Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Women's Cruisers

Altura Women's Cruisers

Overall rating:
4.182 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(77 reviews) 77
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 77 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
26
3 Stars
11
2 Stars
1
1 Star
3
70 out of 77(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 40 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Women's Cruisers
Review 1 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vikki88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Warm and comfortable - great for winter cycling

Posted03 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, wind and rain proof, very warm
Cons: quite long
I bought these trousers as I cycle to work every day and needed something suitable for wintry weather. My favourite thing about them is the fleece lining inside, which is really warm and comfy and great for cycling in the cold. The fit is quite loose (they are not like skin-tight leggings) so it is easy to move in them, but the elastic at the top and bottom keeps the wind out. They have so far kept me dry in the rain, although I have yet to test them in very heavy rain. Having short legs (I'm 5ft 2") they are a little too long but it is easy enough to roll up the bottoms. When they arrived I was pleased to discover they also have some reflective bits on the sides which provides an extra bit of visibility when cycling home in the dark.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stud
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A must for cycling!

Posted26 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love the Altura winter cruisers. They are warm, comfortable and water resistant so whatever the weather you feel great! My second pair - purely because I loved my first pair.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
muddygirl
from London
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

very comfy and warm, great value for money

Posted16 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, showerproof
Cons: Unattractive
I bought these as I wanted something to keep me warm on my daily commute into London, but I'm not a fan of lycra and I don't like overtrousers, so these seemed the perfect solution. Also, I wanted them to be pad-free so that I can wear padded shorts underneath and cut down on the washing a bit!
I would agree with other reviewers that they are an odd cut. I'm 5'2 with a 31" waist, so I bought the size 12, my normal size. Fine in the length, maybe an inch or so longer than needed but with the zipped ankle this is fine. They felt quite loose around my lower legs but a little tight around my thighs, and I really debated as to whether I should change them for a 14, but in the end decided that they would be too baggy and look daft! The waist, as others have said is a little high but to be honest they're designed for winter use so the waist would be under a jacket or jersey, so who will know?! It all helps to keep you warm anyway!
Having worn them for a couple of weeks now I have to say I'm really pleased with them. Lovely and warm, comfy to wear, the fleecy lining is really nice. The reflective bits on them give an extra peace of mind without being OTT, and having worn them in the rain for over an hour they kept me nice and dry.
All I would say is that make sure you wash them in with all your other black cycling kit as they will run in the first wash. The first time I wore them they even made my white saddle go black!! I've still not managed to get it all off, but I'm not too bothered. At least after the first wash they seemed to stop leaking the colour!
All in all a great buy at a very good price. Recommended :-)
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Jackie1975
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

Cruisers

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought a size ten and I'm just five foot one. Good feel to them. Good length and they wash well. Slim line so they don't get in the way of the chain. Good buy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cyclum
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Super comfortable

Posted29 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I purchased these after a my 20 mile commute left me shivering for hours. I didn't want to spend too much on something that was just to get to work and these seemed like a good compromise.
I've only worn them twice but so far I'm very impressed. They don't have the papery feel of most waterproof garments, in fact the fleece lining and soft fabric make them feel more like pajama bottoms - in a good way. The fit wasn't skin tight, but tight enough not to look loose.
I haven't tried them in the rain yet but they were fine in light drizzle.
Overall I Am very happy with these, and I would still have given them 5 stars at twice the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Clareness79
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great to wear, I wear over my shorts look good light weight .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sharon24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Don't know

Better than expected

Posted25 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only had these for a short time so have not used them in cold months yet. The fit really well and are better looking than in the picture. Nice material that feels warm, the real test will be when it gets colder. Have only put 4 stars due to not being tested fully yet in cold weather. Feel great, look great!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Anonymous

Brilliant comfy trousers

Posted11 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these trousers for something a bit warmer than my usual thin Nike trousers, they are lovely and fleecy inside and very comfy to wear for cycling. Better in cooler weather!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elan

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good value and longevity. Exactly as described. I would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Pauline914
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Birmingham

Posted11 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no belt/tie string
I bought this last year it fitted well but because I lost weight I had to buy a smaller size. This item is excellent for commuting keeps me warm in winter and dry when its raining but I do wish it had a tie string at the waist to help keep it in place.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
dooh

Reasonabale sale price - yet to put them to test

Posted01 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, feel comfortable
Cons: strange fit
Sizing is weird. Tight around the bum - which may be a problem as they aren't padded and I'll need to wear my cycle shorts underneath them. Then they are quite baggy elsewhere, which I think may increase wind resistance and may make them less warm?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Gill46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

This is for the Big Girls :)

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I'll admit it - I'm a big girl. And I cycle. Take note Evans.
I've struggled to find cycling tights. I even bought a pair of plus size undershorts from Terry's in the USA - cost me a pretty penny in duty, taxes and charges.
So when I took a risk on these cruisers from Altura I was doubtful. But they fit!!
They are a size 18 and I am a size 18-20 - depending on the generosity of the manufacturer. For instance I recently bought a pair of denims from Tesco - size 18 - and I couldn't get them past the hips! and yet I bought a pair last year that fit - who knows?....
They are high waisted which is comfy for me. The material is warm enough but in 5C wet weather I got cold. There is no pad (which I knew) but I can always supplement it with my Terry's undershorts - lol. No zips at the ankles either that others have mentioned.
All in all I am thrilled with these. Altura? You are on my radar now :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
crawfpc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

They do get too baggy after a short time

Posted06 February 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: too stretchy
When i first got these i was ecstatic as i didn't want tights or trousers and they were the perfect in between to ride in the winter. But- they have stretched a lot and i have to keep hitching them up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mras
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good for winter.

Posted28 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no drawsting waist, no foot stirrups.
Bought these to replace some winter cruisers I have had for some time. I prefer the tighter fitting new design and the thermal fabric. The legs are slightly too long, though this really isn't much of an issue. I would have liked a stirrup as on the other cruisers I own, could also do with a drawstring waist as feels slightly loose. But a great buy for winter cycling. Make sure you wash them before use though as the dye came out on my white saddle the first time I wore them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Charlie86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice and comfy

Posted27 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Great trousers- I could probably have done with the smaller size- the 8 was to small in the leg the 10 a little too baggy. However the actual trousers are great - they do what they say on the tin :-)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
WheezyHaze
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good choice

Posted19 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
These trousers are very comfortable and easy to cycle in. Size 12 too generous for a 5'2 slim build like me, but size 10 just right. They are surprisingly warm and waterproof- road tested in the recent storm. Well recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whizzer21
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfy and cosy

Posted14 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As the nights get colder and the mornings frostier these cosy trousers get me to the office and back each day without bum-freeze.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kazellie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really warm

Posted22 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Wasn't too sure about these but found them really warm. The only minus is they are a bit long in the body
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DirtyJen
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really comfortable not as tight as I expected

Posted11 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought these as winter cycling tights, they have been warm enough for icy winter mornings however they are not as tight as I expected and the seat often catches on my bike seat. I do love them however, for walking and casual wear and will also be great for xc skiing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Women's Cruisers
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Emma100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really happy with these. Fit well and look good

Posted31 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was really happy with this product. I have another pair of Altura trousers so just took a guess at sizing and was not disappointed. Cycling clothes often come up a little small but these fit really well and look good. A little annoying to wash as 30 degrees and non bio powder but apart from that a very good buy for the price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>