Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Review 1 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
newbeecyclist

good buy

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, good quality, does the job, I've used it several times and have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Windy2
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

basic lock

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As the price suggests this is a short term deterrent from the opportunist thief. If you have a very expensive bike look for a more expensive lock! Quick and easy to use with a decent cable length enabling locking frame to post or similar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sarah11
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value for money...

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
...and compact. I'm just using it for my front wheel and it works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

compact lock

PostedJuly 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The lock is okay for a brief stop but won't stop a determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
emimez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap and does its job

PostedMarch 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
a lock...nothing more, nothing less. If you think that your bike will be exposed to the risk to be stolen by "professionals" don't buy. If you think you just only need to avoid that people passing by pick it up, it's the right product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
crispian
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for quick stops

PostedSeptember 17, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I put this lock in my backpack to secure the bike when popping into my local shop.It is tough enough to deter an opportunist thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chino
from Salisbury
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: short cable
Seems to be a good lock, relatively lightweight and well built.
Part of the plastic casing has come off after about 4 weeks of use every day but nothing major and it still works.
Slightly short for my liking, I lock my bike to a stand at ground level and have to stretch the cable out to go around the stand and the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bassoonist
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedAugust 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Obviously for this price you won't get anything very tough, but this lock is very easy to use, and seems very sturdy. Nice long chain to get round thick lamposts etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EtsiAkrivws
from Athens,Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Transaction

PostedJune 27, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I ordered the item I wanted and a problem apeared but the solution was immediate from the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hatty

PostedJune 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Handy lock .. would stop opportunist theft but not determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Welshwalker
from North Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value lock to deter the opportunist thief. And feels really sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
htiek
from Woking
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and value for money

PostedFebruary 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good and easy to use. value for its price!
But the attachment to the bike is a little too small, but doesn't seem to be a big problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gingram71
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a bike lock

PostedJanuary 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's a bike lock, and a budget one at that. It's not going to deter a hardened thief but it's fine for stopping an opportunist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
cocomac
from Highgate, London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Compact and lightweight lock. Fits easily round the seat stem or handlerbars without adding extra weight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sebastian
from Bristol
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A good, reliable bike lock.

PostedMarch 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
A good handy bike lock that fitted well around my front wheel, flexible to be locked up tp pretty much anything.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.