Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Time RXS First Pedals

Time RXS First Pedals

Time's entry level choice pedal from the excellent RWS pedal range. Features a lightweight composite body and steel axle.
Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Time RXS First Pedals
Review 1 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sysy

Great pedals, light

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Love the look of the pedals, lightweight as well. Definitely worth the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Arnaud50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Good

PostedJuly 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Easy to clip and unclip.
Good quality
Easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jimbo48

A bit too basic.

PostedMay 19, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, decent cleats
Cons: Unattractive, no set adjustment., difficult to clip in.
I bought these pedals as I was looking for a lighter road pedal at a reasonable price. The drawback is that the RXS First pedals do not have the SET adjustment for spring pressure unlike the more expensive RXS pedals this to me is a mean omission on the part of Time, and I had not realised this at the time of purchase.
The only good feature are the cleats which have a brass piece which contacts the sprung clip-in bar so should last longer than the Shimano and Look cleats which I have had previously, however clipping in is not that easy often needing several attempts.
The grey colour is not very attractive and make the pedals look dull and basic, black would have been a better choice.
Summing up the cleats are very good, but choose a better model if you want Time pedals.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
wheezyboy
Country:United Kingdom

Excellent entry-level pedal

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, rotates round for easier engagement of cleats
I recently bought a new bike which came with Look Kéo pedals and having used an earlier model of the TIme RXS on my old bike. I tried to get on with the new pedals for about a month before reverting to these. The price is the same (more or less) for both pedals, but the key difference is that the Time pedals are weighted so that they rotate round. It makes engaging the cleats so much easier. With the Look pedals I was constantly aware of my cleats not engaging first time. It was a nightmare in traffic and commuting - not exactly dangerous, but enough to slow you down at junctions. It's just not an issue with these. Much smoother engagement too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NikolaMKD
Country:Macedonia
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just great!!!

PostedApril 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these pedals couple of moths ago and have put about 500km on these. They are great, lightweight (mine came at 247 rather than claimed 260). look great fairly easy to engage and give a positive feel of float and with the self centering float resistance(sensor feel or something...) your foot is always in the correct position. They are a dark grey color which perfectly matches my ultegra 6700 on mu CUBE GTC PRO. Highly recommended and not just as an entry level pedal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ankaradan
Country:Turkey
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

time rxs pedals

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
these were fairly easy to set up, though the very large cleats protrude from under my new road shoes. Quite hard to get your feet attached, especially after using the old and worn SPD cleats on my MTB shoes.
No idea about longevity, though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ride2win
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

time pedals

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: unmaintable
i treid shimano but didnt like them and this is the 3rd set of time pedals i have had for 2 bikes. I think they are good.Not always easy to engage but most times they work very well. i have one concern and that is you cannot get into them to lubricate the bearings you need a specal tool, which no one sells...so in the long run you have to throw them away rather than put in a new bearing. shame. overall a very good pedal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OrganusMaximus1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals for the money

PostedAugust 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The Time RXS First pedals, like all Time pedals are made to very high standards. They are pretty lightweight compared to others of a similar price but their secure locking and float are what make these really good pedals... couple that with nice smooth bearings and you have got a great product.
I really like the cleats as well, which have a rubberised raised section to aid grip when walking. It was really easy setting these up too, a little bit of trial and error and they were done.
Also, they look great on my Bianchi.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sib2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

No knee pain at last

PostedAugust 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Primary basis for purchasing these pedals was a recent review in a cycle magazine saying due to the amount of float available they were a good choice for people with knee issues.......I have to concur....since having these pedals and cleats, I've had my first 40+ mile pain free rides in a few years......plus easier to clip into than my previous shimanos due to the weighting, the pedal is always in the right position to engage into! Overall a great pedal, the Evans price being by far the cheapest too
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mikebikerider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

PostedJuly 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these to replace an identical pair I have had for the last two years. The bearings on one side were starting to show wear and rather than the expense of taking them to the local bike shop for inspection/repair, I figured the cost would be about the sane to buy new ones. I didn't see any reason to choose anything else as they are within my budget and I was perfectly happy with them. Easy to fit, very easy to use on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Time RXS First Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redman
from Liverpool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great set of pedals

PostedJune 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Having previously used SPD and Look system pedals I decided to try these ones and I am impressed. Good grip with the RXS cleats and simple to release. The set up was simple and I was riding within minutes. The instructions recommend starting by riding on a straight road and practising the release at first, if you aren't used to Time/SPDL pedals this would be a good idea.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.