Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood

Altura Night Vision Evo Hood

Overall rating:
3.852 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
22 out of 27(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Bean2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Got the jacket? Then get the hood!

PostedJune 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no reflective strip
Hoodless? why? Effective piece of commuter kit that fits jacket well. Stores easily in the back pocket , accessible, ready for those lovely sudden unexpected showers. Yet to test in a heavy downpour ( yes,I do live in the UK). Have to wait and see what challenges this winter will have to offer . Have a great summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Geraldine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I boughtt his to go with a altrura jacket, thinking it would fit with any, but it only attaches to the altura night vission jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iaindada
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best windproof, rainproof jacket that is light.

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, high visibility
Light, windproof, rainproof, high visibility, free flashing light thingo and well priced. What more could you ask I hear you say. Well they deliver to your door promptly even to Australia. Woo hoo. Thanks people you have brought sunshine on a rainy day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaggieJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Warm neck!!

PostedMarch 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
While I had to wait some time for the hood to become available once it came I found the weather deteriorated appropriately so that I had to wear it immediately. It is comfortable, warm and protects my head. It fits comfortably under my helmet and over my warm cycling hat. I do find the visibility isn't great when I turn to look behind. It fits snuggly on to the jacket giving me unexpected protection around my neck. Altogether a success.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
MHCommuter

Very poor design indeed

PostedNovember 22, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
We've had two of these hoods. There are a number of problems with the design. (1) As many other people have commented, they are not one size fits all; for anyone without a small head, the fit is uncomfortable since the velcro fastener under the chin (essential if the hood is to stay on) is far too tight and rigid. (2) It's best worn with a baseball cap underneath to support the peak, which is otherwise useless. (3) Finally, on both our jackets, the popper fastenings on the jacket are both poorly positioned and not strong enough; you have to remove the hood when not in use as otherwise the positioning means it flaps around too much, but after doing this a couple of times, the hood part of the popper eventually pulls them right out of the jacket fabric.
Altura need to do some serious usability testing on this product; it's substandard in its present form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JamesW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks daft but keeps you dry!

PostedNovember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: looks stoopid!
Clips straight onto the Altura jacket with two "poppers" To be fair it looks daft but stops water dripping down your back.
It would have been a good idea to have put a velcro strip on the back or the hood so you could attach the Night Vision light to it for extra visibility - but its only a tenner so its good value for money...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Amba
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Good for small heads

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Works well for small heads, fits securely and can be tightened but doubt will cover a larger size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
finchy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does a reasonable job

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
The hood will just about fit underneath a helmet but is a little tight with the velcro fastening, although I may just have a thick neck!
Apart from that it keeps the wind out and the rain off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
BlackDiamond
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could be better

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: needs more fastening points
Does what it is meant to but the one size means it is difficult to fasten round the chin if you have bought a jacket in the larger sizes to accommodate a larger body size. With only two press studs at the back to attach it to the jacket it tends flap around unless fully fastened round the chin which gives the problem above. My solution is to sew Velcro tabs at the front of the jacket collar to secure it better, but Altura should have thought of this or tested it better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
willpen
Country:United Kingdom

Good fit

PostedOctober 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not reflective
the hood fits well onto my Altura jacket. It is a shame it doesn't have an reflective features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cdan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It fits my small frame well and it keeps me dry! It does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Large
from Leighton Buzzard
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job, but is too small

PostedJanuary 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, too small
I had high hopes for this purchased a few months after buying the Evo jacket which is performing well.
The hood is simple to fit but is just too small if you are bigger than a size L or, like me, have a big melon. I can't get the velcro fastening to touch, never mind connect and the hood itself is very tight.
Recommended to you with smaller heads thanks to the ease of fitting and that it does keep out the rain. Old big 'eads like me will have to compromise and wear it unfastened at the front or go without.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
usedit67
from uk
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps you snug and dry

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Super fast delivery and a decent price. Fit is on the snug side but when the massive velcro strap is fastened at the front the hood is so secure and rain proof.
My only criticism is that the peak could be quite a bit longer.
Now my Night Vision jacket is complete!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BmoBoyo
from New Forest
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works well with Night Vision Jacket

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have only had use of the product so far in gentle rain showers and have been very satisfied with it. I only have the cheaper standard night vision jacket so I don't have the poppers to attach the hood but it has so far held on by the Velcro chin attachment very well and the hood covers the jacket collar so no water gets in. Visibility is fine. Pleased with the purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jam0954

Perfect fit and adequate design

PostedDecember 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Goes perfectly with the jacket - truly protecting from adverse weather and with decent safety features. Unfortunate that some offer the jacket without hood, you must not miss the all around protection!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsbear
from Cardiff
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

essential accessory

PostedDecember 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
should come with the jacket; essential accessory in this country; annoying to have to buy as an extra; glad I did. good attachment and colour match; now I have a complete jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
arty99
from Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is a perfect fit.

PostedNovember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, good fit
I bought the Altura night Vision jacket for cycling but also found it perfect to wear during a typical Scottish summer of unpredictable wind and rain. The jacket is proved to be both windproof and waterproof but lacked a hood useful for non cycling activities. The jacket includes fastenings but hood has to be bought as an extra. Many cycle stores don't sell them but Evans had them available online. Thankyou Evans it is a perfect fit, fastens up well, the wind does not blow it off and well worth the extra £9.99 with no delivery charge. It is a pity that Altura don't include the hood with jacket purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sisi
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Eve hood

PostedOctober 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
It does what it say in the tin/label. Keep you dry and be seen in the early winter evenings. Good price and good well with the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kirkcolton
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good Purchase

PostedJuly 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: no zip just press-stud attachment
Very please I bought this hood as it turns my cycling jacket into something i can use for walking and general use.
Means I don't need to take 2 jackets like I used to when I go away cycling at the weekend and say camping.
Only downside with this item is it attaches with just 2 press-studs in the centre - would have liked to have seen a zip around the edge too to make it more secure.
Otherwise very good product.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
LissaniskaGirl

Good for the price

PostedJune 1, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
For the price really can't argue. Does it's job - waterproof and fits on to the jacket.
Only problem is there are no size options and the hood isn't big enough if you are a regular adult to have anything warm under it like a beanie or a hoodie.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>