Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tights & Trousers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers

Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers

Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
35 out of 36(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 26 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sprocketman
from Home Counties
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gore Bike Wear Ultra Trousers

PostedFebruary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I only ever need waterproof trousers about five times a year through a full years cycling but when it pours in the winter these trousers are a lifesaver - especially if you have to get on a train afterwards.
I managed for five years with just normal shower proof trousers and if you buy rainlegs for 22 quid it should be enough for the vast majority of your days on the bike.
But I got these as the showers seem to be getting more and more heavy these days. These trousers are totally waterproof. Really comfortable. I wear them on their own when I know there will be heavy rain. Otherwise they're light and packable in my pannier. I have 34 inch inside leg and these are about 1/2 an inch too short but I am able to live with that.
It's worth paying the extra for them because non-Goretex stuff tends to lose its waterproofing within two years of daily use. My Goretex jacket is still good after four years. Good stuff is expensive to buy up front but lasts much longer and becomes cheaper in the long run.
+12points
13of 14voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Messrine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Not waterproof!

PostedJune 4, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, not waterproof
I bought these trousers from Evans in Bristol having read the reviews on this site and aware of the reputation of Gore-Tex.
However, I am really disappointed with their performance even in relatively light rain showers. I cycle every day to work (8 miles each way) and have found that there are significant build ups of water on the inside leg (especially by the seams near to the knee but not just confined to this area). This is not sweat as I have worn them in dry conditions to make comparisons and there is no moisture, and I don't tend to get sweaty legs. As far as I am concerned if something is supposed to be waterproof then it should be waterproof and not water resistant like these seem to be. They are not worth the £90 I paid for them and definitely not worth the original price of £135. I would recommend anybody else to look for cheaper alternatives.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
tterbO
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Worth paying that bit extra for gore tex

PostedApril 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
slightly small fitting round the waist but plenty of room and length in the leg, I have 24 inch thighs they don't feel like they restrict me in the biking position, I am a 36 inch waist for most bottoms.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Flash77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good waterproof trousers

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These worked well in a recent very wet ride, they're cut so that you can actually pedal without any interference and seem well made.
They're certainly waterproof, early days yet but no leaks in some pretty harsh conditions.
Putting them on is a little tight but they fit well once I'm in and don't ride up or slide down while on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
gibriel2006
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality, snug fit, warm & dry

PostedFebruary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, warm
Cons: Expensive, lack front pockets
I finally went for these rather expensive overtrousers whilst on offer. The quality and comfort is excellent and in the cold weather, the elasticated / velcro hems actually trap air to help insulate. Wind and waterproofing seem to work very well. I'm a medium build 33in waist and 32in inside leg and went for a large, which was a snug fit, but tried the XL which was a big step up, so settled with large. Evans service excellent as usual. Would like to see zip front / cargo pockets for convenience of access to small items, which for me is the one major omission at this price bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
darren094205
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Kept warm & dry

PostedFebruary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I have used these trousers in the cold (4C), in light rain and in a down pour no issues of leaks or getting to hot and sweaty.
Used on commute which is 11 miles up and down hill.
Recommend 100%
The price & the product reflects - you get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yo123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Finally bought a pair of waterproof trousers that work. They are expensive but you get what you pay for. Very lightweight and a good fit with zip and good quality velcro fasteners for the legs which keeps them away from the chain. I wear leggings under them and dont find them too hot, have worn them in 2hrs of rain and they were totally dry.The best trousers i have ever had and they pack up small, well worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chrisfroome
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

yes they're waterproof

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, does the job
Cons: Expensive
Only one reason to buy these - to keep dry! Worn twice on daily commute, once in 45 mins of medium rain and one total downpour. Worked a treat..kept dry and no excess overheating. Pack up really small so will fit any pocket
Would have given 5 stars for better reflective detailing
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
col1959
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality item

PostedNovember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These leggings are a quality item and do what they claim which for the price, they should! I cannot comment on their longevity but I am expecting to get long service from them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

top product

PostedSeptember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
bought these to cover everything from the daily commute to out and about on the hills and they don't disappoint. none of those sweaty legs under the waterproofs. a must for any serious cyclist
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Prawncurry
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Totally waterproof

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These trousers really are waterproof and breathable, but be warned, please do not go mountain biking in extreme weather and fall off at 20 mpm, because they wil rip. Oh yes I ripped them and was gutted, but in all honesty they really are the top marque in water proof trousers for normal use. Mine will be patched and then they will be just fine. Shame Evans don't sell the patches though. Buy with confidence and be surprised how light and usable they really are. It's just a shame that the price is not affordable for most normal cyclists.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dino
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, breathable overtrousers.

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, very breathable
Cons: Expensive, little difficult to get on over things
I got these after my Endura Venturi trousers wore out. They were brilliant so the Gore trousers have a lot to live up to. So far they are acquitting themselves well.
These trousers are pretty breathable and waterproof, although they haven't been through a real deluge yet, 40 mins of steady rain didn't get through. They are surprisingly comfortable to wear and don't feel absolutely horrible, like most waterproofs do, when thrown on over shorts. They are actually comfortable and breathable enough that I have worn them when running as well and they performed perfectly well.
They are a little difficult to get on over trousers or anything a little bulky. My pair are comfortable at the waist and yet I always have a bit of a fight to get them over my thighs.
They pack up fairly small as well so don't take up too much room in a day sack. They are a little expensive but are probably the best waterproof out there for now (Dec 2012).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sparkkenn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent breathability and waterproof

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Tried these over my shorts expecting to have wet legs but the breathability was excellent, haven't tried them in a deluge yet but will let you know.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
david1000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First class product

PostedNovember 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am thrilled with these trousers, they are very lightweight totally waterprooof (been well tested recently) and there isn't any heat builup
thanks to the goretex. Have had cheaper ones but these are definately worth the money.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Uncas
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A recent purchase that is keeping me dry on the way to work. they are a good fit once on but are bit difficult to get on over work wear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickLad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

These trousers will keep you dry.

PostedOctober 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought these Gore Tex trousers because I know from experience that they would be waterproof. I recently rode a charity bike ride in driving wind and rain for 4 hours but stayed dry without getting to hot or sweaty. I have bought other so called waterproofs which have failed to meet expectations. These trousers are compact, lightweight and fit well. They can be slipped on over riding shoes. To sum up, brilliant.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Plummers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, dry, warm and well fitting.

PostedSeptember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
These are a little pricey but worth it. I was cycling along a cliff top coastal path the other day. Wearing these trousers and the matching top I was dry and warm but also not sweating on the inside. The water-proof and breatherability are fantastic.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KiwiET
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Good quality

PostedJuly 5, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well made and good quality but still to get a shower that needs their use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ToastyWarm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Goretex gets my vote

PostedJune 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Bought these for a 9 day ride from Lands End to John O'Groats. Had to wear them on a couple of a occasions and they were excellent.
I was after the holy grail of waterproof leggings - light, compact, breathable and waterproof. You can get lighter and more compact overtrousers but you compromise on the breathability and waterproofness. These were the best all-rounders.
Not the cheapest available but I know they will last me a long time and I'll be able to use them for walking as well.
Top product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Ultra Gore-Tex Trousers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent fit - well worth the expense

PostedMay 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
As other reviewers have said, you do get what you pay for. I swear by Gore products and these are no exception. They are a great fit, with space at the knees, high back and adjustments at the calf area to prevent flapping. I have used them several times in awful weather and returned caked in mud and soaked - but nothing leaked. They even survive a direct hosing down and no seam leaks at all. They are also very lightweight and easy to carry. Overall, well worth the cost.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>