Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock

Overall rating:
4.318 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Review 1 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Excellent first line defense

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A great lock at a cheap price light enough to carry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Handy security product

Posted02 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: fiddly to fit as a permanent device
Permanently fixed to seat mount and through the seat frame, the spiral curls neatly under the seat itself. Always there for quick locking at the shops or casual visits. I supplement it with a stronger D-Lock for more permanent security.
Downside, fiddly to fit initially and the locking through the mounting piece limits access, for the price paid though its a good first security level deterent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

good strong product.

Posted26 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
does exactly as expected. no mor,e no less. Very good quality product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

The best compromise found

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
I guess everyone wants a lightweight lock that provides absolute security - it doesn't exist so a compromise is necessary. My need is for something to use when I briefly stop for coffee and cake, so I'm not leaving a bike all day. It seems to fit the purpose. I would prefer something lighter and stronger but haven't found anything better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Bike not been stolen

Posted16 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The lock fits nicely under the seat, has a good length to it and is not noticably heavy. My bike hasn't been stolen when I've used it ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Good lock for the price

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
So far I've had no problem with this lock.
The length is long enough to make it easy to use and feels thick enough for the bike to be safe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good Product

Posted08 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this as it was good value for money and I can store in uder the saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

good buy

Posted08 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to use, good quality, does the job, I've used it several times and have had no problems with it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

basic lock

Posted26 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
As the price suggests this is a short term deterrent from the opportunist thief. If you have a very expensive bike look for a more expensive lock! Quick and easy to use with a decent cable length enabling locking frame to post or similar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good value for money...

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
...and compact. I'm just using it for my front wheel and it works well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

compact lock

Posted25 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The lock is okay for a brief stop but won't stop a determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap and does its job

Posted22 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
a lock...nothing more, nothing less. If you think that your bike will be exposed to the risk to be stolen by "professionals" don't buy. If you think you just only need to avoid that people passing by pick it up, it's the right product
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for quick stops

Posted17 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I put this lock in my backpack to secure the bike when popping into my local shop.It is tough enough to deter an opportunist thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
from Salisbury
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good lock

Posted18 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: short cable
Seems to be a good lock, relatively lightweight and well built.
Part of the plastic casing has come off after about 4 weeks of use every day but nothing major and it still works.
Slightly short for my liking, I lock my bike to a stand at ground level and have to stretch the cable out to go around the stand and the bike frame.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Leeds
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted10 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Obviously for this price you won't get anything very tough, but this lock is very easy to use, and seems very sturdy. Nice long chain to get round thick lamposts etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Athens,Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Transaction

Posted27 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I ordered the item I wanted and a problem apeared but the solution was immediate from the store.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Posted04 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Handy lock .. would stop opportunist theft but not determined thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from North Wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted15 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value lock to deter the opportunist thief. And feels really sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Woking
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good and value for money

Posted11 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
good and easy to use. value for its price!
But the attachment to the bike is a little too small, but doesn't seem to be a big problem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Abus Prim 590 Cable Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a bike lock

Posted12 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
It's a bike lock, and a budget one at that. It's not going to deter a hardened thief but it's fine for stopping an opportunist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>