Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Genetic Pro Track Pedal

Genetic Pro Track Pedal

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
13 out of 15(87%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Review 1 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
richmalla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

nice pedal , the more use the better

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: one sided
added these to my Bianchi bike , it was explained to me they are only one sided which in all honesty does take some getting used to but the more you use them the easier it becomes as with most things ,
prefered these as i dont like clip pedals but that is personal prefrence only ,,
great looking lightweight pedal which you can feel where your putting your power when needed
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
rosebud
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small, one-sided and well built

PostedJune 18, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable, small, slippery
Bought these to replace a pair of worn-out Wellgo commuter pedals.
Looked good, well built but...they are one-sided.
That makes them unreliable. In wet weather they are actually rather dangerous, since if you get the wrong side of the pedal up (which happens easily) you'll rest your feet on the slippery pedal axle.
Also, the contact surface is small. Avoid.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DianaD

Good pedals, too bad they are single sided

PostedMay 28, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
The pedals are themselves not bad, the problem is you can one pedal on one side. I wouldn't have bought them had a known that. They are also compact, which is fine if you have smaller feet.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tmek1971
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice assortment of colours...

PostedApril 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
I love these track pedals, there a good size, I'm not a lover of clip pedals, but I didn't want big flat pedals like I have on my DH bike, recently purchased a one-speed bike for getting about town & wanted to customise it a little & these pedals did just the trick.
They look really smart, nice anodised colouring, smooth feel & finish, very pleased!!!
Were delivered quickly & as always no problems with any of the products I buy from evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stu2
from Australia
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female

Excellent !

PostedJanuary 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, matches frame
This product stands up to its claims and looks very special on my cycle.....lightweight ,good quality , comfortable , classy looking
pedals in red matching colour to my frame .
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hillyhilltop
from london
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stiff, strong, stylish

PostedOctober 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these for my Specialized Allez as I'm still not sure about going clipless. I've had DMR flatties on my road bikes before and found these to be really strong, stiff and responsive. It should be pointed out that they are single sided- but you can easily pedal with the non-pedal side. Bearings were very tough when I put them on but have eased up nicely after a week. I've really enjoed having a more concentrated, smaller pedal and I can feel the power going through them.
Would echo other comments that they are best with trainers, but I also have cycled loads of miles in just espadrilles.
In short- they look great, feel great and are at a bargain price.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
hillyhilltop
london
 
Please wait while more information about hillyhilltop is loaded.
Additional information about hillyhilltop could not be loaded.
update
Posted June 22, 2012
I've had these pedals for 8 months now and I've removed them- I think they are great for a fixie/ single speed/ town bike but after a while I just got sick of flipping the pedals over to cycle.
Also, the 'hook' end of the pedal snapped off on both pedals over the course of time.
Still great looking and stiff- but not for road bikes in my opinion.
I've gone for SPDs....god help me!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Tyss
from Macclesfield,Chshire.
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stop and think!!

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not too impressed with the sealed bearings
Remember the the saying-you get what you pay for? Moderately pleased with the pedals but I have subsequently purchased more expensive pedals for all four of my favourite bikes-road and off-road and I am exceptionally pleased with them.My initial purchase I will keep as spares.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Philspring
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Pedals

PostedApril 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, purple is cool
Simple deisgn, easy to fit, look great.
In summary great pedals...!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Felix
from West Flanders Belgium
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Genetic Pro Track Pedal

PostedMarch 15, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Although offered as a 'track' pedal it is also a perfect, lightwieght, alternative to clipless pedals on a road race bike for those (like me) don't like to be attached too firmly to the bike and occasionally ride in non-cycling shoes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ricodublin
from Dublin
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Genetic Pro

PostedDecember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pedals, well made bought it to upgrade my previous pedal, im riding a fixed gear bike and its just great.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vinney
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedOctober 8, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excelent pedal using on my single speed over the winter as a safer option than being clipped in plenty of grip no problems had
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
zilla
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

PostedAugust 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Really sturdy set of pedals which are still unbelievably light weight. Great complement for a cyclist looking to maintain the lightness and agility of their SS without compromise.
The downer, slightly pricey.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
supercat
from Newcastle Upon Tyne
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does What it sayes on the tin

PostedAugust 6, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good track pedals.
Light and solid. The bearings are smooth and I've had no problems with them at all - well engineered.
Just be aware that you will need a pair decent soled shoes/trainers - when you stand up in the saddle the pedal makes itself felt through the sole of a flimsey or well worn shoe.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
blueskies
from City of London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great Buy!

PostedJuly 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these to replace my standard plastic pedals that had broken on my GT Hybrid. They were easy to fit and feel really solid. They look great and it's a bonus that they come in a range of colours. They are quite a bit smaller than my previous standard plactic pedals which gives you a bit of extra clearance when cornering. Good value for money!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Genetic Pro Track Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PHIeagles
from Copenhagen
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent Pedals

PostedApril 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, Good value, Good quality
These pedals can definitely be recommended for people looking for good track pedals. Great pedal build and easy to install.
The color is great too (I got the purple ones).
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.