Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chainsets & Cranks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed

Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed

Overall rating:
4.698 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
30
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
43 out of 43Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
63 Questions | 89 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Review 1 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:India
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money chainset

Posted19 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great choice to replace my worn out Shimano Alivio FC-M431 chainset which had the obsolete Octalink BB on Trek 7.5 FXD 2011. This one is lighter, and smoother and comes with a Hollowtech II BB. Quite easy to replace but need to fit the spacers and BB properly. Pedaling and shifting now butter smooth and crisp. Also replaced pedals to Shimano Saint MX80, chain Shimano HG53 and cassette SRAM PG950.
Thanks a lot to Evans for their great click n collect and price match service !
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Continued high level performance at a great price

Posted05 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, good lifetime
This is a review of a previously purchased chainset as I run this on a couple of bikes and continue to buy rather than "upgrade " to XT or beyond.
The Deore continues to offer the best combination of value for money, lifetime and performance compared to the competition. Weight really isn't an issue unless you're really obsessive and the pick up is no less smooth than xt IMHO. I'm still amazed at how you can get a new chainset and bottom bracket for the price of a decent middle ring alone .
More than happy to recommend and I'm sure I'm not alone when going back time after time for this level of chainset at this price point.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Good value

Posted29 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: instructions were useless
Good value item, strong, easy to fit but if you are a novice ignore the diagram instructions as they are useless, if you need guidance fitting try Youtube or let EVANS so it for you. No flex in the arms like the original had, all seems very sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Edinburgh

Perfect

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
East to fit and looks great on my bike, Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well built and no more tapered BB!

Posted27 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Got this to upgrade from a tapered BB crank. Can't vouch for the "stiffness" that people go on about all the time, TBH I can't tell. But so far I haven't had to keep retightening up the crank or BB and no more annoying creaks every time I push on the pedals.
I swapped out the chainwheels for a single up front so I can't comment about the quality of the chainrings or shifting.
Overall a good buy. Came with a Hollowtech BB, so that was £15 or so saved!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Reliable as always

Posted27 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I replaced my well worn Deore crank set with this updated model. No shame to its predecessor as it had done 5000miles without a glitch but was getting tired so it was an easy choice to sele3ct a Shimano replacement.
Shimano make life so easy these days by including the Hollow Tech bottom bracket and spacers to make fitting the item easy peasy
Fifteen minutes for a rank amateur mechanic is good by my non exacting standards and the movement on the bearings was a smooth as you would wish.
A new chain and rear Mech concluded the updating and the improvement in the drive train was very obvious. I found myself cruising at a couple of miles faster than recently with the same effort, shifting and feedback from the pedals was much firmer and it just felt good again!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Shades of Triggers broom !!!

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to fit
Needing a new chainset for my 50's steel framed tourer and no longer wanting big gears I elected to go for the M590 triple hollow tech chainset with a few worries about compatibility with my Regina 5 speed block and pre-indexed gear shifters.
I needn't have, it fitted easily with a bit of extra shimming on the BB as the shell had been recut a few times over the years and now was 66mm, this coupled with a SRAM 8 speed chain works well and has given a new lease of life to my old treader.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The chaninset was simple to fit although for someone with little mechanical knowledge the instructions were perhaps a little sparse.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

excellent

Posted15 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Brilliant value for money and extremely lightweight product
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Canada
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great product

Posted15 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to install
Functions very well
Very smooth
Looks great
Very in expensive bottom bracket to replace if necessary.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its working well.

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very happy with this purchase and product.
Bought to replace the cranks on my Giant Anthem X4. Really easy to fit, job done in 1/2 hr. I've not fitted the new bottom bracket and will wait for my existing to develope some problems.
Cranks are working well so far, three +20mile XC runs, no slips, no problems and smooth shifting.
The only negative, the preload tool for the crank was not included. It only costs £2, but all the LBS were out of stock, I had to order one online and wait for delivery.....another weekend with no bilking!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Unbeatable quality at this price level!

Posted18 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, easy install, easy maintaince
Purchased this crankset after busting my old 430 Alivio - Octalink one. The confindent feeling of stiffnes this crankset gives me at my 210lbs is amazing. Riding over bumps whilst standing on both feet feels so much more natural, seems like the whole bike frame is more responsive. Add to that the ease of installing and removing the crankset and the BB and I'm one happy rider.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perhaps the best value Chainset available.

Posted02 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
My own bike has an SLX Crankset (http://www.evanscycles.com/products/shimano/slx-fcm660-hollowtech-ii-triple-chainset-ec017006#BVRRWidgetID) and I had the chance to extensively test the Deore 590 chainset when I built a bike for a friend. I was impressed enough to buy another Deore for my wife's bike project.
The Deore is smooth-shifting, very durable and despite being almost the cheapest 9 speed chainset available (same goes for the 10-speed models) its performance is almost as good as my SLX and other cranks of double or triple price. Most of the points I've noted in my review of the SLX are the same for the M590: Stiff, strong, excellent shifting and durable.
There are two cons for this chainset, however. The one is that it uses a lower-grade bottom bracket. However, even so the BB holds up pretty well indeed, with no performance problems.
Second, the M590 is no lightweight. Including the BB, it weighs slightly more than 1000 grams, where the SLX is around 890.
But considering the price, those seem like small concessions. You'll be hard pressed to find a better chainset in this price area, and the additional 100 grams comparing to SLX are a reasonable trade-off for the much cheaper price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Quality product at a reasonable price

Posted23 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with this chain set. A good looking piece of kit. High quality product at a reasonable price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Posted25 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Would recommend anyone to buy these if they are looking for a good reliable budget chainset
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

WELL MANAFACTURED

Posted12 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: missing chain gueard
FOR THE PRICE AND SERVICE I RECIVED I WAS WELL PLEASED
WILL DEFO HEAD BACK FOR ALL MY NEEDS NO MATTER HOW SMALL
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Style:Mountain Biking
It was bought:Online

Quality for the good price

Posted10 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Is easy in installation,looks great,Quality for the good price, Quality Shimano!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Chile
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A great first buy

Posted08 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, tracking
Buy the product mainly for the price, and knew the quality and durability, excellent for midrange. The purchase was simple, a few steps without formalities over, I get no problems and excellent value, even if he had to cross half the world. Just need to follow the product. 100% recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Does the Business and Looks it too

Posted04 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this as part of an upgrade on my bike, i opted for the black and after riding in all conditions for the past 2 months, it feels so much better than the stock Shimano my bike came with. I put this together with SLX shifters, the Shimano HG61cassette, HG93 chain and front shadow and rear XT Derailleurs and the whole system feels silky smooth and looks great too. The only down side is the black paint on the crank arms has started to wear already.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M590 Deore 2 Piece Design Chainset 9-speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from israel
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

best for the price

Posted10 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
best for the price. i put it on my merida and i gotta say there is a big difference. its strong, light, smooth and easy to install the instruction were a bit difficult but i got it.
recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>