Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre

Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre

With a modern Roller and the Hometrainer in the house, winter can set in when it wants to. Thanks to its special cold-running compound, the Hometrainer doesn't experience the heat build-up of a road tyre, nor does it suffer the tread separation that the road tyre is prone to under the special loads occurring when cycling and braking on the roller's revolving drums. The Hometrainer has been designed and updated for 2010 explicitly for Rollers/Home trainer's and is not suitable for on-road use.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Review 1 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StevieNo4
from Frome
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

It does what it should

PostedNovember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Save heavy wear on your road tyres by using this tyre, which is specifically for indoor training. Some rubber does still come off when new but not as bad as with a regular tyre.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
harristheturk

essential trubo kit

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
you need this if you are using a turbo. Hard wearing, easy to fit and clearly identifiable from your road tyres!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wirralvelodrone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must for indoor training

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Turbo tyres are far better for indoor use. Less slip, mess and economical. I use this on a tacx and its the best one I have tried. Will be getting another when this wears out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yabaman
from Cyprus
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

exactly what i was looking for

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Anyone who has expensive tyres on their bike should definatly have a separate rim with one of these tyres on. I have used it quite a few times and i see no sign of wear and no tyre scrapings all over the floor, but most important, my expensive road tyre is safe on its rim ready for action as soon as it stops raining :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stephegs
from Trowbridge, Wiltshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Turbo Training tyre

PostedNovember 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, hard wearing
A great tyre for use in a turbo trainer. My road tyres were getting shredded,so bought this and shows no sign of wear after 20 indoor sessions.
The tyre was a little tricky to fit as it has a slippery kind of feel, that makes it hard to push onto the rim.
Highly recomended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chirosa
from Malaysia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value trainer tyre

PostedJuly 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: use on trainer only
I bought this hometrainer tyre because I'm tired of having to sweep the floor every time after using my trainer. So far it has been working very well. No more tiny bits of rubber on the floor. This tyre is very good and I would recommend it to anyone with a trainer. Great price on Evans Cycles too
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyfp
from Glasgow
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

fantastic

PostedJanuary 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, hard wearing
for a home trainer this tyre is far better than a normal 'road' tyre. No squealing, no bits of rubber falling of the tyre, no wear. I accidently managed to take this tyre out on the road, cycling over 50 miles of thick salt & grit. With any other tyre I'd have been guaranteed to puncture, not with this one. Not a mark on it, although it will be staying on the turbo trainer from now on. Top marks.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TomiH
from Finland

Good training tyre

PostedJanuary 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Works well for intended purpose. Smooth ride and not too much noise. Installing on Mavic Aksiums was extremely difficult.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kwmtbrider
from Yorkshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Turbo trainer tyre

PostedDecember 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: reduced noise, reduce wear
Cons: hard to assemble to wheel
Evans priced matched this product for me & delivered quick. Having used a Turbo trainer in previous years I was keen to reduce the noice n the garage & tyre wear and so far this product has come up trumps. Tight to get on wheel and piched punctured my first attempt but in action on the turbo well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Continental Ultra Sport Hometrainer Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclesam
from plymouth
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

home training

PostedJuly 16, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
great tyre. Absolutely no problems with it. would definatly recommend this a a good purchase for anyone with a turbo trainer. Good competitive price.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
SteveTurbo
Co Durham
 
Please wait while more information about SteveTurbo is loaded.
Additional information about SteveTurbo could not be loaded.
Max Tyre Pressure
Posted September 25, 2011
What is the max psi pressure that you can put in the tyre please?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)