Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Knog Skink Rear Light

Knog Skink Rear Light

Overall rating:
4.143 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 63
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
34
4 Stars
18
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
52 out of 63(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Knog Skink Rear Light
Review 1 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kotsarikos
from Greece

Superb!

Posted16 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I’m a big fan of the design of the Knog Lights.
The obvious advantage is in the material. The wrap around silicone material means you don’t need a bike mount. You simply pull the material and wrap it around your bike handlebars. This is great for zero setup and removal time. It also means if you have more than one bike you can switch your lights between the two in seconds.
It provides enough light to be seen. The different flashing modes provide good variety.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YellowPeril
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Useful for Brompton

Posted02 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Bought as a backup to a Brompton Dynamo set and has been fine during commutes and tours through rainy weather . It has real benefit with a Brompton extended seat post, as the Knog Skink will fit perfectly under the saddle and still allows the post to fully descend and lock into position. So, you don't even need to remove the Skink to fold.
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gwaredd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great design, but not waterproof

Posted05 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I bought this light back in December last year thinking the chunky silicon housing would keep it watertight, but after a few (well, a lot of with the weather we've had) wet mountainbike rides, the Knog stopped working & a quick investigation revealed it to be saturated in muddy water.
A shame really, as I liked the funky design, the ease in which it can be put on & taken off & it kicked out a decent amount of light.
The search for a durable mountainbike rear light continues...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
MStu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Worked well for a little while

Posted14 February 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
We'll it lasted half of winter. I didn't even make it through the original batteries.
It appears that the on off button does not react well to water. As the case is not water proof and given the location of the light, it is not really suited for wet weather. It has been getting harder to turn it on and off but now it doesn't do either.
Have no receipt but will take back to Evans to see what they make of it.
Otherwise it was good while it lasted, fit well, was functional, easy to fit/remove and bright enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Artcab
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Get Seen

Posted23 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Wonderful product easy and light to carry, gives off plenty of light!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MJD123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good but Big

Posted04 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: slightly large
I Found this light to be good although it is quite big when you compare it to some of the other Knog lights.
In hindsight I would buy a couple of smaller Knog lights rather than this one so that I could locate them on different parts of my bike for a better visual impact, but that is not to take anything away from the form and function of this product which is very good indeed.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good bright rear lights

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Easy to attach, bright and a variety of flashing modes. The buttons are a bit difficult to press, especially in the cold with gloves on.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Sandy154
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could do with a usb charging option.

Posted18 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: flexible attachment
Cons: not flexible enough!
I bought it as I have an aero seat stem on my bike and need something a bit more flexible to fit. 2 comments. It would be better with a usb charge option as the batteries are quite expensive and it appears to have got some water in it as it doesn't stretch comfortably around an aero stem and 'opens up' a bit which is how the water got on.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChalkyWhite
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cool looking light

Posted13 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Knog Skink Rear Light is prefectly designed, simple, effective and looks great too.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndrewC
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Bright and easy to install

Posted10 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought this a couple of weeks ago to run as a reserve light through the winter months. The light fits really easily with a rubber sort of catch that makes it really quick to swap from bike to bike. Even though it is easy to swap it's secure enough for me not to be concerned that it's going to fall off despite the rough roads local to me.
Brightness is great and there are plenty of modes but I don't yet have any feedback on battery life.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyS
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

bright, quick to attach and remove

Posted10 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Simple, effective and quick to use.
I have the smaller single LED ones to provide visibility to my presence when near roads and bought this for the childrens mountain bikes on the school ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J0NNYG

Is it Christmas already?

Posted07 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this with a Knog Beetle and whereas the Beetle was a disappointment this is a joy. It's a handy size, easy as anything to wrap around the seat post and whip it off again. Most of all it feels like a favourite Christmas tree decoration, I can almost smell the pine needles and hear Grandma snoring in her armchair after a strong port and lemon.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mutley8112
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Robust, light and easy to fit. Very bright.

Posted22 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, robust, bright, easy to fit
Cons: only fits seat post
I bought this to fit to my MTB as I am sometimes riding home in the dusk.
It's really bright and has a variety of flashing variations as well as constant. It's light and robust so it will absorb a few knocks. It's easy to attach to the seat post. It's good value for money.
Attaching it to the seat post means it faces slightly down so that may affect it's visibility (it is very bright though). It's easy to switch on so may illuminate in a bag and drain the battery before you need it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
izabela001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great light- but watch your batteries!

Posted09 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: lights up when it shouldn't
This is a great and strong light and very easy to attach to the bike.
The one and only drawback is the fact that the light switches on with very little effort which means it can easily turn on while in a bag. I tried other Knog lights and they are much more difficult to switch on...
Otherwise, it ticks all possible boxes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suggy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Small but perfectly formed...

Posted06 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Very easy to snap on or off, great little light, very bright.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Mikko
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very nice light.

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not easy to operate
Lightweight and very easy to attach to the bike! Has many different light patterns which makes switching off a bit difficult. A bit skeptic about its functionality during winter subzero temperatures, but we'll see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
david67
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is fantastic.

Posted18 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Item as described, great seller. Excellent product, highly recommend!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thegman67
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very bright, but only suits seatpost mounting

Posted09 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Excellent design and function as I have come to expect from Knog, however really only suits seatpost mounting which becomes a problem if you ride with a saddle bag mounted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This product is great as it fits round the frame or seat post.It has many strobe sequences and is very bright which is what you need.Great rear light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Knog Skink Rear Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WeaselCustard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great Light

Posted04 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, non-slip, visible, other colour options available, super quick mount
Cons: hate the hype!, full price = expensive. £12 is ok
This is a really good light. LEDs are angled for great visability on the back of a seat post. Do not go for less than 4 LEDs on urban/country road, you will not stand out.
Silicone is non-slip, seems waterproof and the 4 LEDs are really bright.
Advantage too, your can match colour to your bike (lets face it, I love my bike and am vain)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>