Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet

Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet

Berns exclusive Zipmold foam is a liquid foam injection process that provides a better weight to strength ratio so Bern can provide customers with a lighter, lower profile helmet. Zipmold hard foam meets ASTM F 2040, CPSC and EN 1078 standards for bike and skate.
Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Review 1 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
trekki6
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

PostedOctober 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I had a Specialised helmet previously that I found pretty uncomfortable to wear, so I decided to try a different style of helmet. The Bern Berkeley helmet sizing is on the large side, and as a result I found that size small was a perfect fit. It is nicely cushioned and incredibly comfortable to wear, as well as being very flattering.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
jjjjj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Do not like the aerodynamic helmets

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
And this is a great alternative. I was going to get a cheaper skater helmet, as I much prefer the style, however this one has more vents and is fitted better, and just looks all round better. Like the fact that you can change the liner to winter or audio, and I actually like the little cap. I have measured my head several times to make sure I would get the right size and it is 54cm, however this helmet fits perfectly, so it is slightly on the large size compared to the measurements stated in the product description. If you take the liner out it is a lot bigger. Does look like a mushroom, but looks better than brains trying to escape your skull - better than other style helmets I have found though. It was decent value on offer. It is quite light, but I could imagine it would get too hot in the summer, even though it has a "summer liner"...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Juxtalo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Good -Looking and Practical

PostedApril 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Plenty of colour choices and good service.
Being able to pick it up from my local store was a bonus and it arrived in 2 days.
5*****'s all round
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sardine

Neatest helmet in Bern range

PostedNovember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I love the Bern helmet range but struggled to find the right helmet for me. I found the eps helmets looked ridiculous on my small narrow head and was about to give up but I tried the berkeley which is zip mold and has a thinner shell. It fits perfectly and the black gloss version provides a good balance between looking like a cycle helmet & a boarding helmet. If you find the EPS helmets a bit big for you the berkeley is worth a try, well worth the higher price tag.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jinster
Country:United Kingdom

PostedJuly 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good looking helmet, fits well and the liner can be taken off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
laura79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good if other liners were availalbe

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Was annoyed that the peak was attached to the inner bit of helmet lining and so not 'removeable' as I had misunderstood without having no liner. So had to buy a new liner without a peak, but then it snowed and suddenly having one with a peak too was a really good thing...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dani69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Nice looking, comfortable helmet

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this as a novice because I wanted to feel safe without trying to look like a very serious cyclist. It is very comfortable and looks great. The visor is very useful for keeping the sun and rain off your eyes. It costs a bit more, but I would recommend this product. I ordered a size too big initially as I didn't trust my measurement, and Evans did a great job of sorting this by getting me the right size very quickly and got me a black visor instead of a white one. I would recommend this helmet and Evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shasel
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good looking comfortable helmet

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very comfortable helmet whichlooks great. Really like the removable skip.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaz3000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

very comfortable

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
easy to wear and comfortable - took off the peak/visor as did not like the look but likely to put back as it would keep off the elements like wind and rain from face/eyes.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ellie152
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Funky helmet for cycling & skiing

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this helmet to wear on my gentle cycle commute to work as felt a bit silly wearing my lightweight racing helmet on my shopper! It's really comfortable and feels safe. If you buy the winter furry inner it's really cosy. I'll also be wearing it for skiing in the winter so works out pretty good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mulderone
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
it looks like a mushroom but with it in your head, you feel safe.
you doesn't look as others with their "Tour de France" helmet and with accessories as liners, you'll fell warm in the cold winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
headfonz
Country:Singapore
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this for my wife, looks good but its quite pricey for a basic helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sooz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

snug fitting & stylish looking

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been meaning to get one of these Bern helmets for ages. They are colourful, stylish and look and fit great! (Most comfortable helmet I've owned). Definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
USAinChelsea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

The best helmet out there!

PostedMay 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Love this helmet. So comfortable and adaptable for skiing come winter time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hatt
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great helmet - but what about winter kits...

PostedOctober 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great helmet, super comfy, easily adjusted, only downside is that I'm struggling to find a winter kit that has a peak which would be ideal... not sure if they exist! If you like a peak and want a winter kit combo for your Bern, I would recommend a different model that already has a peak built-in, then you can easily add a winter kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Florence
from Blackpool
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Stylish and Good Quality

PostedOctober 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Bern Berkeley helmet is extremely stylish but also an excellent cycle helmet and very comfortable to wear. The removable peak is a must if you wear glasses for keeping glare out of your eyes. Would definitley recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Doep
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good helmet that looks cool.

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
In a world where most cycling helmets makes one look like a knob, this one doesn't ruin the street cred and for the first time my wife doesn't refuse to wear a helmet.
Also hard wearing and suitable for winter sports. The little visor is detachable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
flux
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Stay safe while looking good!

PostedMay 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Thankfully I've not had to put this product fully to the test so can't really rate how well it performs on impact but in terms of style I've certainly never had so many compliments about a helmet before! I admit to having sometimes skipped on wearing my old helmet but this one is so comfy to wear that I don't want to cycle without it. I went for the grey one, just a point but the website doesn't make it totally clear that the 'grey' helmet is actually grey and white and minty green. I wasn't so sure about it at first, having been expecting plain grey, but actually quite like the colours now! Also, maybe go for a size smaller than you think you might need...I initially ordered large and had to send it back to exchange for medium.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HM83

Bern Berkley Helmet

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Quite a big fit so go for a smaller size, but very comfortable! A bit more stylish with the peak at the front. Really pleased with my purchase!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bern 2013 Berkeley Women's Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cycle4health
from outer London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

pleasure to wear

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good quality
I enjoy wearing this helmet, much better fit than my previous one, the visor at the front is great for keeping the sun out of my eyes and it also seems to keep the cold out of my ears on the cold windy mornings.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>