Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet

Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet

Berns exclusive Zipmold foam is a liquid foam injection process that provides a better weight to strength ratio so Bern can provide customers with a lighter, lower profile helmet. Zipmold hard foam meets ASTM F 2040, CPSC and EN 1078 standards for bike and skate.
Overall rating:
4.681 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(69 reviews) 69
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 69 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
22
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
69 out of 69(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Review 1 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bill42
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Cool alternative look helmet

PostedFebruary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
If you unfortunately whacked your head on the tarmac I think I would prefer to be wearing this helmet rather than some others, it provides serious protection particularly to the back of the head.
The only issue I have is that the peak can compromise field of view slightly when leaning forward, as it is removable I have replaced it with
a tennis towelling head band , I have a couple, so I can replace when sweaty with a fresh laundered one and very easy to slip on your head- increases ventilation too.
Slightly heavier than some helmets but I find that comforting , means more material between your head and the deck.
Nicely detailed and well made -check sizes as they are rounded in shape and less ovular than some.
Very comfy in use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Antipodean
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice helmet!

PostedMay 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm using this helmet for commuting and very happy with it so far. Fit's well and actually looks and feels like it offers more protection than my conventional style bike helmet. What can I say other than really impressed with the helmet.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
gita
Leeds, UK
 
Please wait while more information about gita is loaded.
Additional information about gita could not be loaded.
very happy with my new helmet
Posted August 25, 2011
It is very comfortable, light and looks great. I was so pleased to find this helmet, goes well with my dresses and my girly bike, good value for money.
Measure well (use the sizing chart) when you order so you don't end up getting one that is too small. I bought a grey one and you can not see on the picture, but it has a bright green stripe on one side.
Great product, cycled in the rain today and the peak keeps the rain out of my eyes (and sunshine on the sunny days).
Thank you very much for my new helmet!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 3 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Viennarider
from Glos.
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Sensible Helmet

PostedApril 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
At last. A helmet that does not make me look like an extra from Star Wars. Lightweight and well-fitting, it does not inhibit my riding style. It also fits in with my hybrid bike, commuter image. Very good value at this special offer price.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
BikeTourer
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Love the look, the fit, the fuller coverage than a regular bike helmet, the versatility to use it as a ski helmet too. As some others say, going up one size probably won't hurt you with the Brentwood, the L I bought is roomier than it has to be but it's still a more snug and complete fit than a lot of helmets I've had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BigCityCyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

quality lid

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Really pleased with the new lid, the only thing that I noticed on the first couple of rides was that due to the low back I could feel the collar of my jacket against it when turning my head. This may happen with my jacket and other helmets though, I have nothing else to compare. Its not a big issue at all. Fits very well on the head and is comfortable. Probably best for shortish city rides as its not got lots of ventilation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Dusty53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

True to guide

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Having measured head size ordered large size. On arrival appeared tight. Exchanged for X Large. Perfect !!!
Very comfortable in use. Never used helmet before but will be wearing on every ride out now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikesl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Proper Helmet

PostedFebruary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A proper helmet that covers a sensible amount of you head and fits snugly.
If like me you 'don't get' these alien looking helmets that seem to only perch on the top of your head - then this is the helmet for you.
Appears well made and the peak is a nice touch.
Inspires confidence.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
abomb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality, a bit hot.

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I've always used normal road helmets so it feels a bit hot but in general a very good helmet. Very light weight. Like the removable inners and style with added protection from truck wing mirrors. I got large and its ok but is a bit loose if you wiggle it from side to side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Katz77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Great helmet with peak

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight, simple design that fits securely around the back of the head with no movement in the wind. The peak provides protection from the sun and the rain and can be replaced if it gets worn. Other accessories are available to wear with this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wilmer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Fits well, lightweight and comfortable. The visor helps in the sunshine. Makes me feel safe on my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pjm718
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

great helmet

PostedJuly 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this helmet for my daily commute to work, because I wanted this style of helmet. It is perfect. It fits well and is very comfortable. I like the removable visor, I just wish the helmet had come with pads to adjust the size of the helmet, when the visor is removed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snowboarder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cracking Helmet!

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I've owned Bern helmets for a number of years which I wear snowboarding. I bought this in bright yellow for commuting and its perfect. Good helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SazzleGreen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Looks good, feels secure

PostedJuly 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought a mens model because I wanted a plainish dark matt shell and dark visor (womens were lots of random colours and/or white visor).
It still fits me fine (although it seemed when I was trying on in the shop, I was a small in mens and xtra small in womens?!).
I like the idea that I can add a winter season lining to keep my ears warm in winter.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chuck7
Country:Hong Kong
Style:Leisure riding
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good but narrow

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
my head is 57.5cm but the large size is a bit narrow for me, have to take out the visor that I like
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EsaJ
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJune 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Great fit and looks good. Best helmet I have ever had.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SparkyMA
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Great helmet! My first purchase!

PostedJune 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this helmet in the last few days.
It's very comfortable and a great design.
I would recommend this helmet to other cyclists!!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Captaindoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great looker.

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really happy with this helmet. Love the style and its super comfy. The removable inner is nice as it can be washed. Would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeeFitzs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Comfy comfy comfy

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very nice helmet, using for commuting and have not got one negative! Looks great also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simplefool
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice helmet, sailor!

PostedJanuary 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been using this helmet for six months and it's been brilliant. I bought it to replace (a not inexpensive) MTB style helmet that made me look a helmet myself.
Whilst the Brentwood doesn't sink quite as low as the Bern images may suggest, it sits a lot lower than most, eliminating that feeling that you're trying to outdo the most flamboyant competition at Cheltenham Ladies' Day.
The ventilation is good, despite the relative absence of numerous or large ventilation holes compared to certain other road/MTB styles. The visor insert is nicely padded and fixes with poppers directly into the shell, meaning it's a doddle to remove and chuck in the washing machine, mine's been washed about five times now and still shows no sign of wear.
The only thing to be mindful of is if wearing a thick/highly-slung backpack, the rear padding and velcro strap for the visor sits lower than you may expect, therefore catching and being pushed up by the top of the backpack, putting strain on your neck. I negated this by reverting to my messenger style bag which, on review, I preferred anyway.
Overall, a smart product I'd recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bern 2013 Brentwood Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wolverton1

PostedJanuary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Stylish and very comfortable, wish I had got one months ago!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>