Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light

Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light

Encased in a tough CNC machined casing and fully waterproof.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Review 1 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
from Milton Keynes
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I have been a happy owner of a Joystick front light for two years now. Therefore, when my old back light finally died, the RedEye was a logical choice.
Like the Joystick, it is an high quality piece of kit, beautifully made, and very bright.
Two minor criticism, which are probably more to do with the smart-port on the Joystick:
1. The red-eye does not automatically dim as the battery runs down, so the last bit of battery life does not last very long if you forget to charge and keep the red-eye plugged in.
2. The process for switching on the RedEye plus Joystick seems unnecessarily convoluted to me. That's the problem with only having one button. Once you have done it a few time, however, it becomes automatic.
They may have improved the port on more recent red-eyes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent rear light for joystick

PostedNovember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is an excellent rear light for a helmet mounted joystick. It works well and is right and makes you visible from behind as well as in front. Very simple to use and clips on tightly to the light. Perhaps a bit expensive though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
themightbuda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Pricey, bright with some areas for improvement

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, bright
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, no bike mount
Let me start by saying that I do like this light, however it was expensive (well from what I am used to paying!) and from expensive things I expect more options.
The light, it clips to your helmet. That's it. Which is great but It is heavy and you can feel the weight on your head.
It is incredibly bright. I can see things I never thought existed. When the light is set to pulse mode it actually feels like it sucks the light out of the world and FIRES it back in. Amazing.
The rear red is also very bright and you can use it to see in dark places. Nice.
Improvements could be:
Bike mounting bracket.
Pulsing rear red light.
Easier to locate on/off switch (hard to find when you are wearing gloves)
Also it has a great name.
Good luck with your search.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Bright rear light

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great light, super bright which is handy!
The cable could be slightly longer as it can sometimes be a bit fiddly when you are plugging it on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niightrider
from Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Exceptional quality, functionality and value for m

PostedSeptember 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Very bright light - smart port technology is awesome. Wonderfully researched, develpoed and engineered. Very good value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TOMBEE
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Clips onto the jostick light well
For some reason when the joystick is turned off the Redeye still glows slightly so draining the battery. Not sure why this is but just need to remember to unplug the cable in the joystick when not in use. Cable would benefit from being a fraction longer. Only complaint is from riders behind who have commented it is a bit bright but now way of adjusting this
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Feathers
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive, bright

PostedNovember 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Don't know how this looks from the back (because it's on my helmet) but when I turn it on it's impressively bright. For some reason it only has continuous mode - no flashing mode. And since I angle the front light slightly down towards the road, I'm not sure if it's pointing slightly up as a consequence and so doesn't attract drivers' attention. For this reason I also have a flashing rear light attached to my bike.
Like its cousins, absurdly overpriced but looks the part and works really well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markboj
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Brilliant safe light

PostedJune 13, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Essential if you want to stay alive. A flashing function would be even better. Rest assured however that it is so bright that you have ZERO worries about not being seen. A little more money than battery operated alternatives lije cateye eclipses their performance. Perfect complement to the dioro.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tiredonthecol
from 40 mile round trip commute/ the odd sportive
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

A life saver in the dark and in Winter

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This light works in conjunction with a helmet mounted Diablo or Joy stick. I have a red eye attached to my seat post as well, and the two lights in conjunction makes it almost impossible for motorists not to see you cycling in front of them, whatever the weather or time of day.
The front facing exposure lights are not cheap but they are very bright and the one unit design with an integrated battery is extremely practical (not to mention very very robust). The rear facing red eye doubles their utility and for a very low price. My guess is that most people after they have used a front facing exposure light go on to buy the rear facing red-eye within a few weeks. One final note, I would recommend against the red-eye micro light. It is so small, with nothing to attach to the main light or helmet, that I'd dropped and lost mine within a day of purchase. In contrast, the full size rear light attaches to your helmet light or seat post permanently and so cannot be lost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exposure RedEye Helmet Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Narkoslakare
from Essex
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent bit of kit

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, incredibly bright
Cons: Expensive
I already own both the Diablo and Joystick, which I use on handlebar and helmet respectively, so I'm familiar with the high quality of Exposure lights and Smart Port technology. The RedEye simply clips onto the Joystick and plugs in, to give an incredibly bright and visible helmet rear light. As I don't use my bike, in darkness, for more than a couple of hours maximum, reduced battery life hasn't been an issue.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.