pull of a zip.
The transformer is a soft - shell short / long sleeved jacket with a full length zip, three rear pockets plus a zippered key / money pocket. Breathable and lightweight, it’s a versatile top that might just solve some of your wardrobe quandaries.
In long-sleeved mode, it’s comfortable and breathable, with well - positioned reflective decals running down the front and side of the upper arms and elasticated cuffs. The removable sleeves, which are joined by a yoke across the shoulders, overlap sufficiently with the fabric beneath that no wind or moisture creeps in around the shoulder joins. The neckline is also high to prevent any unwanted draughts sneaking in higher up. The shell stands up well to showers, but in persistent rain you will need something more waterproof, however it’s also quick to dry and doesn’t lose its wind resistance if you do get caught out in the rain.
With the sleeves removed, which can be done without removing the top itself (although probably not while cycling!), the jacket retains its windproof core but exposes the short sleeves beneath, which are made from a lightweight wicking fabric but not windproof. It’s a good compromise for a day when the long sleeves might be too warm but you still want some protection from the wind, meaning it can be worn against the skin.
Despite being breathable, you might find the jacket a bit too warm in the Summer, and in the Winter you’re unlikely to want to remove the sleeves, but for the seasons in between, the Transformer jacket fits a gap in the market, and might well become one of your favourite bits of clothing.
+26points
26of 26voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
basher400
Country:United Kingdom

Good value sale item

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm pleased I bought this at a greatly reduced price. Full price would have been poor value. It is a clever technical jersey. Apart from the removable arms, it has things like a sweat panel in the rear collar!
The quality is not the best, with hanging threads, poor stitching and some small holes. One probably caused by a security tag.
The sizing chart is was a good guide, but being tall and thin, I found the XS a good snug fit but too tight under the arms, I chose the S, but would have liked the sleeves a little longer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maggot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

visible, versatile and value

Posted05 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, versatile
i bought the womens version of this for me and my sister to do LEJOG - its ideal for unpredictable or changeable weather. Unfortunately i found out that the the sleeves also make fantastic bandages in emergencies
recommended in range of circumstances for a range of uses
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wilma66
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Havent used it in the warm yet but its been great over base layers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted31 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this for my son & very pleased with the jersey. Good quality, good fit and versatile. He tells me it is comfitable as a top & intermiidiate layer. It also stylish enough for him to be happy to ware both on & off the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
luciferscage
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Interesting concept.

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The idea is great - a long sleeve jersey that becomes a short sleeved jersey. It works too although it's quite easy to get a bit tangled up with the long sleeves if the short ones slide out of them. A good standby when the weather's a bit uncertain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RosieT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good idea but.......

Posted27 September 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, great idea
Cons: poor fit, colour not as picture
I ordered the black one which was actually black & white when it arrived. The fit wasn't that good either - tight on the shoulders with a baggy bit around the waist. Evans exchanged it at the Kendal shop without any fuss. It is a good idea and my wife has the femail version which she loves but you need to try it on first.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gag123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable, warm and functional.

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: poor breathability
I bought this after trying out several types and found this to be the most comfortable. It fits well and the removable sleeves are surprisingly easy to fit and remove. I have found it extremely windproof and quite shower resistant, although on colder days a decent base layer would be required. It is well designed and even after showers retains it's wind proof ability and warmth. I would like it to be a little more breathable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisJL
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Superb, light, flexible jersey.

Posted13 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good quality cycling jersey from renowned maker. Comfortable and light to wear. Suitable for use over a wide temperature range due to detachable arms. Front zip can be adjusted to alter the rate of cooling airflow whilst cycling. I found the XL size most suitable (40 inch chest). Useful rear pockets including one with a zip. Competitive price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Mattweb79
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Poor quality for the price

Posted09 July 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, Unattractive, Uncomfortable
There are better jackets out there - for the money you pay I would expect a better product the material feels especially cheap and not particularly breathable -sent it back
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Orangepeel
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but with reservations

Posted28 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I was sent this jersey to review and was initially impressed with the looks.
I have many Altura jerseys and I have no complaints, the quality is excellent and over two years of constant sweating/washing have not faded them nor worn the stitching so no issues there.
Now for this one....the idea is good, our weather is changeable or you can start out in the warm sunshine then get near the coast and the breeze gets chilly and you wish you had a bit more protection and this fits the bill exactly. The jersey can be changed from sleeveless to sleeved and back again with a quick pull on the zip, without getting off your bike if you wish and that is just fine. It performs really well in the March/April window when the weather is unpredictable.
My only grumble is the fit. XL Altura jerseys fit me perfectly (Im broad shouldered) but this Jersey pinches under the arms and I just cant get away from this. It makes it uncomfortable whether its sleeved or with the sleeves off. This may just be a problem for people of broad stature so try it on first in store and if it fits buy it but my advice would be try it on first.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jezking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Good, but check sizing.

Posted18 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
The Jersey is quite a good product, but found it a little tight round the shoulders. I bought a large and in comparison to a similar Scott product the sizing was alittle odd.
Otherwise good, windproof and the sleeves are very easy to remove.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FatBobSlim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

EXCELLENT, VERSATILE JERSEY

Posted11 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A CLEVER PRODUCT THAT HELPS GET ROUND THE PROBLEMS OF THE UNPREDICTABLE BRITISH WEATHER. THE CHANGE FROM LONG TO SHORT SLEEVE IS REALLY NEAT.
WIND PROOF, SHOWER PROOF AND BREATHABLE
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Zeno
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very versatile jacket

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
The removable windproof sleeves and the windproof front make this a very versatile jacket. Great for those early morning starts when you expect it to warm up as the day goes on. Have used the top with the sleeves off in approx. 20 dec. centrigade sunny weather with a light base layer and it's not too hot. The sleeves will fit in one of the back pockets, but do take up more space than light arm warmers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nadders
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Excellent Product

Posted24 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this Jersey a while back and have been on quite a few rides with it on. Does what it says on the tin. Keeps the wind out, keeps you dry and taking the arms off to turn it into a short sleeve top is fantastic!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davidxx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Altura Transformer Jersey

Posted22 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
My wife had one of these and I was jealous that she only needed to wear a base layer during spring to keep warm. When Evans had this on sale, I purchased one and ditched the extra layers.
I am size large and the large fitted very well, if you needed a race fit then go down a size. We have noticed that stains such as mud when off roading , need treating before washing. The windproof properties are just brill at keeping out the chill. The jacket appears to be very waterproof, At a recent rain drenching day, it kept my wife dry and I had to keep to a waterproof, Good buy when on sale,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
4nd23w
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent jacket, superb value for money!

Posted18 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
There's one word to describe this jacket... Awesome!
The sleeves are really easy to take on and off and they fold up really small and fit into the rear pockets well.
The fitting is also very snug and feels really comfortable.
I would highly recommend this jacket to anyone.
All pros and no cons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
SAINSY
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

average - poor ARM FIT!

Posted10 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable
LIGHT WEIGHT AND SUPER VISBLE BUT AS OTHERS REVIEWERS COMMENTED THE ARMS AND SHOULDERS FEEL TIGHT DESPITE ORDERING 1 SIZE LARGER THAN USUAL PER RECOMMENDATIONS
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Transformer 2011 Jersey
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Biilyj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, versatile jacket/shirt

Posted01 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A good shirt, light shower / wind resistant. Sleeves won't come off on the move but handy if head out on a chilly early start. As with others, sizing a little off - I bought a large but usually a medium in altura shirts. But overall a good value top
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>