Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Glasses & Goggles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses

Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses

Light Reactive lenses use photochromic technology for a rapid response to changing light conditions. The lenses respond in 7 seconds to light exposure and offer full UV protection according to the standard EN1836.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Review 1 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xmatt
from South West
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, robust and unobtrusive

PostedMay 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have worn these glasses in varying light levels over a range of rides (long distance and short / bumpy) and have been impressed with their lightness and quality. The lack of frame is great for peripheral vision. Having fallen off on a trail I can also vouch for the fact that they are well made! Good value glasses and would buy again.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tobias99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light & comfortable perfect!!

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are just perfect !! No need to carry separate glasses work very well reacting as promised. Very light weight,very comfortable,very durable.Amazed at the quality of this product for the cost compared to other top end glasses!! Fit very well indeed don't slip or irritate at all even on a warm day after a long ride out!!Thoroughly recommend these. Look very stylish!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bjagall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice looking/fitting glasses

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value, however i'm still yet to find a pair of glasses that don't steam up on a long ride. Overall happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
marinmad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good but look fragile

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
the glasses were too big for my narrow head so sent back looked good but very fragile, not sure how long they would last
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
D7Zippy
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent visibility and grip

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, visibility
Cons: Expensive
Bought these glasses as I found my regular glasses impeded vision on drop or aero bars and I was constantly correcting their position on my nose. Used these for my first triathlon cycle and they were excellent - very light, great visibility and they didn’t need to be corrected once.
I found the high position of the lenses make the glasses look a little odd if using for every day, non-cycling use. A little on the expensive side but do a great job.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chusan

Lightweight, considered design & reasonably priced

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
These incredibly light, wrap-around, photochromic glasses are unfussy and practical but their design is well considered.
They seem to be optically very good.
The bridge support is soft rubber to prevent slipping but slotted for comfort and coolness. The arms are gentle to prevent headaches on long rides but once again, grip with a little bit of soft rubber.
They're supplied with two cases - one soft and one ultra-robust.
It's too soon to know how long they'll last. The lens is one continuous piece & this type of design often breaks on the bridge. The rubber on the arms looks like it might start peeling when they get hot and sticky. I'll be keeping a check on these vulnerable points but no problems yet.
At the moment they're great and compared to the likes of Oakey's, very reasonable.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ammocatchy

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great glasses, really lightweight and the lack of frame makes for clear riding
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shedhead
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Best feature is the wrap around coverage. Good design. Haven't had them long enough to see if they keep the reactolite effect, but definitely good enough so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CoffeeFreak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Low price & ok style

PostedOctober 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I have had these now for a couple of weeks and I must admit I think they are ok.
A few people have reported that they fog up, but for me they have been fine.
My sons face is a tad wider, and look slightly better on him, but he's not having them!
Saying that I think they look fine, and stop me getting flys in my eyes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
portboy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

well designed glasses

PostedSeptember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, photochromic lenses
you can rely on endura to make well designed products. the glasses are light fit well and have unobscured vision. they are a third the price of oakleys and you even get photochromic lenses for under 60 quid. a no brainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyM2

Recommended

PostedSeptember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought these to replace some Specialized Adaptalite glasses. The Endura cope with strong sunlight (I've been riding with them in central Italy) and I've never had any problems with the transition from light to shade. I've also not had any problems with them steaming up - although, because they fit so well, on very hot days I have had some problems with sweat gathering on the lower edges of the glasses . I would have preferred a contrast-enhancing colour for the lenses (they are neutral grey) but considering the price these are excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stevenallan

Good value option

PostedAugust 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Very lightweight seems a flimsy but its actually very flexible and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MrHallorann
from Warrington
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rimless = great peripheral vision but fragile

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, excellent peripheral vision
Cons: fragile, photochromic feature stopped working
I've had a pair of these for about 9 months.
I bought them due to seemingly great price considering the photochromic feature.
I was disappointed to find that this feature, while working reasonably enough out of the box, appeared to wear off after about 6 months, as if the chemical in the lens depleted in some way. Shame.
The Marlins are very light weight (about 21g) and its easy to forget they're on ones face once worn.
Their shape is flatters the wider face, tending to stick out a bit on narrower mugs.
The wrap around lens is perfect for road riding, being very aero and shields the eyes well from wind-drying, bugs and debris.
The rimless lens provides unobstructed visibility both on the drops and when looking over one's shoulder.
However, I did ultimately find that their Achilles' Heel is that lack of any reinforcing frame. Having fallen a couple of times from my helmet vents, first frame over the top of one of the hinges cracked off, then on their final day, they split in half across the bridge of the nose and were promptly binned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FREDISDEAD
from Auckland NZ
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

They work well over here in NZ

PostedJune 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've worn these sunnies everyday I've ridden since receiving them. They fit well and my eyebrows don't fog them up which has been an issue with most sunnies I've ridden or run in. Not sure how well the reactiveness of the lenses are but they work well inside and out.They are very easy to clean too..Hot soapy water and a tissue to dry off.. fab..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lamb
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Marlin Glasses

PostedMay 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good quality and lightweight shades. The photochromic effect is not as noticeable but are at a good level of shade anyway.
Rimless design is good since it allows an obscured view when in the drops etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ChrisS
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great glasses, but wide

PostedOctober 22, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not very feminine
Had these for a few weeks and am very happy with them. Lightweight and comfortable with good peripheral visibility they react quickly and get sufficiently dark to stop me squinting in bright light. They are quite wide, however, while my head is narrow. As a consequence they are not amazimngly flattering when worn alone (according to my boyfriend!) but I don't reckon cycle helmets are that flattering either so the glasses don't make things any worse! The convenience of only needing one pair (rather than swapping my Oakleys for plain cycling glasses when the sun goes in/night falls) definitely makes up for any deficiencies in the style stakes, and if you're a bloke or have a wide face then they are more flattering.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Phoenix1
from Liverpool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Great for Time Trialling

PostedSeptember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I love the lack of a rim, it really helps when in the low TT position
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sofasurfer
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

night and day

PostedAugust 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these as my evening rides are getting darker earlier each week . They work really well in reacting as intended to the changing light, I even managed to finish a ride in complete darkness last week.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bella
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Reasonable lower end reactolite cycling glasses

PostedAugust 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not very reactolite
The glasses are comfortable and light, however being at the lower end for price, the reactolite glass change isn't very wide.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura Marlin Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freshland
from Kent
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Very light, could react quicker, nice hard and soft cases
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>