Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses

Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses

Light Reactive lenses use photochromic technology for a rapid response to changing light conditions. The lenses respond in 7 seconds to light exposure and offer full UV protection according to the standard EN1836.
Overall rating:
4.1 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 10(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Review 1 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Superb Product

PostedJune 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
These sunglasses have been great. I've ridden in sun and rain, bright and dull, and so far they have faultless.
Great value for money
Would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
inrepose2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Light and smart looking.

PostedAugust 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Not one for labels I prefer clean looking non-main brand gear. These are discrete looking, fit my nose without dropping off and are lightweight.
The reactive nature of the lens does seem a little limited. They are basically dark when inside and don't appear to react a lot the bright light outside. I went from a brighter path to a dark tree covered shady area and the visibility was not great but that was on a trail ride where I move quickly from direct sunlight to dark shady areas. On the road these are great and I don't even notice I have them on.
So they look great, are understated but certainly not budget with a smart profile. The lens is great and they are perfect for summer sun.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
muddy9mtb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Are these supposed to do something?

PostedJuly 17, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, don't "react"
Ordered these because of the useful "light" reactive lenses. But very disappointed that they simply "don't do anything? Not dark enough in sunlight and no apparent change in the shade either. I believe a clear case of miss selling is going on here as when you get the packaging it has all sorts of meaningless "extra" information like tint range "22% to 33%"? which I assume means it won't get as dark as you need it? Rubbish and have returned with gusto for checking and refund, shame as I usually like endura stuff and these were nice but heavy.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dave2410
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent product for the money.

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Really good value for the money and a really comfortable fit. Try these before spending a fortune.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ottorobboto
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Glasses great service

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for in and out of tree covered areas used every ride and love them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
halnow

PostedJuly 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Glasses are great. They have changed my life and made me a better person.
-3points
3of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gifpa
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice Glasses

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are very well put together, they feel very solid and have excellent build quality. They fit well and sit comfortably under the helmet. I got these so I didn't need to keep changing the lenses in my other sunnies, they do the job well. I am able to wear them in near darkness through to bright sunshine, though the range of tint could do with being a bit wider for this price I am very satisfied. They seem to stay clear as well as any other glasses I have used (incl Oakleys) and when they do mist up they clear quickly.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RatherBInWales
from Live in West Sussex, ride in North Wales!
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great value for money

PostedOctober 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: tend to mist up when you've just finished a ride
Brilliant purchase for what these sunnies cost! I've got a slightly rounder face and they fit perfectly without any arm flex, they also grip really well without falling off on the roughest of road surfaces!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
twozero3
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

OK

PostedSeptember 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: fit can be an issue
Overall I quite like my Endura Piranhas. They are not without issues though.
They are well put together sunglasses that do not feel cheap or flimsy in any way. Lens clarity and contrast enhancement is also good. Not on a par with Oakley or Rudy Project but they are half the price. The photochromatic effect is very subtle indeed, according to the packaging they vary from 33% to 22% light transmission so that's an 11% swing, not a lot, but not a problem.
What I did find a problem is the fit, which I agree can be a subjective personal thing. They pinch me very tightly on the head, distractngly so after a while. On a positive note, one could say they a very secure and are unlikely to slip or fall off during vigourous mountain biking. Another double edged sword is the close wrap around fit to the face. On the one hand this keeps wind, grit and general debris in the air out of your eyes while riding at speed. On the other hand, these sunglasses are amongst the most prone to steaming up I've owned.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura Piranha Light Reactive Glasses
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BGRider
from Esher
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Don't You Like It?

PostedJuly 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, exceed expectations.
Don't you like it when something you buy online feels great the minute you put it on? I had previously had a pair of cheaper interchangeable lens glasses, which had eventually given up. They were OK, but tended to mist up and sometimes I just had the wrong lenses in. I was looking for a no fuss pair of glasses which would be light reactive, and given my like of the Endura brand, I had a look at what they had to offer. The Piranha's came in at the right price and looked OK in the picture, so I ordered them. When they arrived, I was really pleased - they were comfortable, good quality and on my first ride I realised what a pain pushing my glasses forward on my nose to avoid them misting up at traffic lights had been - definitely not required with these fella's.
If you want a good quality, practical pair of glasses and don't need to pose too badly, these would be for you.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.