Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(99 reviews) 99
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 99 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
42
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
91 out of 99Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
22 Questions | 51 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boater
from nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dry as a bone trousers

Posted20 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Wondered whether over trousers were going to be too cumbersome and sweaty but so far very pleased. These are well made and light enough to be free moving and when used with overshoes completely set up for the winter commute. Useful for walking and boating as well as cycling
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kennycam20
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good waterproof trouers but are they durable?

Posted16 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I cycle on average 5 days per week to with an odd weekend run in the winter so about 50 to 60 miles per week mostly commuting with a little off road stuff. I bought these over trousers at the end of November and was happy with them at first. Once you get over the crinkling noise they make when new they are indeed waterproof. They performed better than others I have owned before. There are the usual downfalls of condensation building up so not sure how bad this will be on a day with sun and scattered showers! But it's winter and they do the job well.
I had about 3 weeks off over the festive season so by the time February came I had about 5 to 6 weeks riding in them when a small hole appeared just under the back pocket. It looked like a stress point but I am no expert. Unfortunately they tore even more on the way back home and became useless. Got them replaced and this pair seem to be ok. So in summary, very waterproof and really good in the winter, good night vision graphics but condensation, noise and durability could be issues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FelipeW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Posted14 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not breathable enough to avoid sweat
I cycle most days in most weathers 6 miles each way. Although I have yet to wear these over trousers on heavy rain I have every reason to believe that they will work well for me, especially the provision to cover to top of my foot wear. I was fortunate in being able to try these on in the local branch of Evans as I usually need "small" size clothes, but the "small" over trousers were definitely too tight; the "medium" were fine. Although advertised as "breathable" they no not allow airflow like a more expensive Gortex would and I find I want to usually turn them inside out at the end of the day to ensure that their inside surface is fully dried our and aired.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
kinega
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

good over-trouser

Posted07 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
these seem well made with good reflective details. Not worn in heavy rain yet but have no reason to doubt waterproofness.
I like the ability to alter the length of the leg by using the poppers. The downside to this is I keep catching my feet in the folded up section when putting them on. Won't be a problem if you have long legs!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Olerud
Country:Switzerland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Value, good design

Posted03 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Very good quality for a reasonable Price. Nice design.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DrGee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not breathable

Posted14 February 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
They fit well, but are not breathable. It appears that Altura products do not meet descriptions given.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Jonathan961
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality. Ideal for commuting

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Great quality over trousers ideal for commuting but too heavy for longer rides.
Quite a generous fit but could do with being an inch or so taller at the waist as they feel a bit low slung.
Bought in the sales but probably wouldn't have got them at Full price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
J1888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Pretty good

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Easy click and collect from Holborn store; these area good overtrouser and fit well over shorts or tights.
Perhaps a little on the expensive side at £50+, but satisfied all in all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Cyd523
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Posted21 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Will use these on my bike as well as when I going on the water in the launch.
Would say they are expensive at £60 when jacket is £80...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iRideRacer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Waterproof, not too sweaty and well made

Posted27 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Satisfactory waterproofing and really not to much overheating. The hi viz designs give a bit if extra confidence in visibility and nice leg adjustments to prevent chain mashup.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
samh460
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Buy it!! see the vision!

Posted26 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Well firstly, trying them on first is a big part of buying within a shop...I had that chance and even better still as i thought i was an extra large but infact was in a large..you guessed it, it felt great.
They may seem a bit clown like around some parts, but these are night vision and riding in the dark may come at a more use.
Like with everything waterproof comes at a cost, these dont but dont expect to dive into the sea and come out dry, that isnt going to happen.
The velcro at the bottom is a great feature, with a pocket on the back. to some these may look like your average sports direct £2 overtrousers but Altura have got their name out and buying from a uk company is GGGG GREAAT.
Remeber get riding, even when it gets icy and dicy
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alencar
Country:Brazil
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Had to replace after second time of use

Posted22 November 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
First of all I chosen the attac version of altura for the look Always used altura clothes but this time totally disappointed on my case I got soaked wet inside as water was getting inside from the front zipper totally no sence to do a trouse with a great waterproof fabric and a waterproof side pocket zipper, and on the front a normal zipper not water resistant what so ever , make no sence to me as pushbike currier I need to stay dry inside ,have sad that I replaced for the night vision version as not zipper is placed on the area that I consider most important and so far has been doing the job
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jofred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Maidstone

Good value

Posted21 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easy to put on and tabs keep it away from chain etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SnowLeopard
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great overtrousers for commuting

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: bottom of trousers can drag on floor when walking
Bought these based on overall positive reviews on this site and am not disappointed. Keep me surprisingly dry for my half-hour commute and reflective bands are a plus, especially now the dark nights are here for a while. Only slight issue I have is whilst the extensions at the bottom of the trousers can be useful, they also drag on the floor a bit if you walk in them
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Palmer1888
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Superb product

Posted19 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great waterproof trousers, extra reflective strips and straps to tie in the ankles closer to the leg. it was tipping it down last week and i was bone dry!
10/10 from me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RichDoors
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps the legs dry!

Posted19 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These overtrousers really do work well. They are very light and fold up very small for storage in a rucksack. They have kept me dry on a couple of wet journeys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CBWind
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rather stiff material.

Posted17 March 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I did not find these trousers at all comfortable. The material was very stiff, and was uncomfortable close to skin. Over-trousers will not always be worn with a full underlayer. Return and refund easy and prompt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent

Posted15 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was concerned about buying the medium (I'm 5' 11' and they didn't have large in the store that day and I needed them there & then) but they have a fantastic way of extending at the bottom so I got a great fit and I'm not riding round in slightly oversized trousers! Great waterproofing and good night protection. A winner : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tonypm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

Posted27 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought as a replacement to match new jacket. Fit is ok, I am 5'10" and large is ok. Warn a couple of times and warmer than previous leggings but not sweating hot. Nice material etc. but doe not match jacket of same brand and name.
Good leg adjustment, initially worn at shortest length but have increased to max to provide better shoe cover.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dpayne69

Seem to be well made

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Haven't warn them in a real downpour yet, but seem well made, and it's great the length can be adjusted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>