Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Derailleurs & Mechs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur

Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur

Top normal return spring lends to incredibly intuitive operation when combined with Rapidfire shifters. Large 11 tooth pulleys are used for longer life. Two fluorine-coated link bushings for low-friction operation. 8- and 9-speed compatible. Compatible with 32-36T low sprocket. Average weight 286 grams.
Overall rating:
3.875 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
7 out of 8(88%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richie36
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Easy to set up and pretty robust. Little heavy.

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Easy install and set up. A little bit heavier than the top end products. Shadow technology seems to stop the chain rattling around - better than the older deore it replaces. Also nice not to have a big loop of cable to get snagged. In general should be able to just shorten the existing cable outer if not replacing whole run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Andrew76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good solid and smooth product

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good solid and smooth replacement for my original Deraileur, easy to fit, just as simple to adjust. Off riding within a half hour.
Exactly as described and great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rc8rider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

As good as my old XT.

PostedMarch 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Replaced an old xt rear mech with this item, purchased at Evans, Braehead, Glasgow. Reserved for me over the phone, along with a couple of other alternatives I'd asked to see... Great service, guys.
Works as well as the xt did (before it wore out). Precise shifting even when covered in Scottish winter mud and cack, and the shadow design looks the dogs bo##ocks.
If it lasts another winter, I'll consider it a total bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Linky
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very slick mech

PostedOctober 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It was quite easy to fit, though I would recommend having a thorough read of the instructions first. Compared to the old mech it is a little fussy in its construction but it appears to be with reason as its alot slicker at shifting. The way that the cable feeds into the mech is actually quite clever and allows you to have a far shorter cable and not have a big loop travelling into it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good new design

PostedSeptember 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
I didn't think this was especially good value but I do like the design. The main advantage is that the cable does not have to go through a 180 degree loop as it reaches the derailleur, the approach is almost striahght, reducung frictions and presumably lengthening the time between cable maintenance. On the down side it does not have a cable adjuster on it unlike the much cheaper Shimano Acera derailleur it replaced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikeerac
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Not For Snobs - Does The Job Very Well

PostedJune 10, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, it works!
Cons: Heavy, no snob value
I bought this when my XT siezed up, which replaced the XTR after a crash stopped the derailleur moving front to back. It was very easy to fit and set up, the advantage of 'shadow' tech meaning there is no gear cable loop to catch on anything. I would wholeheartedly recommend this product, although it doesn't have the snob value of it's bigger brothers, it changes gear every time, without problem as all properly set up shimano kit does. I will admit the XT and XTR are much lighter shifting and much less clunky but they are also incredibly expensive.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
twistedheaven
from Copenhagen
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just not good enough.

PostedMarch 17, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, noisy, slow
This came as standard on my Felt Q620. It was worn down very quickly, became slow and very noisy when shifting gears and has eventually snapped on me.
I've never really been happy with it and today made me lose faith completely, as well as killing my chain.
I cant stress how unhappy I am with this. I don't even ride hard, I use my bike for normal everyday commuting. Pathetic. The only upside is that it's cheap to replace but I'd rather get a superior product now.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore M592 Shadow Top Normal Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
onone
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice bit of kit at a reasonable price that functions very well. Very happy with the purchase.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.