Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Brakes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake

Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake

Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Review 1 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cat6Commuter

Great value for good brakes

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Was running some cheapo no-name v-brakes - worked OK but felt really spongy and did not give a reassuring feel when braking.
Switching to these made braking much more positive, and modulation is better. The springs on these v-brakes are much stronger than cheaper ones, leading to those improvements.
Great little upgrade, along with some Kool-Stop Salmon pads, I can stop on a dime.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bothered
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good brakes no cables

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The product itself is good quality and arrived in good time.
It does not include cables so whatever you read elsewhere they are not included.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Riccard0
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Easy to fit and good value

PostedSeptember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Got a front and rear set of these and they were a doddle to fit. They replaced the original (non branded) stock brakes on my bike and they have completely transformed the braking experience - stopping distances now so much better. They come with all the parts you need including the rubber boot that sits between the callipers. Definitely worth replacing the brake cable at the same time and don't forget to buy some cable ends (Evans supply both parts) to stop the wire fraying.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanielJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great Upgrade

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these as an upgrade to my trusty old Rockhopper and they are a great improvement at a good price. Easy to install with the linked brake levers and also to set up with brake cable retention screws easily accessible. Have used in dry and wet and work very well in both circumstances. From what I can see brake blocks also easy to change though yet to try that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
petew44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great looking powerfull brakes

PostedJuly 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
speedy delivery and great service from Evans as usual cant fault these brakes powerfull and excellent value everything you expect from shimano I would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cwe03
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great brakes ......

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, powerful
I replaced my original cantilever brakes with these and I am very pleased with them. Good quality, easy to fit - they even come with inner and outer cables. They do need V-brake levers, the Deore ones are excellent.
The stopping power is consistent in all weathers and can put you over the handlebars if you're not careful! Gentle squeeze - powerful response.
Excellent brakes and excellent buy. Very pleased.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
raru
uk
 
Please wait while more information about raru is loaded.
Additional information about raru could not be loaded.
inner and outer cables included?
Posted February 24, 2013
Is it true that brakes comes with outer and inner cables, are this included in the box or it is kind of shop promotion?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbo07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Got to be honest, have not really used the bike much since I replaced the part, but I can say its easy to fit. I asked if it would fit my model of bike and got an answer pretty quick which was nice. Also turned up quickly and is a competitive price...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ozzie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brake upgrade

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Comes packaged really well. Good instructions, but not really needed as easy to fit. The finish is very good. Easy to set up and adjust. Gives front wheel locking stopping power. Will be fitting to the rear as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chintz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great brakes for the price

PostedJune 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Highly recommended and very reasonable price. Very easy to fit and work perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jardines
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality brake

PostedApril 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent brake unit. Good quality as always from Shimano.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adamix
from London
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedOctober 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Quality brakes at an affordable price. Responsive and seem durable. For most, no need really to look for something more expensive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chalkmonkey
from Merseyside
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They make you stop

PostedOctober 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I found these very easy to fit and adjust. The braking performance is so much better than the OEMs they replaced. Must do the front ones soon...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
REBREB
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good v-brake

PostedMay 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
quality & cheap, easy to fit and has good stopping power. recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Deore M590 V-Brake
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gogs
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great quality and value.

PostedApril 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Going from a set of generic brakes to these the difference is fantastic. Very sensitive and just as efficient in the wet as the dry. Well constructed and easy to maintain. Exceptional quality for value.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.