Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Tacx Antares Rollers

Tacx Antares Rollers

Tacx is the training mate for pros, amateurs and recreational cyclists in 54 countries around the world. The Tacx family have created one of the most recognized trainer brand names globally. A passion for cycle racing and the drive to innovate are perhaps the most important factors, since whoever you speak to at Tacx, they all have their hearts in cycle sport and Tacx products.
Overall rating:
4.606 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
30 out of 33(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Tacx Antares Rollers
Review 1 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JayBe
from Oxfordshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent for Indoor Riding

PostedJanuary 3, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, improves concentration on balance and positioning, give a 'real' riding feel
Doom and gloom accompanied the recent sub-zero temperatures and snow and ice because I couldn't get out on my bike so I looked at indoor alternatives, namely a turbo trainer or rollers. I plumped for these rollers having read reviews saying that they gave a reasonable 'riding' feel (more so than turbos) and a higher level on concentration.
Anyhow, I got the Tacx Antares rollers for christmas and they are excellent. They take about 10 minutes to put together (which is basically bolting the rollers into the metal sides) and checking that they are set for the length of your bike (another 2 minute adjustment if not), your all set to go.
Riding on the rollers takes some concentration and first time out, its definately a case of getting used to them and trying not to fall off! My tip (and this comes from lots of other users) is to either start off in a door way or put a dining chair either side of the roller so that you have something to hold on to / grab hold of while you get used to balancing while riding. It feels a bit wierd to start with but give it 10 minutes and you'll be peddalling normally and once you get the hang of it, you can dispense with the chairs or doorway, although having something to raise you to the hieght of the rollers (about 3 inches) is still recommend so that you can get a foot on the ground.
The riding sensation is pretty good - it's not quite the road but the fact that your bike isn't fixed to anything and you therefore need to concentrate on your balance and positioning on the rollers makes the experience good.
The rollers themselves give a little resistence but overall it's like riding on a flat road - more resistance can be added by moving up the gears on your bike or you could experement with tyre pressures. Personally, I'm using the rollers to get miles in my legs when I otherwise couldn't go out and to also increase the cadence which I ride at and do interval training.
In terms of bike, I'm using my normal road bike and road tyres (Michelin Pro 3) which seem to be OK - the noise levels are OK too, though a tyre with tread may be noisier.
Overall, these rollers are well constructed, sturdy and are of good quality. They also slide together to allow a reasonably small storage footprint. They give a good work out, are quiet and help build concentration on positioning and balance. Recomended for the bad weather, too!
+38points
39of 40voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JcChipp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Alternative to turbo training

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having used only a turbo trainer this does take some getting used to but once mastered gives a far more natural road feel & another variation to break the indoor training bordem!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Wrighty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fairly easy to set up and good quality

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
It was a bit of a faf to set the wheelbase, therefore doesn't lend itself to multi-bike use very well. Once set up it was good fun getting used to the balance and response of the rollers which certainly demands some atention to start with!
From a workout point of view i was surprised just how tiring it was compared to riding on a level road. If cranking at speeds or 30'odd mph it's certainly enough resistance to get you blowing in no time.
All in all i definitely recommend these over a turbo trainer if you want a little mental stimulation instead of a mindless slog with nothing to focus on other than the TV...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
botkinjr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Sturdy, reasonably quiet and good value

PostedFebruary 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Have now spent about 5 hours on these rollers and they're great! Was my first time using them but placing them between a doorway was enough for me to get going straight away. Not brave enough to stand on the pedals yet but changing hand position and having a drink is no problem especially with the safety net of the doorway to shoulder off or grab if I get a bit wobbly. The shape of the rollers helps keep you on them too although I have managed to roll off the side twice when I was really going for it! I have set up some heart rate / cadence based workouts on my Garmin to provide some structure to training and have already found the smoothness of my pedalling and cadence improving.
Only downside is it's a bit fiddly adjusting the spring peg for the length but unless you'll be using different bikes you only have to do this once. Collapsing the rollers for transport is easy enough though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spicypedro
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great way to keep spinning over Winter

PostedDecember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these as a way to do some winter training when either the weather was just too dicy to get out on the roads or when I didn't have time for a proper ride. They're pretty easy to set up, easy to get the hang of and I've found they're really improving my riding, in terms of balance and pedal stroke.
I've tried doing some Sufferfest training videos whilst on these and as long as you can maintain concentration during the all-out efforts, they're great. Lose concentration and you're off though! ;-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SJW68
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to set up and good quality

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to set up and have a good quality feel. Although riding rollers is a little strange at first they are much less hassle than setting your bike up on a turbo ... and they feel more natural.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
burls
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It is exactly what I wanted

PostedFebruary 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought these new Tacx rollers to replace my old ones which after many years regular use have pretty much worn out. On the new rollers I particularly like the addition of tapered rollers which certainly improve the ride lessening the concentrtion needed to stay in line although after many years I have gained the ability to stand up and sprint which of course more closely replicates riding on the road and relieves saddle pressure.
This is my third set of Tacx rollers and I would definately reccomend them.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dancer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Got these to help get my knee back to shape from an injury, and to help with winter riding (or lack of). I'm using these with my mtb with road tyres, i do 20 mins before work every morning and seeing results after 2 weeks of use. Can't see the point of buying more expensive ones when these are good quality, sturdy and feel solid. Would recomend to everyone..........
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jimmy26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very good product

PostedOctober 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
easy to set up,quick to take ur bike on and off as i have the support stand to go with it.nice and quiet aswell so i can train in the warm in the house in front of the tele!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sparkywyes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Brilliant product

PostedSeptember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
My family brought these for me as a present and I think they're amazing. Yes, you do need to practice - took me about an hour to get confident on them - but once up they're brilliant. I'm currently using them with my hybrid and i'm finding 50mins is a good work out when I can't get out on the road.
The lack of adjustment on the resistance isn't really a problem to me and I find having a step nearby to use when I have the odd wobble is well worth it. These are a great addition to training on the road so I'd advise anyone to buy some, perservere and get your legs turning!!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuann
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product.

PostedJuly 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great set of rollers. Good work out .jpacks away easily
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Garth166
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Real asset

PostedJuly 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It looks as if we're going to have a typical English summer again and to do some 'indoor cycling', I ordered 2 weeks ago from Evans On-Line Shop these Tacx Antares Rollers. I believe it's a great product and reasonably priced (they were on offer for £130.00 minus 1 p) Evans delivery service was top notch; mine was delivered within 2 days; got an email about date and time of delivery too. Even with the rather limited instructions, assembling the rollers is quite straightforward. The rollers themselves take some time to get used to, as you're a bit wobbly when practising. You definitely need to be very focused all the time; otherwise you'll ride off the machine or fall of your bike! Therefore, I've put them in the garage quite close to the wall to which I've fixed a large piece of polystyrene. Because the wall is close, I only need a little bit of support from the polystyrene to balance myself when cycling. Starting slowly and gradually increasing speed, will help to keep balance. I've still not yet quite mastered the art of balancing on these rollers and from time to time need to lean gently onto the wall to keep my balance. Hopefully, practice will also here make perfect... It's important to have the tyres well inflated ( 6-7 bar) and to minimise noise, slick tyres are best. Be prepared to do a lot of sweating, as you'll be missing the cooling effect of the wind.
Getting on the bike is best done by means of a step-up, as the bike is quite high from the floor once put on the rollers. These rollers do not have an option to increase resistance; I don't find this a disadvantage, as using the highest gear on my touring bike gives sufficient resistance to a retired old-timer like me, but I can imagine that others will miss this option.
On the first day, the drive belt snapped; must have been a poorly welded one. Went to to the local Evans shop; a replacement belt was quickly ordered free of charge. Up to now, no problems. For 'realistic' cycle training, these rollers are in my opinion a real asset.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
defghijk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what I expected from a set of rollers

PostedJune 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I wanted a set of rollers that I could take and use as warm up for races. These are fine.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leem2069
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't fault it

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The rollers are great, after failing miserably in trying to build my own I decided to buy some and I'm really impressed. I really need to thank Evans aswell for the excellent delivery and brilliant communication, even giving me an hour long slot of when my rollers would be delivered. Thank you very much.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mick18
from united kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great features , simple design and assembly

PostedFebruary 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
product was easy to assemble , although first use was like learning to cycle again !! once i had placed it between garage wall and a treadmill confidence soon arrived . It has vastly improved my cycle fitness helping me to maintain a constant speed for longer periods . previously used turbo trainer but temptation is to free wheel occasionally .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TinTin
from Nottingham
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks, Easy Storage, Quiet, Easy to USe

PostedFebruary 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, quiet
Cons: nothing yet
This is my first attempt at indoor rollers and I must say after reading the reviews I bought these and there spot on. I ordered Tuesday and they we here Wednesday morning!!
The rollers themselves are easy to build, took no more than 5 minutes and the Allen Keys come in the box. My first impression was how good they look and easy to assemble.
I placed them on the floor and with some dread placed my bike on the rollers. After 5 minutes max I was pedalling away and have to say I cant believe how quiet they were. It was not that easy to start with and I will not say this is the easiet thing to learn but once you get the hang of it the feeling is great.
I have now completed 3 sessions over the last three days and people say they offer no resistance I have to say I found it quite hard work once you get going to maintain a high cadence but it was worth it.
If you are in two minds as to buy or not buy, as a relative begineer I have to say go for it you wont regret it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hendrix
from North Lincolnshire
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to store

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great product, easy to store is the main reason I chose this as opposed to a turbo trainer. Very well made and good value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bimps
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Winter warmer

PostedNovember 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A fantastic tool to help keep up winter fitness, or for any other time you cannot leave the house and take to the road.
Brilliant.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
dierobin
from Qatar
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Roller Mania

PostedAugust 4, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: difficult to get your balance, would be good to have the facility to simulate hil
I live in Qatar and ordered the rollers from the UK. They arrived in approximate 10 days which is better than other purchases I have made.
Assembly of the rollers was easy enough and took me approximately 30 minutes.
Riding them is another matter. I found that i had to set myself up in a doorway so that i could hold onto the doorframe whilst i got going and got my balance. Once ridden a few times balance becomes less of a problem
You have to concentrate whilst riding them otherwise you will end up on the floor.
I have found that the rollers give you a very good workout and i have a garmin 705 so i can work out my speed, distance, cadence and heart rate.
Overall a very good buy.
What would be good if somehow resistance could be placed onto the rollers to simulate hill climbing> Is there such a product?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Tacx Antares Rollers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fidelio
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fun even rain outside

PostedMay 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Design tells its quality and actually it's silent. Practically folded to store and easy to setup. The roller has a unique shape to pull the tyre to the centre. This is clever idea and practical than flat one but the sloping effect gives sometime a tricky movement as the tyre tends to return to the centre immediately. I feel it is good feature for relaxed running to allow using this in a limited space in the room.
Only problem is the rear roller started vibrating with noise after a few usage. But no worry, it disappeared after tightening the fixing bolt. And due to the material of the roller it makes static electric. Don't touch the radiator while pedaling. Have fun singing in the rain!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>