Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike

Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(3 reviews) 3
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 3 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
3 out of 3(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike
Review 1 for Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marshy666
from Nottingham UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Beautiful frame, great components, great service.

PostedAugust 25, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Asked my local store (Nottingham) to recommend something for distance over speed and they recommended this. Assistant was very confident and knowledgable. Recommended this frame as it had a slightly more upright position than an out-and-out racing frame style. Wasn't one in stock at the store in my size so set up the Sora version in a 59 cm for me, even got me on the turbo trainer and tweaked saddle position, height and checked the handle bar position before my test ride (!) which is more than halfords did on the bike I actually purchased. Had a short test ride but was a little uncomfortable. The store re-adjusted saddle position again and I went for a longer 20 minute test ride. Absolutely fantastic, more comfortable than I expected considering I come from hybrids and commuters. Even the Sora gears seemed fine but I still went for the Tiagra as I had enough money for it. I have been told that when buying a new bike you are buying the frame as components wear out and this frame looks and feels good. I may upgrade the kit to 105 or beyond as it wears out. Was given a lead time of 10-14 days for the bike to be returned to warehouse from other store, sent to my local store and built. Left £50 deposit and it arrived bang on time. Collected and had a full set up from another helpful assistant on the turbo trainer with tape measure, plumb line and goniometer !!! Was told I could feel free to go for a test ride and have it tweaked again if I wanted which was really good. Didn't feel rushed at all. Even met the mechanic who built it (is this place for real??!!) and he checked through the build sheet with me. There was a slight (and I mean very small) chip towards the bottom of the seat tube which they told me about to make sure I knew about it and was happy, the manager even got it touched up with paint, sealed and still did me a few quid off.
Have been very happy with it, lots of miles done already. Frame remains comfortable and low-vibration through my arms despite Nottingham's roads. Bars and hoods are comfortable enough although I have pretty big hands and may need larger curves on the drops but we'll see. Stock brakes and pads seem fine and dandy, cranks all true and smooth, gears shift really nicely, shifters are a little on the cheap-looking side but feel and respond solidly enough and are better than I expected from one of Shimano's cheaper ranges. Was very well put together, I checked the torque on all the bolts and was happy, all bolts have been greased and so has the seatpost. Gears were working nicely from the off and the saddle is pretty comfy but won't know much about that for a while I guess. The chain wasn't over-lubed which is very nice to see. Had my own pedals fitted so can't comment on the stock ones (are there even stock ones with it???)
Mainly though I am amazed at the service I have received from my local Evans in Notts which frankly is so good it is borderline surreal. Don't know if all Evans are the same but these guys are knowledgable, helpful and friendly. They even phone back when they say they will. Had a slight flat spot on the rear wheel which I noticed later. This has been sent back to Bianchi under warranty with no quibbles from the store at all. However this could apparently take weeks so (wait for it) the store did me a (brand new!) R500 loan wheel while I wait. Big thanks to the staff at nottingham, particularly the assistant manager - you should be proud of an excellent team and a job well done. 10 out of 10 on all counts and I am a fussy devil. Oh, and I've popped back in since getting some new cleated shoes and they did me another free fitting on the turbo trainer. I will now be buying my wife her new bike from Evans and my son's and will be recommending this store to everyone. If I really have to find a negative about the bike itself I don't think the stock tyres are great but I upgraded to some gatorskins anyway so there you go!!!
+16points
17of 18voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nightoff
from Doncaster
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Smooth and stunning

PostedJuly 21, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I test rode the Specialized Allez Elite, Fuji Roubaix 2, Specialized Secteur Sport and the Bianchi. All bikes were a similar spec apart from the Secteur which was has a Sora groupset as opposed to Tiagra.
For me, it was down to the Allez or Bianchi. In the end I went with the Bianchi because it felt comfortable and looked the best of the bunch.
So far everything is working perfectly. The Tiagra groupset is solid and works smoothly. I love the compact double and have yet to find a hill to make me get off and walk. The carbon forks do a great job of reducing road buzz and the saddle has so far been comfortable on 25 mile rides.
The only gripe I have is the lack of eyes for mudguards and rack. This is no major biggie though as i have a large Carradice saddle bag and fitted Crud Road Racer mud guards (both highly recommended).
In short I am loving this bike and look for excuses to go out on it.
Evans did a great job of setting it up. I only tweaked the handle bars a little to get the perfect fit.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bianchi Via Nirone 7 Tiagra 2010 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NerrisinLondon
from London & Kent
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Bike continues from last year, but...

PostedJuly 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Poor quality
...choose a different component set.
Campeg all the way, or the Shimano 105's, it seems the cheaper Tiagra components have not a patch on the cheaper Campeg components of last year's bike.
Having had to replace my beloved 2009 Bianchi Xenon, I chose the 2010 Tiagra and have to say I am disappointed. The shifts are jumpy from day one, not smooth at all. I also encountered a problem with defective spokes on my year wheel, had to take it in on three occasions before the guys at Waterloo the Cut did a complete rebuiild and sorted out the problem.
I'd suggest test riding it, and heavily before you buy. Having said that, my initial niggles are fading and I am sure we can retune the shifts...
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.