Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hats & Caps or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Windproof Headband

Altura Windproof Headband

Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
17 out of 21(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Altura Windproof Headband
Review 1 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Neezurt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Warm and comfortable

PostedMarch 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This was an impulse buy as I hadn't been happy with my existing headband. This one fitted very comfortably, offering good coverage over the ears, but without impinging too far down either the forehead or neck. It's been very warm on even the coldest of rides, and is thin enough not to affect the fit of your helmet. Overall, I'm very impressed... and glad I made my impulse buy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kinega
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great product

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Just the job for keeping your ears warm under your cycle helmet. A bobble hat is too thick but this is really thin & fits under the helmet easily.
Plus, being a headband it lets the top of your head breathe, I usually get too hot with a bobble hat after a while.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steve1980

Altura Headband

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Brought for winter night rides in the cold. Hats were too hot and not comfortable under my helmet.
Headband fits prefectly under helmet and very comfortable.
Great for winter rides as it provides good air flow to top of head but ears remain warm.
Not a 100% wind blocker, but enough for the winter night rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
littlemonkey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Considering it is not a full hat is it ivery warm and comforatble!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyBee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Excellent Quality

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A good fit but a little tight. Very well made. Fits well under helmet and excellent design.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazz1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps my ears warm

PostedFebruary 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I'm a cold person (not cold hearted) so needed something to keep my ears warm, this did just the job! Good fit and doesn't get too hot, also use it when I run! Boom pow just buy it you won't be disappointed
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jolojalu
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Just the job

PostedFebruary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cold ears was the problem.... the solution Altura Windproof Headband. Fits nicely under my helmet, ears lovely and warm and I have not encountered any problem with hearing traffic.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheLedge
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, but your ears are not fully protected

PostedJanuary 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: not completely windproof
I bought this product to keep the chill off my head on my lunchtime rides. For this it does a good job, but as other people point out the windproof section is limited to your forehead. Your ears get some respite, enough for my short rides, but if you are looking for complete protection then you will need to look elsewhere.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wazzup
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedDecember 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought it for my wife to prevent ears freezing. Work perfect, thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KoreaLS
from Korea

Satisfied

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
This band is so good to me , because other band and cap is so ridiculous to me. But this head band is fairy good.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
phigs
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Wind proof fabric not in right place

PostedJune 5, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: not windproof in right bit
Bought this on the strength of the reviews but was disappointed. The fit is fine but the bit that is windproof only at the front and not over the ears where I feel the need. Can't say that I would recommend this item to friend of foe.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SUPERDAVE
from Winchester and Hampshire
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Disappointed

PostedJanuary 24, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Unattractive
Headband is to thin. Does not offer much protection against cold winds. Does not inspire to wear this product.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tsina
from athens
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice Headband..

PostedDecember 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought it accidentaly but i liked it a lot and and used it..
Nice and warm..good quality!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WhiffySmiffy
from Birmingham
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Could not do without!

PostedDecember 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
one of the best purchases I have made - no more cold ears on wintry mornings! Fits neatly under my helmet, can hear perfectly with it on. Can't praise it enough.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smirnoff
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Altura Windproof Headband

PostedSeptember 27, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Excellent headband. It is very warm and thin enough to fit under my helmet. Keeps my ears toasty warm even at temperatures around 0 degrees. Haven't been out in minus degrees yet.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Run4Fun
from Essex
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Does the Job

PostedMarch 3, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
I use this under my cycle helmet and is very comfortable and definately keeps the ol brow and ears warmer. I wouldnt say it was a hundred percent wind proof especially when your going 30mile an hour down a hill in the freezing cold! I also run in it and find that if i wear it over the top of my earphones I can hear my music better too! Although its smooth comfortable material its not sweat proof. All in all great product :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mazza
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

PostedFebruary 25, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Not bad, when it gets cold (+2-0) though your ears will feel it. Better when temp warmer. Can hear traffic though unlike Gore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bazmunday
from Oxfordshire
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great for winter riding

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Great headband keeps ears super warm in wet and windy conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shouldbikemore
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

No more cold forehead and ears

PostedFebruary 23, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
If you are umming or ahhing as to wether or not to purchase this let me see if I can help. This is great buy it. The headband works.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Windproof Headband
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KennyMcA
from Aberdeenshire
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Surprising Difference with Windproof Headband

PostedJanuary 4, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I had thought that this kind of head band would either be too heavy and change the fit of my helmet or too light to be useful. I was really surprised to fine how comfortable it fitting under my new helmut and it made windy rides much more comfortable. My head sweats too much in full head covering so I need the airflow but this addition makes the rides much more comfortable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>