Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cassettes & Freewheels or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette

Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.769 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nifty05
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good service as usual

PostedSeptember 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cassette arrived on time and as ordered. Great service as usual.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rvlooy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Shimano HG61

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I got this to replace an 11/25 cassette on a Shimano Tiagra triple set up to help me up the hills. As you would expect from Shimano, a good quality product at a reasonable price. Fitted a new chain at the same time and the result is very quiet and smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bobnm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job and does it well.

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This obviously isn't the most expensive cassette but for the price it is really good and works well. it shifts smoothly and after doing a total of 118 muddy miles at trail centers in one week hasn't shown any sign of ware.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Rear cassette

PostedMarch 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cassette seems robust- like it will take a bit of stick. Feels assured as I go through the gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlF88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Drive and performance

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Regained the grip and smooth, swift change that bike once had.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mechanised
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

No fuss cassette

PostedMay 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Bought this as I wanted a 36t with 9 speed and thought I could swap out the 12t for an 11t from my SLX cassette. This worked perfectly and for just a few grams more I have a very usable 1x9 setup!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Systolsys
from Sydney
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It's a cassette. Woohoo.

PostedFebruary 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this to replace a worn CS-HG50. It's a great, solid cassette. Whether the extra money justifies the 50gm weight saving (6 holes bored out of the spider of the largest sprocket) is debatable.Still, It does the job well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DavidMTB
from Leeds
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just what I was looking for

PostedOctober 31, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, compatable
I have an 11-year old mountain bike and was looking to replace a worn cassette with with one of the same spec to retain the original all-Shimano spec of the bike and compatability with other components, so I was pleased not only to find this cassette but also that it was cheaper than expected. I have now fitted with a new chain and chainrings and am very pleased with its performance.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluerichblue
from israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

excellent piece of kit

PostedOctober 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, smooth
I bought this to replace a worn SRAM PG950 cassette along with an HG53 chain to replace a KMC Z9 chain. My immediate reaction was wow, what a difference ! The rest of my bike was standard with Deore and SLX and it was ok to start but the shifting performance deteriorated very quickly, considering i only rode about 2/3 times a week for the last year and only 2/3 hours a time and both the old cassette and chain were already worm !! I read a bunch of reviews and saw mixed comments, both brands alot like marmite, love or hate and that is all i gained from those reviews !! I decided to go with instinct and previous experience with complete shimano drive-train and have so far been astounded at the smoothness of shifts and the chain never skips, like with the old cassette and chain combination !! My conclusion is and my honest opinion is, SRAM cassettes wear fast and so did my KMC chain and when coupled with the cassette made a bad comination !! Stick with a complete drive-train of either one or the other not a mix of components and the result is very apparent, even if the Shimano HG chain is only fractionally narrower, it does make a difference !!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Exeter, Devon
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

HG61 Shimano Cassette

PostedJuly 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought this as an upgrade to my HG50 which came as standard on my Specialised Stumpjumper, Ive heard its hard wearing which is the main thing. Cheap as well from this Evans site.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blandings
from Derbyshire
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent value

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good quality cassette, does the job well and is excellent value for money. Smooth crisp gear changes and simple to fit (if you've got the cassette tool). Unless you're worried about the odd gram here and there why pay more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoneRider
from Consett, Durham, UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

PostedApril 9, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This is for 9 speed bikes. i bought one going off the photo, which shows 8 speed.
Which is a pity as it is light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Deore HG61 9 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeremy
from Near Aylesbury
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Shimano Deore 11-28 cassette

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I wanted a higher top speed, and help getting up the steeper hills, and this cassette has been perfect. Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.