Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Map Holders or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Zefal Doomap Map Holder

Zefal Doomap Map Holder

Overall rating:
3.8 / 5
3.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Review 1 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mcg77
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist

Easy to use and read through

PostedAugust 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: takes up space
A simple product that allows you to ride and read your map with ease. Fits on the handlebars with no fuss. Only drawback is the amount of space it takes up, leaving you only the hoods and drops to hold onto the bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
shredhead

Fiddly to change map

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this to put a map in while riding the South Downs Way over 3 days. The map is an AZ Adventure booklet that fits side on into the holder. Its a really tight fit and the plastic cover has started to tear as I've had to get my hand into the holder to shove it in. Having said that, the holder is easy to fit onto the handlebars and stem and stayed secure throughout the trip.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
baylorcmh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Didn't last long

PostedMay 1, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: functional
Cons: Poor quality
I used this on a bike trip from Norwich to Chelmsford over a long weekend. After a single weekend one of the velcro anchor straps detached from the plastic sleeve and the bottom of the map holder (which folds) had split. This was all the more unfortunate as it was raining on one day and my maps got a bit wet.
The problem is that the plastic is far too stiff which makes it difficult to unravel and damages the map when taking it in and out. The anchor issue is the most disappointing. Unfortunately there aren't many options.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FatManOnABike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: gets in the way of cycle computer
I used this to cycle from Lands End to John O Groats in September 2012 and from Calais to the Mediterranean in May 2013. It stood up to rain, sleet, snow, and gales, as well as baking sunshine. The maps kept dry, the case kept secure (no flapping around at all), and it's as good now as it was when I first bought it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Essebo
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it is intended to do

PostedJuly 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: difficult to use bicycle computor on handlebar
Easy to use, not possible to rotate but what can you expect for the price...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bob33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very handy. Does the job.

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Sturdy map case. Easy to attach to bike. Just the right place to read easily with minimal stopping needed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hickers
from Hayling Island
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to use

PostedAugust 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Simple to set up and easy to use. Does exactly what I need it to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SunDial
from Mid Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good but....

PostedJune 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: doesn't work with a full map, poorly finished
I used this for the first time on the Solent Coasts Cycling Challenge ( www.solentchallenge.org.uk ). This is a self navigating on and off road event over 66 miles.
The velcro is not up to holding the case folded with a map inside. With just a few pieces of paper it worked fine and fitted the handlebars well. Over a fairly damp and dirty day it held up well and kept the paperwork dry.
The finishing quality was a little poor and I had to reattach one of the velcro pads which came off while I was loading the map.
All in all a serviceable piece of kit which could easily have been made a little better. Probably reasonable at the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wannabee
from Northumberland
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Zefal Doomap Map holder

PostedJanuary 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
a little tricky getting an odinance survey map in the holder but gteat - much better than GPS!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spikyhedgehog
from berkshire
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Never have to scrabble in your pocket again!

PostedOctober 15, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to fit
Cons: fiddly getting maps in
I used this on a 60 mile trip with friends on mountain bikes. It fitted well to the handlebars and stayed in position well. Easy to get on and off too. It is so handy not having to stop and get a scrunched map out of a pocket to see where you are! Only small gripe is that its quite hard getting the maps in and out but once they there are there this is great.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Waldo
from South coast
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Zefal Doomap

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to use and value for the price. Yes there are better on the market but they also cost more. It performed well in a rain soaked adventure race
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
leeroy300555
from lincoln
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

zefal doomap holder

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
absolutely perfect bit of kit. Easy to fit and use would recommend to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
GeorgeW
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

No space for a OS map

PostedJune 2, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
If you want to explore to countryside using an OS explorer map then this map holder is NOT for you. From the dimensions you would think it could hold an OS map, but there is simply not enough room to account for the bulk of a folded map. I tried, gave up and brought map holder designed for hiking and tied it to the handle bars. Worked much better.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steven
from Wiltshire
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great, cycling adapted map case

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
It can be mounted onto the bike handlebars by using it's three Velcro straps, one on the left side of the handlebar, one on the right and the third on the stem. Saying that though it does take up all the room so there is no room left for a front light, bell or speedometer. Good piece of kit though.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Zefal Doomap Map Holder
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bellandbottle
from Reading
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Doomap Map Holder

PostedJune 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
When fully loaded with maps, it works well. Loading the maps is a little tough and can be frustrating when moving to the next map when on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.