Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners

Genetic Track Chain Tensioners

Overall rating:
4.31 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Review 1 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chadders1991
from United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box!

PostedJanuary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This set of chain tensioners is great for creating an even load on the rear hub, chain, and frame. Precision chain tensioners! I would highly recommend these to all those who own a fixed wheel/single speed bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rudy2010
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent buy

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
jus what i needed for my charge single speed!
they fit well and are just the job, enabling easy adjustment of wheel/chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fisy
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like it!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Does what it says on the packet and looks good at the same time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
eddier123

Didn't fit my frame

PostedApril 12, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: poor product description
Product listing failed to mention there is a block on the back face of the tensioner which causes it to not align properly with my frame.
I am running fixed gear 27in road. I feel this is more for bmx frames.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
palo49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A pair for chain tugs/tensioners

PostedMarch 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I first wanted these chain tugs, thought they were sold as singles,but they are soled in pairs.I had an online chat, so after a few texts' I bought these' sent by fast post and now there on a single speed,nearly match the red charge handle bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mexican
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great reliable sturdy product

PostedDecember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value and easy to install and saves that awkward slack chain in the middle of a ride! Havent had a problem since installing it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Santa

It will do the job

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not as subtle as i would have liked
It is a little bulkier than I would have liked and it is also a little too big for my bike, which means I probably need to lose a link in my chain to ensure my chain is taut.
But otherwise it is just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jaimay
Country:Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, easy to install
Easy to install. Makes it easy to take wheel off and on again and keep the same chainline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spv14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it does what it says

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to set up well made product. varios colour options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlivierD
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bang for the buck

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great little piece, lightweight, works perfectly on my singlespeed commuter with horizontal drops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ricky960
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

PostedFebruary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
very good they do exactly what there meant to do would recommend them to anyone who has trouble keeping tension on there chain well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GGSpeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedFebruary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brilliant product, very well made, very good for a fixed wheel bike, stop's wheel from pulling to one side without too much pressure on the axel nuts, but must have track drop outs which I have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KamalRB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, quick to use

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Got these for my new track bike as there are no internal tensioners on it and these are PERFECT
great colours if you want to sticky a colour scheme
Not bulky on the dropout
Sit under the bolt so you can just unscrew the bolt and slip them off to change a tyre(so you dnt loose your perfect tension point)
Easy to tension with an Alan key compared to bolt tensioners I've used in the past
And cheap and durable
Only issue is if your chains quite long, like one of my friends, they may not tension at all, n which case most times you should take a link out anyway.
GREAT STUFF WELL DONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonnybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gets the job done

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I purchased this product to be able to fine tune the chain tension on a fixie, and thats exactly what it enabled me to do, easy to use and look ok too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimbobwoof
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What can you say about Track Tensioners

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What can you say about track tensioners that hasn't been said before or that is so obvious that you felt stupid saying it out loud.
I bought these as a little bit of bling for my fixie. So..
Design? TICK. Simple design, good colour (Gold). The paint is deep enough that its not going to scratch off that easily.
Effectiveness? TICK. The pair is very light compared to the big steel one I had before. That was a nice surprise.
In my experience, the main thing to look out for is the screw tension. Screws can be too flimsy and loosen up letting your chain slip. No worries so far - the screws have been nice and tight.
Perhaps because they are not quite as long as on my previous set, they screw in a bit deeper, so there is less sticking out the back to get bent. A word to the wise, don't force your screws as you might bend them and then you can't get them in any further.
Overall - a nice looking effective produce.
You are not going to find much if any variation in price on the internet, so stay with Evans and let them sort you out.
Hope that helps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
joseph413
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for the Job, Strong, Light, Easy to Fit

PostedSeptember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Used these chain tensioners on track frame dropouts as the rear wheel was pulling forwards under my acceleration over time. They are extremely light but very strong and they come in several different colours. I chose the white as frame is white and now it looks a treat. It also protects the paint underneath where the axle bolts are which is also a bonus. I fitted them really easily after swapping over to a new chain and have been on several sprints and no movement from it. Happy with Purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
langster78
Country:France
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must-have

PostedJune 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a bit short
You should definitely buy a pair of these, especially if you're riding a fixie bike (and if your frame wasn't designed with built-in bolts, although it's becoming more and more common nowadays).
They "protect" your frame, the chain tension is always at its best, the wheel perfectly in line, and although the bolts might come too short on your frame (as they appear on the photo), you'll certainly find some longer bolts easily.
Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eddly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A mast have for single speed/fixie!

PostedMay 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been having to constantly tighten up the rear wheel nuts on my single speed to stop the chain going slack and it was always a nightmare having to hold the wheel in place so the chain stayed taut whilst having to tighten the rear nuts only to see the chain slowly loosen off on a long ride. These tensioners are well designed, light and make things a whole lot easier to get a taut chain that then stays that way as you ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MIKSKYNOVITCH
Country:Canada
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Seem ok but a bad fit for SPECIALIZED LANSTER

PostedApril 9, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not sturdy
I had trouble fitting the chain tensioners,need a half clip for the chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CyclingOldie
from Lancashire
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Final Piece of the Jigsaw

PostedAugust 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: takes up dropout space, catalogue photo could show both sides of article
Converted a 10 speed to a fixie.
Due to torque applied, rear wheel moved in dropouts.
As supplied, the chain tensioners took up the space in the rear of the dropouts needed for the axle.
With some modification the chain tensioners were suitably adapted for my needs.
Early indications are favourable but long term tests have not yet been carried out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>