Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Antares Rollers

Tacx Antares Rollers

Tacx is the training mate for pros, amateurs and recreational cyclists in 54 countries around the world. The Tacx family have created one of the most recognized trainer brand names globally. A passion for cycle racing and the drive to innovate are perhaps the most important factors, since whoever you speak to at Tacx, they all have their hearts in cycle sport and Tacx products.
Overall rating:
4.481 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(52 reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 52 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
14
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
3
1 Star
1
47 out of 52Would you recommend this product to a friend?90%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
15 Questions | 36 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Antares Rollers
Review 1 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Oxfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for Indoor Riding

Posted03 January 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, improves concentration on balance and positioning, give a 'real' riding feel
Doom and gloom accompanied the recent sub-zero temperatures and snow and ice because I couldn't get out on my bike so I looked at indoor alternatives, namely a turbo trainer or rollers. I plumped for these rollers having read reviews saying that they gave a reasonable 'riding' feel (more so than turbos) and a higher level on concentration.
Anyhow, I got the Tacx Antares rollers for christmas and they are excellent. They take about 10 minutes to put together (which is basically bolting the rollers into the metal sides) and checking that they are set for the length of your bike (another 2 minute adjustment if not), your all set to go.
Riding on the rollers takes some concentration and first time out, its definately a case of getting used to them and trying not to fall off! My tip (and this comes from lots of other users) is to either start off in a door way or put a dining chair either side of the roller so that you have something to hold on to / grab hold of while you get used to balancing while riding. It feels a bit wierd to start with but give it 10 minutes and you'll be peddalling normally and once you get the hang of it, you can dispense with the chairs or doorway, although having something to raise you to the hieght of the rollers (about 3 inches) is still recommend so that you can get a foot on the ground.
The riding sensation is pretty good - it's not quite the road but the fact that your bike isn't fixed to anything and you therefore need to concentrate on your balance and positioning on the rollers makes the experience good.
The rollers themselves give a little resistence but overall it's like riding on a flat road - more resistance can be added by moving up the gears on your bike or you could experement with tyre pressures. Personally, I'm using the rollers to get miles in my legs when I otherwise couldn't go out and to also increase the cadence which I ride at and do interval training.
In terms of bike, I'm using my normal road bike and road tyres (Michelin Pro 3) which seem to be OK - the noise levels are OK too, though a tyre with tread may be noisier.
Overall, these rollers are well constructed, sturdy and are of good quality. They also slide together to allow a reasonably small storage footprint. They give a good work out, are quiet and help build concentration on positioning and balance. Recomended for the bad weather, too!
+42points
44of 46voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Noisy but do the job

Posted13 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have used these a lot. Instructions aren't the clearest but Youtube videos are helpful and not too difficult to build.
First session was tricky, make sure you've got something to hold onto! But subsequent ones were fine, helped by the shaping of the rollers helping to bring you back to a central position.
Rollers are a little noisy so lose a point for that but not too bad.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tacx all the way

Posted13 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
These rollers are great easy set up and pack away small great for those bad weather days took a little to get use to but worth the effort would recommend great service from Evans price and helpful
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Tacx Antares Rollers

Posted20 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Great set of rollers easy to assemble . The stability bar fits easily with 4 set screws its available as a separate item . Great for winter training . Bring on the sunshine .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Tacx Antares rollers

Posted11 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
This product is so smooth. Brought it for my boyfriend and he has never used one before. He said its smooth and light. He loves using it as a training aid for his ironman events. Would highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good for warm ups and working on pedal stroke

Posted20 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Rollers are definitely more like real riding, in that you need to hold your balance, engage your core and have a really smooth pedal stroke to stay upright on these.
As a track rider, I bought these for warm ups before races and also so that I can work on my cadence at home. Since there's basically no resistance here you can spin very fast and very easily.
Set up was very straight forward. Rollers are quieter than most turbos, but still generate some noise because of all the moving parts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Guildford

Better than a turbo

Posted24 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I opted for rollers rather than a turbo trainer and glad I did. Once I got the hang of them they give a great workout. You can't freewheel so you really have to go for it. They are really easy to set up and good quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Work well but noise concerns

Posted13 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Cons: Poor quality
Bought online as first time roller and was pleased with service and delivery from Evans. Arrived within 4 days free of charge. However disappointed with quality of product. Despite it looking and feeling good when put together it is very noisy which through a little research I have discovered is most probably the bearings. These roller receive good reviews in general but if you dig deeper most 1 or 2 star reviews are about poor construction and bearings going quickly and noisily! I have used them once and Evans have agreed to swap for a more expensive model. I would advise to buy a better set straight off. On the up side rolling is great fun, I'm an average standard rider and picked it up straight away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good rollers

Posted25 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Easy to setup, just use the wheelbase to set the correct length.
Took me less than 5 mins to get rolling without any support.
Start out in a door way, just to give you a bit of security for holding on.
After that you should be ok , I would advise a mat underneath to collect the sweat, otherwise you won't be in the good books!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product makes all the difference

Posted28 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
the rollers take a bit of getting used to as do all rollers, they are well made and sturdy, they only take 2 mins to assemble and they are nice and quiet, much better than a turbo trainer as the feel almost as good as being on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

This product is a great piece of kit

Posted18 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these rollers due to the bad weather and a big ride coming up. Not being able to train on the road they have proved invaluable. A little tricky to start with but undoutably assist with your balance and fitness. They are good quality and well made unlike some others on internet sites.
I recommend these to any serious rider.
I purchased these on the Evans Cycles web site and they were ready when I arrived. Excellent service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Posted03 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, easy to store
These rollers are a very good piece of kit and don't take long to get used to.they make you concentrate on pedal stroke and balance, it's a bit like cycling on ice at first .
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Pretty good for cheap rollers

Posted18 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I bought these rollers as I was not in a position to commute over the winter and I lacked the determination to go out riding in the cold and wet if I didn't have to. As it is my first set of rollers I went for the cheapest model that looked as if it was any good. So far they have seemed to be of good quality and no obvious flaws have arisen.
The bearings are quiet and on a bike with slick tyres, the rollers would probably be reasonably quiet in operation. Unfortunately I have a '15 Specialized Crosstrail with stock tyres and they are quite noisy - not deafening but you won't be watching tv without using headphones. My tyres also seem to add quite a bit of resistance so I get more of a workout than with slicks. Not necessarily a bad thing.
Another thing to consider is my bike only just fits on the rollers at max extension so check your wheelbase length before purchasing.
The mechanism for changing the length of the rollers, while not the hardest thing in the world, can be a little fiddly so it would work best if you only used the one bike on it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good basic trainer

Posted24 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This trainer is easy to put together, well made and stores away easily. The only downside being that its a little noise, but thats being picky!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Mexico
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You get what you pay for

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, poor documentation, flimsy construction
I have always been amazed about how simple and yet expensive the rollers usually are. These seemed like an exception, good quality at a decent price. Of course if something seems too good to be true it probably is. The rollers quality is decent, but the documentation is really poor, and even though I am pretty familiar with building things, I managed to destroy the thread where the bolts attach in one of the rollers axis by tightening it with my bare hands and the included allen wrench. The bolt grabs about 3 mm and has a millimetric fine thread that won't take any abuse. There is a pin that settles the rollers to their proper extension and they are so poorly built that the rubber band manages to skip them and the whole thing shortens on one side and starts squeaking. After finding workarounds for these problems I am having tons of fun working out with the rollers. The idea is great but I really wish the build quality was better. If you can afford it, go for the Kreitlers, if not, be warned that these work, but are not great.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Poor build quality

Posted11 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: simple design
Cons: Poor quality
In terms of design they're fine. The rollers are fairly easy to put together and the tapered design means they're easy to get the hang of. However, the build quality is severely lacking:
- One of the spring pins doesn't line up properly with the hole, meaning that it doesn't lock in place and it's very hard to lock the frame 'square' if the belt is on the same side. Improved by placing the belt on the other side but still hard to get the frame square when setting the rollers up.
- The axle on one of the roller drums has significant play in it, causing it to generate a loud, unbearable chattering noise. The play didn't develop with use, it was like that out of the box. The situation was improved by placing the offending drum under the front wheel, where it is under less stress, but the noise is still noticeable.
A quick google returns many results of other customers with both of these issues, and other issues with the bearings. It seems Tacx are aware but don't seem too interested in putting it right.
Whilst the rollers are usable I will probably have to get them replaced under warranty at some point. Ideally when I am less reliant on them for winter training.
I would avoid until Tacx sort out their quality control issues...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great indoor trainer for when you can't get out

Posted11 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, convenient
Easy to set up and put away when not in use. Kind to tyres, and no messing about with bike needed.
A bit tricky to get going on and does take a bit of getting used to but once you're used to it it's really good - just keep looking in front of you.
Some people may prefer more stable platform of turbo trainer but if you stay upright on a bike there's no reason to not be able to use the rollers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

i love riding on these rollers. Great fun.

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I tried to use a turbo trainer to train when the weather is bad but I found it really boring which made it hard to get started. I tried my friends rollers and it was good fun so I decided I should get some. I looked at these and the elite Arion rollers. I decided on these in the end because you can add a brace so it works a bit like a turbo trainer so my wife can also use this. On getting the rollers I found them very easy to set up and get started. All tools for assembly are provided and assembly is very simple. The rollers are a little noisy but nothing to bad. They feel good when riding on them. I don't have a lot of experience of using rollers so can't compare to anything else but they do exactly what they need to. They also shrink down nice and small for easy storage. I would definately recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent training kit worth investing in

Posted25 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It does exactly what it says on the Tin and easy to set up. Great core training and improves style and technique.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Roller-coaster.

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was in two minds to get this type or a "fixed" type of trainer for the winter. Glad I got the roller type. It's easy to get used to, just have a small chair or box on one side to quickly place a foot on if needed. I use clip on shoes/pedals and even these haven't caused problems when you get a wobble on. Have even been standing up for short periods. Aside from that worry, the rollers give a good workout. The need to concentrate stops you getting bored, but you can still watch telly if needed. Changing gears is easy and at highest speed the resistance is high enough. Might look into adding a little extra resistance in the future, (don't think trax make one, so may be Heath Robinson affair) but happy at the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>