Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet

Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet

Berns exclusive Zipmold foam is a liquid foam injection process that provides a better weight to strength ratio so Bern can provide customers with a lighter, lower profile helmet. Zipmold hard foam meets ASTM F 2040, CPSC and EN 1078 standards for bike and skate.
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(75 reviews) 75
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 75 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
23
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
73 out of 75(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Review 1 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bill42
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Cool alternative look helmet

Posted11 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
If you unfortunately whacked your head on the tarmac I think I would prefer to be wearing this helmet rather than some others, it provides serious protection particularly to the back of the head.
The only issue I have is that the peak can compromise field of view slightly when leaning forward, as it is removable I have replaced it with
a tennis towelling head band , I have a couple, so I can replace when sweaty with a fresh laundered one and very easy to slip on your head- increases ventilation too.
Slightly heavier than some helmets but I find that comforting , means more material between your head and the deck.
Nicely detailed and well made -check sizes as they are rounded in shape and less ovular than some.
Very comfy in use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antipodean
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice helmet!

Posted03 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm using this helmet for commuting and very happy with it so far. Fit's well and actually looks and feels like it offers more protection than my conventional style bike helmet. What can I say other than really impressed with the helmet.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gita
Leeds, UK
 
Please wait while more information about gita is loaded.
Additional information about gita could not be loaded.
very happy with my new helmet
Posted 25 August 2011
It is very comfortable, light and looks great. I was so pleased to find this helmet, goes well with my dresses and my girly bike, good value for money.
Measure well (use the sizing chart) when you order so you don't end up getting one that is too small. I bought a grey one and you can not see on the picture, but it has a bright green stripe on one side.
Great product, cycled in the rain today and the peak keeps the rain out of my eyes (and sunshine on the sunny days).
Thank you very much for my new helmet!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Viennarider
from Glos.
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Sensible Helmet

Posted27 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
At last. A helmet that does not make me look like an extra from Star Wars. Lightweight and well-fitting, it does not inhibit my riding style. It also fits in with my hybrid bike, commuter image. Very good value at this special offer price.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
CMA86
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great "cool" helmet

Posted27 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a great helmet for those who don't want to look like Lance Armstrong every day.
PROS: Really comfortable and well protected.
CONS: not the best vented helmet
PD: The fitting is really tight, take care
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
pdarnett
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, lightweight and comfortable

Posted10 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: could have better ventilation
The Bern Brentwood is a great all weather helmet, very light, comfy, but feels secure and durable, the straps are easy to adjust and generally a good fit. The inner lining can be detached for washing and is held is place by a combination of press studs and velcro. Yes there are cheaper helmets out there but they don't fit as well as this!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Jackybob

Round shape heads

Posted03 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
This is probably fine if you have the right shaped head. For me it was very tight front to back and lose side to side.
Also looked massive on my head.
If your head is the right shape you can probably get a smaller size and mitigate these issues. If your head is ovoid, Avoid!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
yorkman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good Quality But!

Posted03 June 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
I have a big head. This means I look like a Darlick!
Smaller heads should be fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
mudal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

I'm so glad I shopped around for this.

Posted17 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
To wear this is great, quite well ventilated (I've only so far worn it on sunny days) and the fit is nice.
I measured my head at 57cm but I have a large so deffo do try before you buy.
The sun visor is brilliant for the sunny bits too.
Finally I love the matte red colour... Brilliant overall and looks sooooooo much better than them alien helmets that everyone sells...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
felixgolightly

Comfy

Posted23 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Nice snug helmet, feels like it gives all round protection and despite warnings, doesn't seem to get too hot.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
BikeTourer
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love the look, the fit, the fuller coverage than a regular bike helmet, the versatility to use it as a ski helmet too. As some others say, going up one size probably won't hurt you with the Brentwood, the L I bought is roomier than it has to be but it's still a more snug and complete fit than a lot of helmets I've had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

quality lid

Posted18 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really pleased with the new lid, the only thing that I noticed on the first couple of rides was that due to the low back I could feel the collar of my jacket against it when turning my head. This may happen with my jacket and other helmets though, I have nothing else to compare. Its not a big issue at all. Fits very well on the head and is comfortable. Probably best for shortish city rides as its not got lots of ventilation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dusty53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

True to guide

Posted28 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having measured head size ordered large size. On arrival appeared tight. Exchanged for X Large. Perfect !!!
Very comfortable in use. Never used helmet before but will be wearing on every ride out now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Proper Helmet

Posted10 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A proper helmet that covers a sensible amount of you head and fits snugly.
If like me you 'don't get' these alien looking helmets that seem to only perch on the top of your head - then this is the helmet for you.
Appears well made and the peak is a nice touch.
Inspires confidence.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
abomb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, a bit hot.

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I've always used normal road helmets so it feels a bit hot but in general a very good helmet. Very light weight. Like the removable inners and style with added protection from truck wing mirrors. I got large and its ok but is a bit loose if you wiggle it from side to side.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katz77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Great helmet with peak

Posted27 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight, simple design that fits securely around the back of the head with no movement in the wind. The peak provides protection from the sun and the rain and can be replaced if it gets worn. Other accessories are available to wear with this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilmer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted11 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits well, lightweight and comfortable. The visor helps in the sunshine. Makes me feel safe on my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pjm718
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great helmet

Posted23 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this helmet for my daily commute to work, because I wanted this style of helmet. It is perfect. It fits well and is very comfortable. I like the removable visor, I just wish the helmet had come with pads to adjust the size of the helmet, when the visor is removed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowboarder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cracking Helmet!

Posted22 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I've owned Bern helmets for a number of years which I wear snowboarding. I bought this in bright yellow for commuting and its perfect. Good helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SazzleGreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Looks good, feels secure

Posted19 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought a mens model because I wanted a plainish dark matt shell and dark visor (womens were lots of random colours and/or white visor).
It still fits me fine (although it seemed when I was trying on in the shop, I was a small in mens and xtra small in womens?!).
I like the idea that I can add a winter season lining to keep my ears warm in winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chuck7
Country:Hong Kong
Style:Leisure riding
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good but narrow

Posted07 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
my head is 57.5cm but the large size is a bit narrow for me, have to take out the visor that I like
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>