Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Altura Night Vision Overtrouser

Overall rating:
4.353 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(85 reviews) 85
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 85 reviews
5 Stars
41
4 Stars
37
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
2
1 Star
1
79 out of 85(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
21 Questions | 42 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Review 1 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
boater
from nottingham
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

dry as a bone trousers

PostedOctober 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Wondered whether over trousers were going to be too cumbersome and sweaty but so far very pleased. These are well made and light enough to be free moving and when used with overshoes completely set up for the winter commute. Useful for walking and boating as well as cycling
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
RichDoors
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps the legs dry!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These overtrousers really do work well. They are very light and fold up very small for storage in a rucksack. They have kept me dry on a couple of wet journeys!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
CBWind
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rather stiff material.

PostedMarch 17, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
I did not find these trousers at all comfortable. The material was very stiff, and was uncomfortable close to skin. Over-trousers will not always be worn with a full underlayer. Return and refund easy and prompt.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Excellent

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was concerned about buying the medium (I'm 5' 11' and they didn't have large in the store that day and I needed them there & then) but they have a fantastic way of extending at the bottom so I got a great fit and I'm not riding round in slightly oversized trousers! Great waterproofing and good night protection. A winner : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tonypm
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedFebruary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought as a replacement to match new jacket. Fit is ok, I am 5'10" and large is ok. Warn a couple of times and warmer than previous leggings but not sweating hot. Nice material etc. but doe not match jacket of same brand and name.
Good leg adjustment, initially worn at shortest length but have increased to max to provide better shoe cover.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dpayne69

Seem to be well made

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Haven't warn them in a real downpour yet, but seem well made, and it's great the length can be adjusted.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BSmith
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Still dry

PostedFebruary 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Theseovertrousers seem to do the job so far. They are well thought out and seem to keep the rain out. One should always view 'breathability' with some skepticism though! After a particularly wet ride my legs were damp although I put this down to the exercise! Certainly not wet through as was the case with my previous trousers.
Overall very pleased and can't wait to put them away when the sun finally comes out.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
BikerDude
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good value commuter wear.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
These overtrousers are ideal for my 10 minute ride to the train station, and the Goretex version at double the price is definitely overkill. Good value. I an 6' 3" tall and the XL fit well in the legs and waist, and I merely let down the adjustable cuffs to get the length I needed. A very useful feature to change the length to fit your inseam, and cleverly done with snap closures. Light commuting distances show no lack of breathability. They are waterproof and light weight. Very happy with these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
NickBr
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Feels a good quality product

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
A good quality product that feels good value for money. Quite a heavy weight construction which makes them very waterproof and warm but, on the other hand, not ideal for carrying on long rides just in case of a downpour. 'Large' fit ok even though I am 'medium' in most things. A little on the baggy side perhaps. Still not sure what '3 stage leg length adjustment' means!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hman111
Country:Latvia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super

PostedJanuary 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Awsome product, Fits well, and the reflective panals really do the job when rideing in the dark.
And not to forget the super service of the customer servise people at Evans for helping with size info that helped me make my purchace.:-)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Bolshybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not as good quality as they seem

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I have had these for several years now, and although they did the job pretty well for a while, the white inner lining started to disintegrate. To the extent that when you take them off, your trouser legs look like they have been plastered with confetti. I was careful to follow the washing instructions so I am not sure what caused this. Strangely, a much older pair of Altura waterproof trousers are still in one piece, though sadly not as waterproof as they once were due to their age.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
boogiewoogie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Perfect!

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I ride a mountain bike over muddy terrain (woodland, disused railway tracks etc.) for 5-6 miles every day. I got thoroughly bored of having to wash my cycling clothes (and my hallway!) every day. I have found the perfect solution in these over-trousers. I wear them over my cycling shorts and a pair of track pants (in case of lower leg chafing) and ride through the worst rain on the muddiest of tracks and stay not only perfectly dry, but I don't seem to get the "boil-in-the-bag" sweat thing happening. I then leave them with my bike in the lock-up and walk home clean and dry - brilliant!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
lge73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Night vision big time!

PostedJanuary 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, great reflection on panels
Superb reflective patches on these trousers. They are good quality and I have confidence that they won't tear easily as some waterproofs tend to feel quite flimsy.
They are slightly oversized but they are "over trousers" and designed to be worn over clothing anyway. There are Velcro straps on the calfs and ankles to ensure a decent fit when riding.
Great product and highly recommended for our current inclement weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Iainnic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Superb bad weather trouser

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Purchased for the winter and proving worth every penny ! Highly reflective and comfortable
As with other Altura kit, good quality, breathable and designed with a good eye for function.
Proven excellent at night due to the position of the reflective
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Christy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Been in heavy rain and was bone dry. Recomend you wear overboots as the water runs down on to your feet. Very good on the whole and worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
juDDa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

excellant trousers, does everything as described

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I kept stuggling along with cheap waterproof overtrousers then finally bought these and i'm well pleased, i've been using them daily in all weather mainly commuting approx 13 miles a day, got caught in extremally heavy rain and was amazed how waterproof they are, also like the reflective stuff now the dark mornings and evenings are here.
Great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Owellyn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Good buy

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these as I had previously bought an Altura waterproof jacket that I have found brilliant. Not had much chance to use these yet in wet conditions but have worn them on late night commutes. They seem hardy but I do find I sweat inside them. Although this is a lot less than the soakings I was getting before I bought them.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magill28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great wet weather gear

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
If you're going to cycle in the rain then these are the perfect wet weather gear to wear. Easy on, comfortable and do a great job of keeping you dry.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kotzilla
Age:25-34

Good trousers

PostedSeptember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
excellent waterproof pants. in heavy rain you stay dry. Splice is the bottom leg pads.
Cons: prolonged wearing a little tight in the stomach
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Night Vision Overtrouser
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetfatguy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A must have for every road cyclist

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This baggy, medium weight, high visible trouser is a Fantastic robust piece of safety gear! Personally a must have for every commuter or leisure cyclist using roads wishing to stay dry, comfortable & be seen by traffic. The trouser has multiple pockets and zips on the bottom of the legs providing easy removal with shoe’s still on when not needed.
The reflective stripes are not over the top in your face safety but still able to provide the adequate visibility for passing motors along with the quality build /manufacturing of these trousers provide excellent value for money whilst re-insuring the rider they can been seen.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 next>>