Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chainsets & Cranks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed

Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed

Overall rating:
4.684 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(38 reviews) 38
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 38 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 38(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
60 Questions | 82 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Review 1 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
collie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Reliable as always

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced my well worn Deore crank set with this updated model. No shame to its predecessor as it had done 5000miles without a glitch but was getting tired so it was an easy choice to sele3ct a Shimano replacement.
Shimano make life so easy these days by including the Hollow Tech bottom bracket and spacers to make fitting the item easy peasy
Fifteen minutes for a rank amateur mechanic is good by my non exacting standards and the movement on the bearings was a smooth as you would wish.
A new chain and rear Mech concluded the updating and the improvement in the drive train was very obvious. I found myself cruising at a couple of miles faster than recently with the same effort, shifting and feedback from the pedals was much firmer and it just felt good again!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hilldancer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Shades of Triggers broom !!!

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
Needing a new chainset for my 50's steel framed tourer and no longer wanting big gears I elected to go for the M590 triple hollow tech chainset with a few worries about compatibility with my Regina 5 speed block and pre-indexed gear shifters.
I needn't have, it fitted easily with a bit of extra shimming on the BB as the shell had been recut a few times over the years and now was 66mm, this coupled with a SRAM 8 speed chain works well and has given a new lease of life to my old treader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jonh54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The chaninset was simple to fit although for someone with little mechanical knowledge the instructions were perhaps a little sparse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
parksey9898

excellent

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Brilliant value for money and extremely lightweight product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PureEnergy
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great product

PostedSeptember 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to install
Functions very well
Very smooth
Looks great
Very in expensive bottom bracket to replace if necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Addy61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its working well.

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very happy with this purchase and product.
Bought to replace the cranks on my Giant Anthem X4. Really easy to fit, job done in 1/2 hr. I've not fitted the new bottom bracket and will wait for my existing to develope some problems.
Cranks are working well so far, three +20mile XC runs, no slips, no problems and smooth shifting.
The only negative, the preload tool for the crank was not included. It only costs £2, but all the LBS were out of stock, I had to order one online and wait for delivery.....another weekend with no bilking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shme
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unbeatable quality at this price level!

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, easy install, easy maintaince
Purchased this crankset after busting my old 430 Alivio - Octalink one. The confindent feeling of stiffnes this crankset gives me at my 210lbs is amazing. Riding over bumps whilst standing on both feet feels so much more natural, seems like the whole bike frame is more responsive. Add to that the ease of installing and removing the crankset and the BB and I'm one happy rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yagil
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perhaps the best value Chainset available.

PostedJuly 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
My own bike has an SLX Crankset (http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/slx-fcm660-hollowtech-ii-triple-chainset-ec017006#BVRRWidgetID) and I had the chance to extensively test the Deore 590 chainset when I built a bike for a friend. I was impressed enough to buy another Deore for my wife's bike project.
The Deore is smooth-shifting, very durable and despite being almost the cheapest 9 speed chainset available (same goes for the 10-speed models) its performance is almost as good as my SLX and other cranks of double or triple price. Most of the points I've noted in my review of the SLX are the same for the M590: Stiff, strong, excellent shifting and durable.
There are two cons for this chainset, however. The one is that it uses a lower-grade bottom bracket. However, even so the BB holds up pretty well indeed, with no performance problems.
Second, the M590 is no lightweight. Including the BB, it weighs slightly more than 1000 grams, where the SLX is around 890.
But considering the price, those seem like small concessions. You'll be hard pressed to find a better chainset in this price area, and the additional 100 grams comparing to SLX are a reasonable trade-off for the much cheaper price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JonF76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Quality product at a reasonable price

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with this chain set. A good looking piece of kit. High quality product at a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spaceagent

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Would recommend anyone to buy these if they are looking for a good reliable budget chainset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AUSSIEKOPITE
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

WELL MANAFACTURED

PostedSeptember 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: missing chain gueard
FOR THE PRICE AND SERVICE I RECIVED I WAS WELL PLEASED
WILL DEFO HEAD BACK FOR ALL MY NEEDS NO MATTER HOW SMALL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Philipp
Style:Mountain Biking
It was bought:Online

Quality for the good price

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Is easy in installation,looks great,Quality for the good price, Quality Shimano!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheZeus
from Chile
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great first buy

PostedFebruary 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, tracking
Buy the product mainly for the price, and knew the quality and durability, excellent for midrange. The purchase was simple, a few steps without formalities over, I get no problems and excellent value, even if he had to cross half the world. Just need to follow the product. 100% recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MTBScott46
from United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Does the Business and Looks it too

PostedFebruary 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this as part of an upgrade on my bike, i opted for the black and after riding in all conditions for the past 2 months, it feels so much better than the stock Shimano my bike came with. I put this together with SLX shifters, the Shimano HG61cassette, HG93 chain and front shadow and rear XT Derailleurs and the whole system feels silky smooth and looks great too. The only down side is the black paint on the crank arms has started to wear already.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dani960
from israel
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best for the price

PostedDecember 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
best for the price. i put it on my merida and i gotta say there is a big difference. its strong, light, smooth and easy to install the instruction were a bit difficult but i got it.
recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dfargone
from Barcelona
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Decent chainset at sensible price

PostedDecember 7, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this as it was cheaper to do so than replace the rings on my old Deore square taper chainset. It's the usual blend of Shimano quality, durability and value, so if you're not interested in blowing silly money on a chainset, this is a good option.
NOTE: Sketchy Product Description fails to mention it comes with Hollowtech II Bottom Bracket included - which would have saved me 20 quid as I ordered one separately thinking I'd need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loyda
from Malta
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value Cranck

PostedDecember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These crancks rock if you're a trasher or just a sunday rider these are great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FabioSdVic
from Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent quality - relatively low price

PostedDecember 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Very robust and excellent quality with relatively low price compared to SLX. Weight also comparable to SLX. Very nice paint color, it is indicated as black however it has a metallic bright dark gray color.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Notorious
from Norwich
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Super smooth

PostedNovember 16, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, very smooth action
I replaced an old internal shimano bottom bracket with this one. The difference is astonishing and made me wish I'd upgraded years ago. The chainrings and cranks are pretty much the same as the old ones so I know they'll last. The hollowtech bottom bracket is easy to fit and runs like a dream.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grumps
from Central Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit and good all in price

PostedAugust 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: none really
This is the second M590 I've fitted to my giant xtc, the origianal ISIS crank was ok., but replacement became a limited choice. Switching to the Shimano crank was very straight forward, although you do need a special tool to fit and remove the BB. This crank also comes complete with the BB so there is little mucking about matching parts. Good replacement and value.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>