Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre

Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre

Overall rating:
4.588 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Review 1 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OxMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rubber!

Posted23 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Good tyre, nice and fast rolling, predictable on loose terrain and grippy.
Used so far on steep, chalky, rooty DH and loose dusty XC trails on a 6-inch travel trail bike paired with a Maxxis Ardent up front.
Good combo for technical riding in dry conditions, and OK when the trail starts to get wet too.
Speedy delivery and great service as usual!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndyH44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

The tyre is great value for money. Easy to fit.

Posted14 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
My first experience of a folding tyre and I was impressed. Fitting is no more difficult than with a regular tyre, although you do need to adapt your technique.
On the road the tight central tread block really does help lower rolling resistance. As you would expect from a respected brand, on loose stuff the chunky tread pattern gives good grip, at least for a weekend scratcher like me!
They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pugas

Good as a rear tyre

Posted23 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good roll
Cons: weak grip in corners
Using this tyre 1 year now and so far so good. Used as front tyre and noticed that not really working on dry gravel when cornering. Looses grip way faster in these conditions comparing to my old The Captain. But as a rear tyre - 10/10.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
misslaney
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

Lightweight tyre

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I bought these tyres as a nice lightweight tyre for XC riding that will still give me good grip when heading down over rocks, roots and tight corners.
As they're so light with little rolling resistance, climbing is easy and there's enough grip to keep you confident when the trail heads down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FergieBoy
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks can be decieving

Posted23 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This tyre is very grippy, despite its looks and really fast rolling. Grip in the corners never lets up and there is loads of traction for climbing even slippy slabs. I use it on the rear wheel and unless its proper muddy then you dont need anything else. Only con is that if you run less than 25 psi it tends to pinch flat on rockier stuff but then what do you expect with a lightweight folding tyre? Just pump a little more psi in when your hitting that black run and your good to go
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
oculogyral
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tyre!

Posted24 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Using this on the rear where it is giving great grip with a low rolling resistance. Not been out in the mud yet so not sure how well it will cope with that, it is eating up the hardpack/ loose gravel tho!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

What's black & sticky?

Posted23 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The Maxxis Cross+Mark ARE probably THE best tyres I have used for fast paced xCountry riding, from the rain we had to the blazing dry... These tyres are what you can define as "confidence boosters". Fast into berms & even quicker out!!! 5stars & they even go to number 11 in the respect scale. BUY THEM!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
onone456ripper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The ultimate trail centre choice?! Great price

Posted27 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The Maxxis Cross Mark is a great tyre choice for dry conditions . It rolls super fast and has enough grip for almost every thing i've tackled with it. At this price, whats not to like!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sprout99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Nice tyre ...nice price

Posted23 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was a little dubious about going for a wider tyre due to added weight and rolling resistance,
This tyre has a nearly solid centre band and are very quick
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Giddy
from UK
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

If you want a fast tyre this is the one

Posted07 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, fast
I like the High Volume yet light weight. Folding carcases are perfect for xc, ive ridden them in very rocky peak district scenes without fault, they even go tubeless without the need for tubeless specific. These Crossmarks work best on the rear i find, mount them the wrong direction and they grip in anything but the stickiest of conditions, as a front requires a little less pressure in them and they can be sketchy on faster loose stones, though you can cheat a bit and snip off the small knobbles in the centre to get a bit more purchase on the larger centre knobbles. Shall buy again
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PeteG
from Edinburgh
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast!

Posted25 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was using a maxxis advantage on the rear but wanted a faster tyre for trail centres. I used it for the first time at glentress and it felt noticably faster. It was wet but I still had plenty of traction. Good trail centre or dry summer tyre. Good value at the discounted price from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
2912Cookie
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good fast tyre which holds on well in the corners. Fast enough for the commute and enough grip in all but the worst mud
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Subone
from Dorset
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Tyre at this price

Posted11 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted an affordable and reliable tyre and the Maxxis fitted the bill perfectly.
Runs well on the road and seems to be be pretty good off-road too, haven't used it in extreme conditions so i'm not sure how it will handle lots of mud but so far i'm happy and would recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skidders
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Maxxis Crossmark 2.35 Kevlar

Posted02 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: dry to medium conditions specific
I've generally used Maxxis tyres (Advantage (general all rounder) Ardent (slightly less grip but faster) and swampthing (winter)) and wanted a cheap good dry / trail centre tyre.
Got this due to bargain discount and I'm not disappointed and wouldnt be at full price either.
Its best in the dry or rocky condiitons but soft loam and a bit of mud is not a big issue. It is not an alrounder, try Advantage for that as they are ace!
Its very fast and great if you mix off road with road in between as I do.
I'm running it on the back (Ardent on front)but have mates who state its equally good on the front.
I'm also going Stans tubeless which was easy due to good fit.
The 2.25 comes up a good size, close to stated, so offer hardtails extra comfort.
Its a reasonable weight.
Wear seems on a par with other Maxxis i.e. reasonable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikerjim
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Plenty of grip

Posted19 August 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This tyre has plenty of grip for all occassions and I would reccommend for off-road biking. Good choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tuffty
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Just the job!

Posted02 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Wanted a higher volume tyre for my hardtail and this fits the bill perfectly. Great on rocks, roots and sheds mud pretty well too.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Maxxis Cross Mark Folding Tyre
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
theengineer
from Basingstoke
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Impressive Crossmark 62A

Posted19 October 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted to the rear of my Commencal and just had its first outing at Coed - y-brenin and Penmachno. 35-40psi no pinch flats ; good traction over the rocks when grinding away and provided good braking traction as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.