Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem

Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem

3D-Net forged 6061-T6 alloy construction. Recessed faceplate bolts. Angled steerer clamp helps prevent damage to lightweight aluminum and carbon steerer tubes. 30 Degree rise for dialing in bar position. 1-1/8" steerer, 31.8mm bar clamp.
Overall rating:
4.621 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
29 out of 29(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Review 1 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Morph114
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

This worked well

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This was purcheased to make my wife's cycling angle more appropriate for her back and worked well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fireballxl5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent light stem

PostedJune 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Needed a shorter stem on my racer, as was over stretching causing back probkems, so I chose to raise and shorten the stretch...to great effect with this stem. Light, well made and very easy to swap over.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artista34

Goog stem

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
If you want to ride comfortable, this is yout stem. Strong and well made. Perfect service from Evans, like always.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigstevie3187
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Reduced the strain on my back.

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
This reduced the amount of stretch on my back during on rides of over 2 hours. This was felt immediately after installation. This made my bike much more comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kob200
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I was finding the reach of my Specialized Tricross sport a bit too demanding especially as I use it in town and as a tourer. This was the perfect solution. I can ride for longer and in greater comfort. I actually find the drop position more useful than ever before and wish I'd spotted the need for this two years ago.
Excellent product, well engineered but less keen on the logo.
Unfortunately the delivery time was quite a while compared with Amazon and I'd have liked it a few days earlier, in time for a planned ride
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sodit
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

job done

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Needed to reduce the forward reach on my Specialized Tricross Sport, left with an artificial right shoulder joint and restricted movement after an accident. The 100mm 28 degree stem fitted was great for the left side but right kept cramping up after about 5 miles so ride one handed for a while then back to two hand. Anyway with this stem I have just got back after 25 miles and the shoulder was just starting to cramp so great improvement.
The stem itself seems as well made as the original Specialized stem but I just hate the logo on this Ritchey
Anyway so far good bit of kit and bought it for function not looks
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WeyT
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Stem review

PostedMarch 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Not suitable for my needs as too steep at 30% should have gone for 25% so has been taken of my bike again. Great if you need to raise and shorten your reach a lot brilliant the option is out there.
Added to car boot pile now :(
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Darwyn72
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good replacement stem

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this to replace the factory adjustable stem on my Moulton TSR-2. Much better than the OEM, lighter, well made, and a lot stiffer, so you don't get creaking from the handlebars. Also, as my Moulton is orange it now looks alot better with a black stem. ; )
However, you will need (for a Moulton) the M:Part 1" to 1.1/8" shim adapter which I also found here on Evans.
A good component.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rideron
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

if looks could kill

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
This is a lovely looking stem on the bike. It is strong and sold looking stem with the makers emblem standing out and giving it a refined look. Also very fit for purpose with no movement since fitting (200miles ago).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob43
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal replacement.

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Many handlebar stems provide quite a long reach, this Ritchey product is ideal if you want to slightly raise your bars and reduce your forward reach. It's light and very well made and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nigel7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, but not right for my bike geometry

PostedApril 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
This is beautifully engineered, and of very nice quality. I tried this out for two weeks on my mountain bike along with an Easton Monkey Bar, but I'd changed the geometry too much (I think the stem wasn't long enough, the bars were too wide and I ended up being too upright) and my shoulders and wrists ached. I think the lesson learned here is to take your bike to the shop to speak to the experts before buying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dg83
from India
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJanuary 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
just the thing i needed for increasing the height of my trek 6000 ...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hblockx
from Milton keynes
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

LOVE THIS STEM

PostedJanuary 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this for my Specialized Camber Comp Fsr.
I fitted it within minutes,and I'm no expert.
I use my bike 50/50 road and off road so i needed it to be comfortable riding the 20 miles round trip to work.
The factory bar and stem was a flat rise and a 110mm stem and i was a bit hunched over when on the road.
I changed my bar to a Easton Monkey bar high rise and now i've added this stem and it feels like a new bike.
Im more upright when on the way to work and when I'm on a trail i raise my seat post and i have a normal xc position.
I find i can lift my front wheel up higher and faster thanks to this stem to get over curbs/logs etc.
Took me a few miles to get used to the 70mm stem that i got as it felt a bit twitchy due to having used such a long stem but now i love how sharp i can turn and it looks better on my bike than my previous stem.
Buy it,you won't regret it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hknivers
from Sortland, Norway
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality

PostedSeptember 21, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I had some back issues, this fixed it. No complaints.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pejx
from Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

PostedSeptember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent way of raising the handlebars while retaining a smooth look to the bike. Also stronger than the adjustable stems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
viol
from durham
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent kit!

PostedMarch 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have now said ''goodbye" to neck pain on long road rides! Having put up with pain for the last few years, the shorter reach and slightly higher body position are just what I need. And if i need a lower, more streamlined position - down on the drops; no problem!
Thank you, Ritchie!
Rider
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyclingcol
from Emsworth
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Purchase

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this item for my Boardman Pro Hybrid as I found the original stem to be too long and too low, resulting in an uncomfortable ride. This stem has improved the comfort level immensely by shortening the reach and raising the height. The result is a far better balanced riding postion
witn no hand or back strains.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saluski
from portugal
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

30 degree stem

PostedDecember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i only did a few miles, but for the time i can say that is a good stem.
This stem removed the nest solving any lack of comfort on my bike rides.
It is a nice step forward which does not alter the delightful appearance of my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Freddy100
from Plymouth
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grat buy

PostedNovember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, evans mail order service
Bought this to raise my handlebars and ease the ache in my ancient neck on long rides, and it did the job. Beautifully engineered piece of kit, fitting was a doddle, and in contrast to other reviews, I rather like the logo on the front.
Just a word about Evans mail order service; SUPERB
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Ritchey Comp 30 Degree Stem
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Techybob
from Cheshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable ride

PostedNovember 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought stem as I was getting back pain on my new bike that had a long flat stem. Riding position is now more upright with more bend in the arms. Result- no more back pain and the bike is a pleasure to ride.
Definitely a good purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>