Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Overall rating:
4.389 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Review 1 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Martin72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Bike not been stolen

Posted16 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The lock fits nicely under the seat, has a good length to it and is not noticably heavy. My bike hasn't been stolen when I've used it ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tarook1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good lock for the price

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far I've had no problem with this lock.
The length is long enough to make it easy to use and feels thick enough for the bike to be safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kanji56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good Product

Posted08 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this as it was good value for money and I can store in uder the saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newbeecyclist

good buy

Posted08 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, good quality, does the job, I've used it several times and have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Windy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

basic lock

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As the price suggests this is a short term deterrent from the opportunist thief. If you have a very expensive bike look for a more expensive lock! Quick and easy to use with a decent cable length enabling locking frame to post or similar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sarah11
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value for money...

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
...and compact. I'm just using it for my front wheel and it works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

compact lock

Posted25 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The lock is okay for a brief stop but won't stop a determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
emimez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap and does its job

Posted22 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
a lock...nothing more, nothing less. If you think that your bike will be exposed to the risk to be stolen by "professionals" don't buy. If you think you just only need to avoid that people passing by pick it up, it's the right product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crispian
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for quick stops

Posted17 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I put this lock in my backpack to secure the bike when popping into my local shop.It is tough enough to deter an opportunist thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chino
from Salisbury
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

Posted18 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: short cable
Seems to be a good lock, relatively lightweight and well built.
Part of the plastic casing has come off after about 4 weeks of use every day but nothing major and it still works.
Slightly short for my liking, I lock my bike to a stand at ground level and have to stretch the cable out to go around the stand and the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bassoonist
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted10 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Obviously for this price you won't get anything very tough, but this lock is very easy to use, and seems very sturdy. Nice long chain to get round thick lamposts etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EtsiAkrivws
from Athens,Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Transaction

Posted27 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I ordered the item I wanted and a problem apeared but the solution was immediate from the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hatty

Posted04 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Handy lock .. would stop opportunist theft but not determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welshwalker
from North Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted15 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value lock to deter the opportunist thief. And feels really sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
htiek
from Woking
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and value for money

Posted11 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good and easy to use. value for its price!
But the attachment to the bike is a little too small, but doesn't seem to be a big problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gingram71
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a bike lock

Posted12 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's a bike lock, and a budget one at that. It's not going to deter a hardened thief but it's fine for stopping an opportunist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cocomac
from Highgate, London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Posted14 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Compact and lightweight lock. Fits easily round the seat stem or handlerbars without adding extra weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sebastian
from Bristol
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good, reliable bike lock.

Posted08 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
A good handy bike lock that fitted well around my front wheel, flexible to be locked up tp pretty much anything.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.