Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Avenir Padded Bike Bag

Avenir Padded Bike Bag

Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
40 Questions | 64 Answers
Customer reviews for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Review 1 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DAV3
Country:Hong Kong
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says, could be more padding

PostedApril 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: minimal padding
The bike bag is a good size and fits the bike in easily, though there are no separate wheel bags which other bags come with so you nay want to invest in some because the padding is fairly basic on the bag. For plane journeys it may be a good idea to protect the bike inside as well for safety
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barry23
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Price, weight, and strength: a great balance met

PostedFebruary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: hard to carry
I am very satisfied with this product. At only 3 or so kgs, it is significantly lighter than other bike bags or cases (a big bonus if you're taking it on a plane with weight restrictions on your checked luggage) , and significantly cheaper. The padding is quite strong and durable. I was a little concerned about whether it would protect my bike adequately, so I followed the advice of other reviewers and reinforced the insides of the bag with bits of cardboard. I got my bike on the other side totally unscathed. It is moreover quite large when expanded, meaning you can fit lots of things into it; I got my shoes, tools, pump and of course wheels easily into it.
The only downside was the lack of wheels on the bag; there is a strong handle, but in my case I had about 30kgs in the bag, and lugging that around was not easy. But I made do with airport trolleys for the most part, and I took a taxi on the other end.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kev64
Country:Azerbaijan
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Value bag

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bag for a plane /taxi trip for my canonndale lefty 800, which is a bit special to me. The bag is great, as is big and accomodates the full size frame. The bag also has good sized wheel pockets, and is a very good and robust external material, and has a padded skin. I had read various reviews, so had packed some egg boxes and cardboard, bubble wrap etc all to compliment the padding. having stripped the wheels, handle bars etc (but leaving the lefty fork in place), and protected all well it was easy to load in the bag. The QR wheel hub did pierce the pocket, (Take some duck tape rolls with you to place over the spindles and this will not happen, as I used the same thing with the fork hub and all was fine.) I also packed the chainset in egg cartons (cardboard) + an extra layer of cardboard, and make sure you put the bike in saddle first so the chainset is pointing at the handles )
The bag arrived safetly bag at LHR and the bike is rebuilt, BRILLIANT
The only down side is the handles are short, not quite shoulder straps or handles (you can improvise with a belt to make a shoulder strap). once on the luggage trolley its fine
A great bag for car/train etc, and whilst I know soft bags not recommended for air travel, I packed and added extra protection inside and it was a fantastic purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Robdxb
Country:United Arab Emirates
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this to transport a new full carbon road bike from the UK to Dubai. Bike was expensive but plan only to travel with it the one time so didn't want to spend too much on a bag/case. Opted for this bag after reading mainly positive reviews though not too many relating to air travel and knew I was taking a bit of a gamble with the precious bike. Size of the bag proved well proportioned and the weight reasonable considering the quality and amount of material used. I did reinforce the bag by placing the frame in a cut up bike box inside the bag with the wheels placed in the side pockets. The only damage to take place was to the bag where the wheel hubs pressed against the sides and wore slight holes through the bag (the reinforced patches are placed too high to prevent this). All in all, the bike made it in perfect condition and the bag is still good for further use so money well spent. Got a great deal from Evans using price match so even happier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SC11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bag - just needs to lengthen the handles!

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Used bag twice in last 2 weeks. Once for a plane journey, where all well except for loose spoke (so probably best to pad wheels a bit more), and once by rail (no problems at all).
Bag is very easy to pack, where you can just take the wheels off and turn the front to fit in.
Everything really good except for length of handles, so carrying for long distances problematical. If they were just 6 inches longer then it would be a lot more comfortable to carry. Friend had same bag and same experience. Bag just kept slipping off shoulder and was uncomfortable. Shame really. Still good overall.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jeromejj77
Country:France
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for train

PostedMarch 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Bought it to bring back my bike to France using the Eurostar. And it was perfect.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ETRoss
from Scotland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These were purchased for use on flights. We lined them with cardboard and the bikes arrived pretty unscathed. Not well balanced when full and fall over easilly, and no wheels so you have to carry them, but they are lightweight and this wasn't too difficult. Do the job especially if you line them with a cardboard bike box too.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnyRoubaix
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good result

PostedAugust 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Two bags bought to transport two road bikes in air from London to Toulouse for Pyrennean week. First time transporter and little concerned that bags would protect bikes sufficiently as bikes not cheap. Also would they fit? Not disappointed. Turned handlebars; took off front wheel dropped seat. Tried and failed to remove pedals - ideally they should be removed for protection. Bag was good size (even with pedals still on) and padded. Bikes light so lack of wheels on bag not a problem. Others on trip had rented bags at £25 so against that buying this bag is good value and bag certainly good enough to do job well. Would I recommend it - certainly.
+5points
8of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jun0203
from Japan
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is equal to a purpose.

PostedAugust 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the bag which it is easy to use.
I could receive my Road Bike.(LOUIS GARNEAU 510mm)
I am better if a brief manual was attached to this.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
yuppy

On the plane

PostedJuly 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought this bag to transport a road bike on a Norwegian Air trip from Gatwick to Oslo. The rules of what to do were detailed and confusing, but when I turned up at the airport with the bike all bagged up in this, the staff seemed impressed.
The bag is big enough, has a workable carry handle and strong zips, I had no difficulty in fitting everything in, I didn't even lower the saddle.
It also looks tough and durable, but when it arrived in Oslo, the material near the chainset was damaged, goodness knows what they did with it. The bike was unscathed.
It did the job, and I am confident for train and car journeys, but for frequent flying it may need extra reinforcement.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cyclops
from Cork
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Avenir bike bag

PostedJune 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Large enough to fit any frame with the wheels off. Made it easy to transport my baby across the ocean without any damage. I also stuffed some extra tools and gear in the bag and it came to 19kg which was under the limit and it all qualified for a "sports equipment" fee rather than anything else crazy.
A great piece of kit and the cheapest (I think) offered by Evans for the purpose. I would recommend
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous

bike protection / car protection

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this to protect bike and car when carrying bike on the back seats. I use seperate wheel bags to make it easier.
The bag is almost perfect for this, just big enough that iuts easy to get bike in and out, not so big that there is excess space making it cumbersom.
Since buying the item I have also used this to pack my bike up and carry it on the train. I used the internal wheel sleaves but with my bike bags on also. Once packed up I was confident that my bikle was not going to get damaged.
Only problem; it could do with a pocket for your pedals and wheel squewers if you take them off.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Avenir Padded Bike Bag
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NicR
from le67
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent, well padded. Easy to get bike in, no wheelson bag though, so you will have to carry it.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.