Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood

Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood

Overall rating:
4.057 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(35 reviews) 35
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 35 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
30 out of 35Would you recommend this product to a friend?86%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Review 1 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Great product

Posted11 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
I got this hood to go with my Altura night vision eco jacket and I was pleasantly surprised how good it was. It clips on to the three fasteners on the back, is a great fit and has a small peak on the front to stop the rain from dripping into your eyes. I wear it under my helmet with no problems. It's totally waterproof yet breathable so no sweaty head! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

altura night vision hood

Posted18 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
this item compliments the Altura night vision evo jacket. looks good and completes the waterproof set nicely. draw strings are a great feature and very easy to install and detach when needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps head dry

Posted15 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Easily adjusted so it turns with you head and fits with two press-studs on the collar of the Night Vision Evo coat (which is sized on the small side - bought a large when I am a medium)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality addition for evo jacket

Posted12 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Fully lined hood that attaches to the night vision evo jacket via 2 press studs. Good coverage over head and fits under helmet if you have room. Makes the evo jacket more functional when off bike. Overall good addition to the winter kit that will help keep you dry. Can be stowed in evo jacket pocket when not needed.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Covers your head and fits under your helmet

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
This gets used on my commute to work fits on to the matching jacket well. big enough to keep the weather out but still fits under my helmet.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Straight forward

Posted17 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought this for a rainy day, pun unintended and I just leave it in my jacket's back pocket. I rarely notice it's there and it can save the day when it starts pouring.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Great

Posted14 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Needed this to go with the Altura jacket I already had. This hood has 2 snaps to fit it to an Altura jacket, but not the one I have! But that's not an issue for me. The hood lays over the collar of the jacket and when tied is completely water tight. Very happy :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Useful addition to cycling jacket

Posted04 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not included with the jacket
Useful addition to cycling jacket, attaches to jacket via 2 press studs. Only shame is that isn't included with the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Got the jacket? Then get the hood!

Posted30 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no reflective strip
Hoodless? why? Effective piece of commuter kit that fits jacket well. Stores easily in the back pocket , accessible, ready for those lovely sudden unexpected showers. Yet to test in a heavy downpour ( yes,I do live in the UK). Have to wait and see what challenges this winter will have to offer . Have a great summer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted06 February 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
I boughtt his to go with a altrura jacket, thinking it would fit with any, but it only attaches to the altura night vission jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best windproof, rainproof jacket that is light.

Posted26 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, high visibility
Light, windproof, rainproof, high visibility, free flashing light thingo and well priced. What more could you ask I hear you say. Well they deliver to your door promptly even to Australia. Woo hoo. Thanks people you have brought sunshine on a rainy day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Warm neck!!

Posted26 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
While I had to wait some time for the hood to become available once it came I found the weather deteriorated appropriately so that I had to wear it immediately. It is comfortable, warm and protects my head. It fits comfortably under my helmet and over my warm cycling hat. I do find the visibility isn't great when I turn to look behind. It fits snuggly on to the jacket giving me unexpected protection around my neck. Altogether a success.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5

Very poor design indeed

Posted22 November 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
We've had two of these hoods. There are a number of problems with the design. (1) As many other people have commented, they are not one size fits all; for anyone without a small head, the fit is uncomfortable since the velcro fastener under the chin (essential if the hood is to stay on) is far too tight and rigid. (2) It's best worn with a baseball cap underneath to support the peak, which is otherwise useless. (3) Finally, on both our jackets, the popper fastenings on the jacket are both poorly positioned and not strong enough; you have to remove the hood when not in use as otherwise the positioning means it flaps around too much, but after doing this a couple of times, the hood part of the popper eventually pulls them right out of the jacket fabric.
Altura need to do some serious usability testing on this product; it's substandard in its present form.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks daft but keeps you dry!

Posted22 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: looks stoopid!
Clips straight onto the Altura jacket with two "poppers" To be fair it looks daft but stops water dripping down your back.
It would have been a good idea to have put a velcro strip on the back or the hood so you could attach the Night Vision light to it for extra visibility - but its only a tenner so its good value for money...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Victoria

Good for small heads

Posted16 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Works well for small heads, fits securely and can be tightened but doubt will cover a larger size
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does a reasonable job

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
The hood will just about fit underneath a helmet but is a little tight with the velcro fastening, although I may just have a thick neck!
Apart from that it keeps the wind out and the rain off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could be better

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: needs more fastening points
Does what it is meant to but the one size means it is difficult to fasten round the chin if you have bought a jacket in the larger sizes to accommodate a larger body size. With only two press studs at the back to attach it to the jacket it tends flap around unless fully fastened round the chin which gives the problem above. My solution is to sew Velcro tabs at the front of the jacket collar to secure it better, but Altura should have thought of this or tested it better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Good fit

Posted05 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: not reflective
the hood fits well onto my Altura jacket. It is a shame it doesn't have an reflective features.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted04 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It fits my small frame well and it keeps me dry! It does the job!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Altura Night Vision Evo Hood
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from Leighton Buzzard
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job, but is too small

Posted26 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable, too small
I had high hopes for this purchased a few months after buying the Evo jacket which is performing well.
The hood is simple to fit but is just too small if you are bigger than a size L or, like me, have a big melon. I can't get the velcro fastening to touch, never mind connect and the hood itself is very tight.
Recommended to you with smaller heads thanks to the ease of fitting and that it does keep out the rain. Old big 'eads like me will have to compromise and wear it unfastened at the front or go without.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>