Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre

Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre

Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
18 out of 20(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Review 1 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Cronos
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Light, good for medium use, not for daily commute

PostedMarch 28, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not puncture proof
Rather disappointed after reading such good reviews, have had 3 punctures with this tire in the last 2 months... Not impressed, I commute daily and average over 100 miles per week. I though this was the tire for me but it just not performed and its weak side is puncture proofing. My last tire was Specialized Armadillo and in 3 years I have not had one puncture and I wore the tire to the bone.
Overall good and light tire for weekend use but would not recommend for long commutes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
M12345

Excellent all round tyre, great price

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I swapped my slick road tyres for these during the winter, and they're superb! Great grip when the road is greasy and wet, and great too when the road is dry. A bargain price, wholeheartedly reccommend these tyres!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godric80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value For Money

PostedNovember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Tyre handles the heavy chipped Lincolnshire roads in all conditions well. With the added puncture resistance main tread I hope t oget many miles from this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xr600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect winter road tyre

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good grip
Just enough tread on the shoulders for winter road riding
Not at all heavy, and at 28mm still looks like a road tyre.
Good grip and puncture protection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lancer849
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Don not buy these tyres!

PostedJuly 8, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, puncture all too easily.
For a couple of happy, trouble free years, I was using Specialised Armadillos then, new bike and new tyres, the Bontragers. They are rubbish. I have had several punctures within the last 8 weeks and have lost all confidence in them. Just to rub salt into the wounds, most of these punctures have occured whilst riding alongside my son. He has my old bike, with my old Armadillos, and is getting fed up of watching me fixing punctures!
So I have logged on to this site for two purposes. The first is to tell people not to buy these tyres, the second is to order some Armadillos.
P.S The Lezyne HP pump is a great piece of kit!
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
battlepig

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
only been out twice with these tyres but they feel great,good in the wet and ride well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beckett
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all rounder.

PostedMarch 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent tyre in the dry and the wet. Arrived next day on normal free delivery service. Well done Evanscycles. Superb customer service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaycee66
from ,west midlands
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these to replace tyres that i had on for only 4 months .due to issues with punctures and lack of grip.
So far i have been impressed with them, they went on the rims easily,I feel a lot more confident in the grip even in very wet conditions and after a late night ride on potholed and gravel covered lanes,I feel more protected
from flats.
I would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TrickyTrace
from Exeter, England
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great tyres!

PostedNovember 25, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit (so my husband said!) and do the job. Would buy again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Morty1
from Cumbria
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good tyre for c2c

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Used the tyre to ride the c2c this year on the front. Had very wet weather and performed well. Friends all had punctures wether it was luck or the tyres who knows but I had no punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tysoe32
from Newbury
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Road Tyre

PostedJuly 12, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Had the Bontrager all weather tyre on my Trek 1.2 and they were excellent, only got about 4 punctures in about 2000 before the they started to wear. They also gripped superbly in very wet conditions. Have done a few sportives, a couple have been in extremely wet conditions and they gripped superbly.
Have just got myself another set to replace the old ones and also got a set for my brother who wanted a decent set to replace the cheap ones he had on his bike and so far no punctures, as opposed to him having half a dozen in the same amount of time on his old set.
Would recommend this product to anyone and have already to a couple of friends.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardH
from South Wales
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent tyre

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replaced the existing Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyres after Land's End to John O'Groats. With training and a previous trip to Geneva they had done 3.5K miles with only 1 puncture. That was courtesy of the dreaded hedge trimmers spraying the road with thorns.
Good price and quick service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazzat
from Australia
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You won't be disappointed

PostedJune 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
First time user of a road Tyre larger than a 23c. What a revelation very comfortable and yeah they are a little slower but I am not trying to win the TDF whilst commuting to work. So far they seem very puncture resistant & have excellent grip in the wet. Only had them on for about 1600 klm and no problems what so ever.
The service and pricing from Evans was first rate.
Only complaint is that there website can be frustratingly slow at times...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freyr
from london
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyres

PostedMay 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Have 2 pairs of these tyres on my bike, they're not he lightest tyres, but barely makes a difference to me though!
One thing I have to mention though is that they can be VERY tight.... making it difficult to fit, scratched my rims trying to lever it on! (Hence only 4 stars)
On the plus side, i haven't had any punctures.... well thats not compeltely true... i did get a snake bite puncture, but thats the the tyres fault, it was the fault of a pot hole and insufficient tyre pressure!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SprinterDiddy
from Durham
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal

PostedFebruary 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, zero punctures
I wanted to just get another version of the rear tyre that came with my bike when I bought it last summer. The original rear had a huge flat spot because I'd used it on the turbo quite a lot.
Instead of getting one new tyre and one turbo tyre, I just though I'd replace the old one and use that for just the turbo until it died.
I haven't had any problems at all, zero punctures in 2000 miles, and it's not too hard to take on and off the rim.
And it's a great tyre for racing too, even at that price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biker3uk
from herne bay kent
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good winter tyres

PostedDecember 12, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
well pleased with these, had them on for a month now, no punctures and have great confidence in them when cornering,roll pretty well and are silent
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
agravatted
from North East
Age:Under 18
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedOctober 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
i bought my son a road racing bike in june 2010 to get back & forth to college on an 18 mile round trip daily + athletics training etc approx 30 miles per day monday to friday since purchasing i had gone through 3 puncture repair outfits 4 new innertubes numerouse miles to collect him when he had a puncture etc etc (approx cost in time expense & pure frustration significant) i had to do something! i found the evans website by chance read some of the reviews on different tyres (the ones with kevlar etc) & decided the Bontrager seemed to fit the bill cost wise etc etc (if it did what it said it was going to do)
i didnt pay for quicker postage or any thing the product arrived in 3 days (excellent) took less than 2-3 mins to change old to new & that was it
The product does what its supposed to do my son has had them on for approx 4 weeks now doing the same milage per day 30 mon-fri Not 1 Puncture! for me Fantastic can just just get on with life (work etc) without interuption & saves money in the long term!!! i have just recomkmended this product to a friend who cycles to work daily & is plagued by punctures hope this review is helpfull
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hankki
from Finland
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice for sporty commuting

PostedSeptember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, suits to the application
Not fast but will make it in time. Not puncture proof but more often inflated than not. Not light but not fat either.
This a nice tire I would probably buy again for sporty commuting - it does not, in my opinion, particularly excel at anything but does many things well enough to be recommended for this purpose.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ClimberAl78
from Stevenage
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Good winter tyre

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I'm a strong club racer and do about 8000miles per year so i'm out what ever the weather. I was always getting punctures in the winter so went for these. The tread is very deep and grips well in the wet but they also roll quite well and i've even raced on these afew times as they are quite light weight. No matter what tyre you get you will still get punctures but these are significantly better than your average tyre so are worth the money. (Alan from Stevenage)
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bontrager Race Lite All Weather Plus Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
steevo
from Glasgow
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

What a difference!

PostedAugust 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I bought these tyres for a 16 mile daily commute and they have been excellent. Previous tyres gave me three punctures in the one week. I've now done over 500 miles trouble free.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.