Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set

Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
25 Questions | 28 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Review 1 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrTall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great value, Smooth running and easy to fit

PostedApril 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Needed a new bottom bracket - something not too pricey and which would be easy to install myself. This was a recommendation from the store, and it does everything I need it to.
It was well packaged, easy to install, and runs nice a smoothly. Can't fault it for the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cobes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

so far so good

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
so far so good - been out on a few wet muddy rides and its holding up fine, good price, smooth action. what more doyou want ?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dogface
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very good value!! - price match promise saved me over £5 on the on-line price.
Does the job. Easy to fit.
I hope I win the £250 Evans vouchers for submitting this....
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tony64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for money BB

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says on the tin (well, box).
Good price, isn't going to last more than a winter but that's fine for £20.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andy41Essex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit, light smooth running BB

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, easy to fit
Previous BB has started to wear so popped into Evans in Penrith to get a replacement. Bagged a XT version for £20 in the sale along with the fitting tool. Fitted in 15 minutes and caused no isses when blasting around the South Loop of Whinlatter trail centre the next day.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kongoken
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple installation

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
After looking online into how easy it would be to repair / fit a new bottom bracket I decided to order this and give it a go.
As long as you have the required tools then it's not difficult at all ..
The quality of shimano parts keeps me coming back for more.
Keep up the good work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bodmin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, well made and spacers included

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Light weight unit, well made components, smooth running, sealed bearings with all of the required spacers and fittings. Instructions are easy to follow and the item comes in manufacturers packaging. Very pleased and would recommend this item to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mrcyclist
Country:Iceland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice BB, very good value

PostedJune 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
If you're looking for a good bang for the buck product, this will fit the bill. Great BB for a very nice price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Karl64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimonoseki quality bargain price

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Confidence in the quality of Shimano at a great price and easy to fit , quick delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pierat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent smooth running

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product easy to fit, long lasting. Other one went after 5 years of hard use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wollypops
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

PostedJanuary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
XT bottom bracket current one has lasted twelve months still smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sickman
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality BB for the regular to non-pro rider

PostedJanuary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Works well at a good price and weight. What more can you ask for?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spiller22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock Solid

PostedDecember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rock solid bottom bracket, changing from a Hope one as I wasnt that impressed, for the price I think the Shimano SLX BB is the best option, I get 12-24 months use out of them and they are cheaper than a set of replacement bearings for others BB's.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shackleton
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy to fit and feels solid

PostedSeptember 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this to replace an identical one that seized on one of the bearings, (although that was probably down to me jet-washing it!), the new one feels nice and robust and was easy to install, once i had the right spanner.
In use it feels smooth and has no play in the bearings.
Overall it is great value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Moncontour
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value replacement BB

PostedAugust 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought this BB to replace a Shimano Deore BB , the non drive side cup for which had locked solid. I had expected the seals to be good enough to prevent water ingress, and therefore the bearing locking up like this. Hopefully this new BB will not suffer a similar fate.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mamil92978

It is a Hollowtech II BB - duh!

PostedJuly 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Predicatably good quality and easy to fit. Replaces old one that did around 4000 miles, some on salted roads.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PorkchopGB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Upgrade Option

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I chose this bottom bracket as mine had seized up after only 4 months use. This was indicated as an upgrade to the unit I had on the bike and decided to try it. The installation was easy and the documentation with the product were extremely easy to follow.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yagil
Country:Israel
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap, reliable, Smooth.

PostedApril 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The BB-70B is truly an excellent product. On my bike it's now holding two years, several thousand miles and no problems at all. Easy to install, very resistant to dirt, and cheap. I guess some racers could find better performance with ultra-expensive ceramic BB, but for all the rest the bearings are plenty smooth.
(of course, it comes in boring black only, no nice anodized colors. But i'm not paying extra for that!)
Weight is 100g on my scales - about the same as all other external BB's. Also, despite Shimano claiming the bearings should not be opened, it's very easy to remove the seals and clean the bearings (I did it last month - no real need, but just as a precaution). The price, of course, is unbeatable. Truly a fit-and-forget part, and I recon that with a yearly do-it-yourself 10-minute service it would last quite a long time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bounty
from Malta
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

PostedDecember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I do recommend this product as I did 22,000 km with the last XT bottom bracket I had on my MTB.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano BB-70B XT M770 / SLX M660 HollowTech II Bottom Bracket Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
davehar166
from wigan
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

top bb

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
this thing is great and is cheap too. after 3000 miles mine is still running smooth as though it was new. and its taken a beating most of its life! would deffinatly recommend this to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>