Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur

Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur

Overall rating:
4.364 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 11(82%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gup40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job well.

Posted27 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Typical excellent Shimano Deore quality. Great price, great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peter123456789
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

RD SHIM DEORE M591 TOP SGS-BLK

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A great trade up from the basic, gears work great now
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
MikeD75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Not such a smooth derailleur

Posted27 April 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Poor quality
I commute about 18 miles daily, so wasn't after something fancy and this seemed about right. But the gear changes were fairly clunky from the start and after a few weeks it wouldn't even allow me to slip into the higher speeds. The mechanic who'd fitted it had also replaced the gear cable, and I've heard that this can stretch when it's new (creating some slippage) but I didn't expect to have so many problems with a piece of kit that was only a few weeks old.
Missing those higher gears might not have been due to the mechanism itself, but it didn't seem very slick to begin with, so I've now paid for a much higher spec (used) Sram derailleur for only a tenner more. Other people may have had a better experience, but the derailleur's clumsy feel put me off quite early on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Piersk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great for beginners

Posted22 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a beginner road cyclist I wanted something lightweight but fast. This fitted the bill perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
collie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Top quality compo0nent, top quality service!

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, silent efficient shifting
I arranged to have fitted a new Deore rear derailleur after a minor prang bent my previous , similar model.
One phone call to the Glasgow City Centre store to confirm if the model was in stock and I was able to secure a workshop spot the same day.
The technician fitted the part and reset the indexing of the 9 speed gear set perfectly, taking less than an hour. This saved myself from meddling with the indexing which I always find a chore and the 14 mile journey home on Cycle track 75 was a delight with silent and smooth shifting of the Deore on the back cassette.
Honestly , these guys just can't do enough for us old cyclists and always with a smile and so9me banter as well!
I would recommend genuine Shmano parts to all cyclists and Evans cycles is the place to find them in stock and have them fitted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikeleia
from london
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

does what it's meant to

Posted19 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Bought this rear derailleur to replace identical one damaged in a crash. Always been impressed with the deore, it's not hugely expensive but it's very reliable and can handle speedy riding and gear selection.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sgtlollo

Posted08 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
very smooth and reliable in every situation. highly recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
turwestoner

Good hard working piece of kit

Posted21 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
The Deore Rear Derailleur is a hard working solid bit of kit. Perhaps not the lightest but value for money and longevity is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
XXXXXX
from SOUTH WEST
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just the job

Posted09 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased as a replacement for an old budget Dreailleur fitted as OE. The M591 fitted without problem and after adjustment (and a new cable) it works great. Crisp action. Nice one.
Tip if you dont want to split the chain- remove the lower cog and loosed the upper cog - you can then thread the chain through.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dontusenickname
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Posted26 July 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: ok
Cons: just
it fitted ok and did what was expected but didn't do any more than that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore M591 Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
plywoodboys
from pontefract
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

a true piece of quality

Posted15 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
exellent quality at a good price works realy smooth just changed to this from an old shimano acera x let me tell you there is no comparison before i got this one i tried the Shimano Alivio M410 but found it was to cheaply put together and not up to the job look no further if you want a good quality put together rear mech
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.