Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chain Devices & Bash Rings or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners

Genetic Track Chain Tensioners

Overall rating:
4.382 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
32 out of 34Would you recommend this product to a friend?94%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 41 Answers
Customer reviews for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Review 1 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chadders1991
from United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the box!

Posted21 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This set of chain tensioners is great for creating an even load on the rear hub, chain, and frame. Precision chain tensioners! I would highly recommend these to all those who own a fixed wheel/single speed bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rudy2010
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent buy

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
jus what i needed for my charge single speed!
they fit well and are just the job, enabling easy adjustment of wheel/chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grammo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Easy to fit and keeps chain tight.

Posted11 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got this to keep the chain tension tight on the Fixed gear bike I use for commuting as I was having a bit of trouble with the back wheel moving in the horizontal dropouts.
They are really easy to fit and have eliminated my problem! They also look good on the frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oddnumber
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chester

Really simple & really effective

Posted10 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, effective
I had massive problems with the rear wheel slipping on my Charge Plug, so invested in a set of these to see if they did the job. Dead simple to fit and align the wheel accurately with the two bolt adjustment each side, and they keep everything rock solid. No more slipping. They don't look too hideous either.
I've added a couple of (admittedly poor) images so you can get an idea of how they work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neb1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and easy to use

Posted27 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does exactly as it says on the tin. Easy to fit and gives you a secure ride without the fear of wheel slippage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
andyb2003

worked as intended after some alteration

Posted28 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This product is only for rear horizontal drop outs I.e. rear wheel removes rearwards. The backface of the chain tugs have a small piece of metal that protrudes and acts as a guide in the rear dropout. If your rear wheel is removed frontwards you will have to cut these protrusions off, not ideal. However once fitted they really help in keeping the rear wheel central and chain taught.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Solid, dependable and stylish

Posted18 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, fit for purpose
Needed to change the single bolt design on the chain tugs that came with a single speed I had and these fitted the bill perfectly. Everything feels so much more secure now and they look stylish to boot!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fisy
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Like it!

Posted25 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Does what it says on the packet and looks good at the same time!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
eddier123

Didn't fit my frame

Posted12 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: poor product description
Product listing failed to mention there is a block on the back face of the tensioner which causes it to not align properly with my frame.
I am running fixed gear 27in road. I feel this is more for bmx frames.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
palo49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A pair for chain tugs/tensioners

Posted13 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
When I first wanted these chain tugs, thought they were sold as singles,but they are soled in pairs.I had an online chat, so after a few texts' I bought these' sent by fast post and now there on a single speed,nearly match the red charge handle bars.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mexican
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great reliable sturdy product

Posted02 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value and easy to install and saves that awkward slack chain in the middle of a ride! Havent had a problem since installing it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Santa

It will do the job

Posted16 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: not as subtle as i would have liked
It is a little bulkier than I would have liked and it is also a little too big for my bike, which means I probably need to lose a link in my chain to ensure my chain is taut.
But otherwise it is just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jaimay
Country:Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

Posted04 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, easy to install
Easy to install. Makes it easy to take wheel off and on again and keep the same chainline.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
spv14
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

it does what it says

Posted17 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy to set up well made product. varios colour options
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlivierD
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bang for the buck

Posted12 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great little piece, lightweight, works perfectly on my singlespeed commuter with horizontal drops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ricky960
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent

Posted03 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
very good they do exactly what there meant to do would recommend them to anyone who has trouble keeping tension on there chain well worth the money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GGSpeed
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Posted01 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Brilliant product, very well made, very good for a fixed wheel bike, stop's wheel from pulling to one side without too much pressure on the axel nuts, but must have track drop outs which I have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KamalRB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, quick to use

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Got these for my new track bike as there are no internal tensioners on it and these are PERFECT
great colours if you want to sticky a colour scheme
Not bulky on the dropout
Sit under the bolt so you can just unscrew the bolt and slip them off to change a tyre(so you dnt loose your perfect tension point)
Easy to tension with an Alan key compared to bolt tensioners I've used in the past
And cheap and durable
Only issue is if your chains quite long, like one of my friends, they may not tension at all, n which case most times you should take a link out anyway.
GREAT STUFF WELL DONE!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonnybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gets the job done

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
I purchased this product to be able to fine tune the chain tension on a fixie, and thats exactly what it enabled me to do, easy to use and look ok too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Genetic Track Chain Tensioners
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jimbobwoof
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What can you say about Track Tensioners

Posted22 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
What can you say about track tensioners that hasn't been said before or that is so obvious that you felt stupid saying it out loud.
I bought these as a little bit of bling for my fixie. So..
Design? TICK. Simple design, good colour (Gold). The paint is deep enough that its not going to scratch off that easily.
Effectiveness? TICK. The pair is very light compared to the big steel one I had before. That was a nice surprise.
In my experience, the main thing to look out for is the screw tension. Screws can be too flimsy and loosen up letting your chain slip. No worries so far - the screws have been nice and tight.
Perhaps because they are not quite as long as on my previous set, they screw in a bit deeper, so there is less sticking out the back to get bent. A word to the wise, don't force your screws as you might bend them and then you can't get them in any further.
Overall - a nice looking effective produce.
You are not going to find much if any variation in price on the internet, so stay with Evans and let them sort you out.
Hope that helps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>