Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack

Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack

Features Deuter's Airstripes system for maximum ventilation and comfort. Other essential feature's of this popular pack include a helmet holder, rain cover, valuables pocket, 2 front pockets and side mesh pockets. Hydration system compatible.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 15(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Review 1 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AoCadventures
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect mid-sized backpack

PostedAugust 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no middle-sized outer pocket
I recently went on a week's cycling holiday through France, Luxembourg, and Germany. My fellow riders had planned to use pannier bags, and I was unsure whether to invest in some also. In the end I decided I would prefer to invest in a decent backpack which I would get further use out of, rather than pannier bags which I might not use as often.
The Deuter Trans Alpine 30 backpack turned out to be a great choice. Initially I was concerned it wasn't going to be big enough to fit my clothes for the week, but it holds more than you'd think - towards the end of the trip, I even manged to squeeze in a bottle of wine and 2 bottles of beer! It's also very comfortable; after a day of riding, it was very easy to forget I was wearing it. The 'Airstripes' obviously aren't designed to completely eliminate sweat, but they do a good job of minimising any soreness or chafing caused by sweat and the pack rubbing on your back.
The small pockets on the waist strap are handy for storing things you want to get to without having to remove the backpack (such as multi-tools, wallet, etc.), and the helmet holder turned out to be great for other items also - since it's adjustable, I found it was perfect for holding a rolled up waterproof jacket, allowing me to get to it easily when needed.
Having the pouch for a hydration system was a welcome, added bonus, and the rain cover was there in case I needed it.
My only minor criticism is that I felt it missed a pocket somewhere between the size of the large inner and the smaller outer pocket. Once I had important things like wallet, passport, keys and glasses case in the smaller pocket, I struggled to get a book in there. This is honestly just a minor niggle though and easily resolved with sensible packing.
Overall, I think this is a perfect mid-sized backpack. If you're accustomed to travelling light, this will easily contain all you need for a week's adventuring. The build quality is very good and it feels like I will get many years' use out of it. It's satisfyingly efficient to use and I'm looking forward to being accompanied by my Deuter TA30 on my next adventure!
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terry44
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great for riding bike to work

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i have an Osprey and Kathmando bag, but think the Alpine 30 is the best so far. Has more pockets,like the seperate compartment for wet clothes and feels better to ride with fully loaded with work boots etc
Also a bit bigger than the other two bags which is the main reason i brought another bag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steeble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Incredibly durable and well put together

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had this bag for almost 3 years when the top zip started to split a little. Sent it back to deuter who sent me a brand new bag free of charge. Very well put together bag. The helmet holder is better on some of their older models. I had to use a velcro strap to stop a strap flapping about but other than these little niggles I think this bag is great. Definitely recommend it and I think I got it cheap too using evans price match. Incredibly durable and well put together
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
blackby
Country:Spain

Very useful, capacious and great quality backpack

PostedFebruary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
A high quality backpack with a lot of space and compartments that allow you to perfectly classify all your staff. It is a great feature that it includes the rain cover and a helmet strap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MugginZ

Great bag, a little big and awkard

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Hi, fanrastoc bag, fits well to he back. I can easily throw all my climbing gear in.
Great design, pockets everywhere, may be a little big for some depending on desired purpose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tim55
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too big and camelbaks sit too low n the pack

PostedNovember 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I bought this pack for mountain biking. It's my fault, but it's a bit too big for what I need want and as a consequence it moves around too much on my back.
When off the bike it's comfortable and the various compartments and internal pockets are very practical. I use a camelbak 3 litre hydration bladder and it sat too low in the pack's hydration sleeve, meaning the drinking tube was too short to comfortably get into my mouth. I fixed this by sewing this sleeve closed about 4" from the bottom.
Tim
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
reaprog
Country:Morocco
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent

PostedNovember 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, hard zip closures
Excellent product, i use it for my every day gym clothes, there is also a laptop compartment which fits with my 15' laptop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajb2810
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Ruck sack for use on the Bike or on a Mountain

PostedJune 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am so pleased with the quality, design and comfort of my new ruck sack. I commute to work on my bike and also spend many days walking in the Lake District. This rucksack is suitable for both ! The Hi Viz rain cover is reassuring to have on you back in poor visibilty and performs well in all wet conditions. The number of access pockets and their location are well thought out and easy to use. I`ve always had Berghaus gear in the past ,but think this Deuter Rucksack out performs my old choice by a clear mile. I Totally recommend , you won`t be disappointed !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Acustomer
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great all around backpack

PostedMay 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, built in raincover
Cons: Expensive
I bought a black one (looking hot!) last August and have been well served since.
Pros:
- roomy - it's small enough to carry food and other small items at work every day, without looking stupid, medium enough to carry the gym equipment and big enough to be the only luggage I need for 3 days at ski or more days at the seaside (travelling light, of course). I couldn't be happier with it's size.
- well made; I have the impression that it could serve me for 10 years before showing the first signs of wear. And it was not only once when I carried in excess of 20kgs
- comfortable on and off the bike. Not only my back doesn't hurt as it would with an ordinary backpack but the sweating it's reduced a lot, as well
- plenty of pockets for outdoor activities
- has a great raincover - I never worry when the weather gets nasty
Cons:
- it's not super comfy off the bike. It's good enough, though.
- too few internal small pockets. While the external ones are plenty and great for outdoor activities, it could use a few more internal ones in order to be a very good daypack
- expensive - I bought it at two thirds its current price (from Evans) and considered it expensive at that time (it was sixty something)
- used as a day pack, it sometimes seems to have one too many straps for the occasion
Current price aside, I would buy it again without hesitation. It's an awesome all-around backpack that would serve you for many years.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlpineJ21
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Durable Comfortable useful storage.

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, durable material and zips
Cons: Expensive
Had this bag a few years now....use it always for walking, biking and commuting. Size and shape of the compartment means you can bring home the shopping or take too much kit for the hike or tour.
Stitched together well and no tears. the straps are comfortable and it is stable. The pack can be adjusted easily for best comfort...with straps and keep contents in one place (important).
It is not the lightest, but it is reasonable. 1.3 kg. Strong enough for much heavier loads. The rain pack is goog and in its own pocket which is easily accessed and repacket. Does not do box files that well!
I am thinking of getting the smaller one....bargain?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elementooutdoor
from London and Colombia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect All Day Trail Pack

PostedAugust 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, excellent built in features
Very comfortable pack that is ideal for a full day on the bike and foot, or both.
Great design and awesome, practical features. I especially like the built in Rain cover, which with Britain's ever changing weather systems comes in very useful.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nikola
from Oxford
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very good backpack. I am more than satisfied. I use it for commuting and carrying groceries and so far it survives all the heavy things I put in it. I can't really comment on the air flow system since I use it with jacket but it is quite light and the rain cover is great. There is a pocket for everything and I can honestly say it is one of the best backpacks I have bought and I think it will last me for lots of years.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beetroot
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality

PostedMarch 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was very impressed with the quality of my last Deuter bag, so I had to go with Deuter again.
This bag is lighweight, a good size for daily commuting, comfortable and is well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclocommuter
from Manchester
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Great bag for people who commute by bike

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this bag as I intended to commute by bike and train to university and needed a bag big enough to carry books, lunch, bike lock, rain gear and repair stuff. Oh and a safe place to put a helmet and it needed to be waterproof as well. This bag seems to have a pocket for just about everything - it's just a case of remembering where you have put everything! I particularly like the two pockets on the waist strap - great for keeping your train ticket and keys in so you don't have to take the bag off. The helmet carrying system is very secure. I like the fact you have a separate compartment to keep bike repair stuff in so you don't have to drag out the contents of your bike to find levers, tubes etc. although you do have the facility to make the 2 compartments into one. The waterproof cover (so far) is waterproof and very visible. The only criticism I have is that the holder on the cover for a light is a bit low down on the bag. It's very comfortable to wear.and I can thoroughly recommend it.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Deuter Trans Alpine 30 Backpack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cubsben
from Chicago
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Best Cycling Pack

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
Perfect size for commuting or any ride where you need more than a small hydro pack. Excellent design. Very comfortable back and straps. Nice interior pockets. Included rain cover works great. My repair supplies and rain booties fit nicely with the cover in that pocket. I love this bag.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.