Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Bottom Brackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Overall rating:
4.647 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
30 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Review 1 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect replacement for an old BB51 model

Posted01 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I purchased this as a replacement for a Shimano BB51 bracket. The product comes with three spacer rings that allow for the 68 mm and 73 mm width change. It screwed into the frame just fine, much easier than getting the old one out!
So far it's done 150-200 miles without any issues but it's still early days...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Good

Posted28 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
This product seems great so far, been using it for 2 weeks with no problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Excellent performance and price

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted by Evans Chiswick by the superb Jose. Excellent product at a good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Simple to install, great price, so much smoother than old bearings
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great, for the price.

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: longevity may be an issue for some
Can't grumble at these at all for value, I replace one a year having done a couple of thousand on and off road miles on it. I might get better longevity from a Hope or Chris King BB but at this price for a good product there really is little incentive to upgrade...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great bit of kit

Posted12 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what it says on the tin. Lasts far in excess of the basic deore BB. At the current low prices it makes purchasing this BB a no brainer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Things can be as simple as a bb!

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, durable
Bottom brackets don't usually hold up that long with hearty riding. But shimano have come to the rescue and built something durable and cheap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good Product But More Information Needed to Order

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The actual product itself is fine. However I had to return it because I didn't realise that there is a difference in the bore size/shaft size of this type of bottom bracket/crankshaft, I thought they were all standard.
To my mind the key dimensions of a product should be included in the description to enable the purchaser to make an informed (and hopefully correct) decision.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Return to smooth pedalling

Posted19 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, smooth
My old bottom bracket was cream crackered, so I bought this, fitted it and now enjoy smoothness again.
A word of warning though. You will require a bottom bracket removing tool (and maybe a long handled 8mm Allen key) and some patience.
I spent all morning wondering why the new one wasn't fitting together like it should, when I spied the outer dust cap from the old BB was stuck on the crankshaft. Removal of the errant plastic guard made everything better.
Also, keep the BB spacers and note which ones came from which side. This will speed things up when you put the new BB in.
That's enough from me, happy BB replacing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Good product for the money

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really easy to change, my bike now is as smooth as new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great value, Smooth running and easy to fit

Posted10 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed a new bottom bracket - something not too pricey and which would be easy to install myself. This was a recommendation from the store, and it does everything I need it to.
It was well packaged, easy to install, and runs nice a smoothly. Can't fault it for the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so far so good

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
so far so good - been out on a few wet muddy rides and its holding up fine, good price, smooth action. what more doyou want ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good value!! - price match promise saved me over £5 on the on-line price.
Does the job. Easy to fit.
I hope I win the £250 Evans vouchers for submitting this....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money BB

Posted09 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the tin (well, box).
Good price, isn't going to last more than a winter but that's fine for £20.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, light smooth running BB

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to fit
Previous BB has started to wear so popped into Evans in Penrith to get a replacement. Bagged a XT version for £20 in the sale along with the fitting tool. Fitted in 15 minutes and caused no isses when blasting around the South Loop of Whinlatter trail centre the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple installation

Posted29 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After looking online into how easy it would be to repair / fit a new bottom bracket I decided to order this and give it a go.
As long as you have the required tools then it's not difficult at all ..
The quality of shimano parts keeps me coming back for more.
Keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, well made and spacers included

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light weight unit, well made components, smooth running, sealed bearings with all of the required spacers and fittings. Instructions are easy to follow and the item comes in manufacturers packaging. Very pleased and would recommend this item to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Iceland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice BB, very good value

Posted21 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
If you're looking for a good bang for the buck product, this will fit the bill. Great BB for a very nice price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimonoseki quality bargain price

Posted11 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Confidence in the quality of Shimano at a great price and easy to fit , quick delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent smooth running

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product easy to fit, long lasting. Other one went after 5 years of hard use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>