Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tights & Trousers or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Overall rating:
4.343 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(105 reviews) 105
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 105 reviews
5 Stars
52
4 Stars
43
3 Stars
6
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
96 out of 105Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 58 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dry as a bone trousers

Posted20 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Wondered whether over trousers were going to be too cumbersome and sweaty but so far very pleased. These are well made and light enough to be free moving and when used with overshoes completely set up for the winter commute. Useful for walking and boating as well as cycling
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Good Product

Posted02 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Comfortabel fit and performs well though it took a bit of fiddling to get it adjusted comfortably. You need to be wearing something full length underneath or the breathability iscompromised.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Made my bum look big....

Posted01 September 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
I'm sure they are a great product and the sale price was really good. Unfortunately I find the sizing of all Altura shorts and trousers rather odd and they all seem to be either too tight or too baggy rather randomly. I got the Medium and they were OK around the waist (elastic waistband) but far too wide and baggy to ride in. They would have just flapped in the breeze!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
They do feel a bit big and crinkly at first, but once you use the velcro straps and get on the bike, you quite quickly stop noticing them. I've tried them out on some recent rainy days, and they kept me very dry! As the name suggests, you can also wear them over other clothes, and they work very well for this as they are quite roomy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Great Pants

Posted24 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These are great pants. Had to ride to work in heavy rain, threw these on and arrived with dry legs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Excellent trousers

Posted20 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
These trousers are ideal for being out in the rain (especially in Scotland)
Easy to pedal, keep you dry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Overtrouser

Posted05 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This is a good quality overtrouser that has already seen action in the summer rain. Kept me completely dry, much better than cheaper alternatives. Check sizing I am a 31 waist and 31 leg, waist is just about a comfortable fit so if you prefer a bit more flex then suggest trying the L for size. That said 31 leg fits perfectly and there is also an additional 3 inches tucked up in a hem that can be let out if you need them longer. Side zippers around the ankles for extra width past shoes and also good velcro adjustments around the ankles for tight fit and to avoid the chain. Overall, really good investment for my winter kit that will help on the miserably wet days, and glad I paid a little more money for a better quality product.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good waterproof trouers but are they durable?

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I cycle on average 5 days per week to with an odd weekend run in the winter so about 50 to 60 miles per week mostly commuting with a little off road stuff. I bought these over trousers at the end of November and was happy with them at first. Once you get over the crinkling noise they make when new they are indeed waterproof. They performed better than others I have owned before. There are the usual downfalls of condensation building up so not sure how bad this will be on a day with sun and scattered showers! But it's winter and they do the job well.
I had about 3 weeks off over the festive season so by the time February came I had about 5 to 6 weeks riding in them when a small hole appeared just under the back pocket. It looked like a stress point but I am no expert. Unfortunately they tore even more on the way back home and became useless. Got them replaced and this pair seem to be ok. So in summary, very waterproof and really good in the winter, good night vision graphics but condensation, noise and durability could be issues.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not breathable enough to avoid sweat
I cycle most days in most weathers 6 miles each way. Although I have yet to wear these over trousers on heavy rain I have every reason to believe that they will work well for me, especially the provision to cover to top of my foot wear. I was fortunate in being able to try these on in the local branch of Evans as I usually need "small" size clothes, but the "small" over trousers were definitely too tight; the "medium" were fine. Although advertised as "breathable" they no not allow airflow like a more expensive Gortex would and I find I want to usually turn them inside out at the end of the day to ensure that their inside surface is fully dried our and aired.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good over-trouser

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
these seem well made with good reflective details. Not worn in heavy rain yet but have no reason to doubt waterproofness.
I like the ability to alter the length of the leg by using the poppers. The downside to this is I keep catching my feet in the folded up section when putting them on. Won't be a problem if you have long legs!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value, good design

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very good quality for a reasonable Price. Nice design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not breathable

Posted14 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
They fit well, but are not breathable. It appears that Altura products do not meet descriptions given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality. Ideal for commuting

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great quality over trousers ideal for commuting but too heavy for longer rides.
Quite a generous fit but could do with being an inch or so taller at the waist as they feel a bit low slung.
Bought in the sales but probably wouldn't have got them at Full price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Pretty good

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Easy click and collect from Holborn store; these area good overtrouser and fit well over shorts or tights.
Perhaps a little on the expensive side at £50+, but satisfied all in all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Will use these on my bike as well as when I going on the water in the launch.
Would say they are expensive at £60 when jacket is £80...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Waterproof, not too sweaty and well made

Posted27 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Satisfactory waterproofing and really not to much overheating. The hi viz designs give a bit if extra confidence in visibility and nice leg adjustments to prevent chain mashup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Buy it!! see the vision!

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well firstly, trying them on first is a big part of buying within a shop...I had that chance and even better still as i thought i was an extra large but infact was in a large..you guessed it, it felt great.
They may seem a bit clown like around some parts, but these are night vision and riding in the dark may come at a more use.
Like with everything waterproof comes at a cost, these dont but dont expect to dive into the sea and come out dry, that isnt going to happen.
The velcro at the bottom is a great feature, with a pocket on the back. to some these may look like your average sports direct £2 overtrousers but Altura have got their name out and buying from a uk company is GGGG GREAAT.
Remeber get riding, even when it gets icy and dicy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Had to replace after second time of use

Posted22 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
First of all I chosen the attac version of altura for the look Always used altura clothes but this time totally disappointed on my case I got soaked wet inside as water was getting inside from the front zipper totally no sence to do a trouse with a great waterproof fabric and a waterproof side pocket zipper, and on the front a normal zipper not water resistant what so ever , make no sence to me as pushbike currier I need to stay dry inside ,have sad that I replaced for the night vision version as not zipper is placed on the area that I consider most important and so far has been doing the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good value

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to put on and tabs keep it away from chain etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great overtrousers for commuting

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bottom of trousers can drag on floor when walking
Bought these based on overall positive reviews on this site and am not disappointed. Keep me surprisingly dry for my half-hour commute and reflective bands are a plus, especially now the dark nights are here for a while. Only slight issue I have is whilst the extensions at the bottom of the trousers can be useful, they also drag on the floor a bit if you walk in them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>