Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Review 1 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaveTC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Things can be as simple as a bb!

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, durable
Bottom brackets don't usually hold up that long with hearty riding. But shimano have come to the rescue and built something durable and cheap!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tykebike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good Product But More Information Needed to Order

Posted02 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The actual product itself is fine. However I had to return it because I didn't realise that there is a difference in the bore size/shaft size of this type of bottom bracket/crankshaft, I thought they were all standard.
To my mind the key dimensions of a product should be included in the description to enable the purchaser to make an informed (and hopefully correct) decision.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Houlie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Return to smooth pedalling

Posted19 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, smooth
My old bottom bracket was cream crackered, so I bought this, fitted it and now enjoy smoothness again.
A word of warning though. You will require a bottom bracket removing tool (and maybe a long handled 8mm Allen key) and some patience.
I spent all morning wondering why the new one wasn't fitting together like it should, when I spied the outer dust cap from the old BB was stuck on the crankshaft. Removal of the errant plastic guard made everything better.
Also, keep the BB spacers and note which ones came from which side. This will speed things up when you put the new BB in.
That's enough from me, happy BB replacing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FranSpain
Country:United Kingdom

Good product for the money

Posted05 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really easy to change, my bike now is as smooth as new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrTall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great value, Smooth running and easy to fit

Posted10 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed a new bottom bracket - something not too pricey and which would be easy to install myself. This was a recommendation from the store, and it does everything I need it to.
It was well packaged, easy to install, and runs nice a smoothly. Can't fault it for the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cobes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so far so good

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
so far so good - been out on a few wet muddy rides and its holding up fine, good price, smooth action. what more doyou want ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dogface
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good value!! - price match promise saved me over £5 on the on-line price.
Does the job. Easy to fit.
I hope I win the £250 Evans vouchers for submitting this....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tony64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money BB

Posted09 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the tin (well, box).
Good price, isn't going to last more than a winter but that's fine for £20.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy41Essex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, light smooth running BB

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to fit
Previous BB has started to wear so popped into Evans in Penrith to get a replacement. Bagged a XT version for £20 in the sale along with the fitting tool. Fitted in 15 minutes and caused no isses when blasting around the South Loop of Whinlatter trail centre the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kongoken
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple installation

Posted29 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After looking online into how easy it would be to repair / fit a new bottom bracket I decided to order this and give it a go.
As long as you have the required tools then it's not difficult at all ..
The quality of shimano parts keeps me coming back for more.
Keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bodmin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, well made and spacers included

Posted28 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light weight unit, well made components, smooth running, sealed bearings with all of the required spacers and fittings. Instructions are easy to follow and the item comes in manufacturers packaging. Very pleased and would recommend this item to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrcyclist
Country:Iceland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice BB, very good value

Posted21 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
If you're looking for a good bang for the buck product, this will fit the bill. Great BB for a very nice price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karl64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimonoseki quality bargain price

Posted11 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Confidence in the quality of Shimano at a great price and easy to fit , quick delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pierat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent smooth running

Posted26 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product easy to fit, long lasting. Other one went after 5 years of hard use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wollypops
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

Posted25 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
XT bottom bracket current one has lasted twelve months still smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sickman
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality BB for the regular to non-pro rider

Posted15 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works well at a good price and weight. What more can you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spiller22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock Solid

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rock solid bottom bracket, changing from a Hope one as I wasnt that impressed, for the price I think the Shimano SLX BB is the best option, I get 12-24 months use out of them and they are cheaper than a set of replacement bearings for others BB's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shackleton
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit and feels solid

Posted18 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this to replace an identical one that seized on one of the bearings, (although that was probably down to me jet-washing it!), the new one feels nice and robust and was easy to install, once i had the right spanner.
In use it feels smooth and has no play in the bearings.
Overall it is great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moncontour
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value replacement BB

Posted10 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this BB to replace a Shimano Deore BB , the non drive side cup for which had locked solid. I had expected the seals to be good enough to prevent water ingress, and therefore the bearing locking up like this. Hopefully this new BB will not suffer a similar fate.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mamil92978

It is a Hollowtech II BB - duh!

Posted16 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Predicatably good quality and easy to fit. Replaces old one that did around 4000 miles, some on salted roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>