Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mudguards or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards

SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards

Snap-on mudguard set for front and rear 26" wheels, V-brake compatible. Including universal fastening and frame clip.
Overall rating:
4.042 / 5
4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
20 out of 24(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Review 1 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baz41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

practical easy fit

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Does what it says on the box and reasonably priced what else is there to say.
Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MatthewC

OK product but package missing a vital nut!

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
The mudguard looks pretty fine, but I haven't been able to fit it on my bike yet because the package was missing the vital nut. Pah.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adaellcal
Country:United Kingdom

does the job

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Why pay more? Does the job. Robust and keep you dry. Shop fitted them so no comment on ease of install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Thomasio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good mud guards for a decent price.

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to modify if need be.
Cons: won't necesasarilly fit on all bikes.
The rear mud guard is excellent as I needed something that would fit underneath a pannier rack. It turns out my bike doesn't quite have holes in the right place but I was able to modify the design slightly to make it fit. Unfortunately I couldn't fit the front guard as there wasn't enough clearance between the fitting and the wheel. This is not a fault with the guards, it is the design of my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Colkreeper
Country:Malawi
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap and effective

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Not sure what this doesn't do that more expensive ones do?
Fits in 2 minutes and removes with one Allen key in less.
Keeps water and muck out of your face and natal cleft and doesn't appear to add appreciably to drag. Job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
elray
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

universal product

PostedDecember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I could use without problem the rear mud guard above my 700cc tyre at the back with some minor customization. (Although they are not recommended as the product description pointed out). I didn't need to use it on the front but looks ok.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichieMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great Simple Mudguards!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
They're easy to fit. Can be put on and taken off very easily. Lightweight but sturdy. The rear mudguard can also be moved higher up the seatpost stem for extra length at the back to stop the 'throwback' that happens when it rains. Simple but great :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
rotenone
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product will not fit all bikes

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, for £8take a chance.
Cons: will not fit all bikes
I have a Genesis Core 26" bike.I was able to fit the rear mudguard with a bit of adjustment/cord but I need to buy a different bolt to fit the front mudguard.However,for £8 a pair it worth risking it and seeing if they fit your bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cabbagekiller
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

very good value

PostedOctober 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I keep an old 90's mtb for the caravan and find this style of mudguard is a perfect fit. A bit of quality with these unlike similar/dearer priced items. Very easy to fit on this style of rigid frame, Fitted within 5 minutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rooneyman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for money

PostedAugust 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Needed a bit of adjustment to fit the bracket, but overall a good piece of kit for the money it costs. easy to remove if required
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Barny2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Value!

PostedJuly 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is the second pair of these muguards that I have bought and for the money they are excellent.
Good quality and very easy to fit.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ElTel51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Value for money.

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I've read a previous review or two about these being difficult to fit. Well, as they're made to fit a multitude of bikes and there are a myriad of different types of bike out there now, I don't think a bit of 'adapting' is too much to ask. Especially at this price. These are a bargain and I didn't find them hard to fit to my Bad Boy Fatty at all. I had to bend a bracket a bit and add a couple of washers but that was it. For commuting these are a bargain, even if they might take a tiny bit of effort to fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bmwonder

Cheap but good

PostedApril 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: not for heavy offroad use
Bought these for my wife bike (26x1.75in wheels) but would easily fit 26in or 700C. Very cheap but suprinsingly good for the money. Reasonable coverage and protection. Very simple to fit and there are a variety of mounting options so, yes, I'd say fairly universal. Cons - none really for the money, but I wouldn't recomend them for heavy offroad. Other than that.....great value piece of kit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
happyface
from London
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

A little fiddly, but does what it says on the tin

PostedJanuary 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: a little tricky to fit
These are a good pair of low-cost-but-effective mudguards. The rear mudguard was easy to fit but I had a bit of trouble fixing the front one, probably because my wheels aren't 26".
They're cheap but effective, so they're pretty good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hagar
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smart Purchase

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, silent
It is cheap and good quality product. It fitted to my 26 inch tyres very easily and quick.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GarethH
from Surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easily fitted

PostedOctober 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
These fitted very easily to my old (cheap) MTB basically using the mounting points for the front and rear reflectors.
Only small downside is that the rear reflector couldn't be refitted as the hole in the bracket would no longer align with the hole in the frame as the mudguard was in the way.
I'm still figuring out how to re-mount the reflector...
Can't comment on their protective performance yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Wazzup
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Do not fit all MTB

PostedSeptember 26, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This "universal fastening" is not universal at all. They don't fit every bike, only basic mountain bike with the screw attaching point in the fork bridge and strait bridge between seat stays.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CleanRider
from Nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quick and Easy

PostedSeptember 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
This is the third pair of these mudguards I've bought - the first when they were made by Zefal over 10 years ago. The great thing about them is they give good protection as they are long and sit close to the wheel but take seconds to remove or put on and there's no need for fiddling about with stays. They don't fit every bike but for the basic mountain bike (mine's a 1993 Marin) they are just the job.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mnbarnett
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cant get any easier

PostedJuly 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
arrived 2 days after ordering. within 10 minutes they were installed. So Simple!!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for SKS High trek Clip-on Mudguards
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Philpp

Not a good purchase

PostedMarch 16, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, don't easily attach if they attach at all.
These just don't attach easily... "universal" is untrue. I purchased them for two bikes, one they barely attached to after some minor rigging. They don't fit in any fashion on the second bike, so I'm stuck with a useless second set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>