Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket

Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket

Overall rating:
4.307 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(101 reviews) 101
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 101 reviews
5 Stars
56
4 Stars
34
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
93 out of 101(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
14 Questions | 33 Answers
Customer reviews for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Review 1 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
springer64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Genuinely poor quality product.

PostedNovember 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, not fit for purpose
Well I've worn my jacket five times. Five, that's all. Maybe three hours ride time in total. On the 4th occasion, I decided I'd use the rear pocket for the first time. Dropped in small wallet and some gloves. Ten minutes in and the wallet was around the front of the jacket, between the outer layer and the mesh lining. Inspecting the pocket showed it was completely unstitched along the bottom. Okay, no worries, I'll get the wife to stitch that, not a problem. Today (5th time on) the zip gave way. In the pouring rain. Came apart at the bottom and couldn't get it back together. Only way out of the jacket was to step out of it or pull over my head. I'm sitting at work trying to dry out! Really, really shoddy product. Terrible quality and I suspect not worth a fraction of the price paid. If I could give it half a star I would
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gradEP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Reasonably priced visible jacket

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Well fitting, wind and rain proof, found adequate protection for all year use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Exactly what i needed

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great jacket, well made. I love how light it is at the same time as keeping me warm when i cycle into a cold wind. Very handy pocket for holding my mp3 player as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
PGT123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product should be avoided at all cost.

PostedMay 20, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
This jacket although keenly priced is not very well made. Mind you they say that you get what you pay for don't they? In this instance and with this product you definitely do.
It's certainly worth paying the extra money to purchase a jacket that's zipper does not seize up and malfunction making the jacket less than useless after wearing it approximately 10 times. This seems to be a common fault with these jackets and when you contact Altura customer services they do not want to know. That's if you can get someone to answer your e-mail that is.
I'll stick to my Pearl Izumi in future and give this manufacturer a very wide birth. I can not stress enough do not buy this product or you will come to regret it as I have.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beano5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does everything you'd expect of a windproof jacket

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this jacket online for delivery to my local Evans store, it was available for pick up within a couple of days. It is light in weight and gives me full mobility no matter my position on the bike. Certainly it keeps wind and showers out. I bought it at the tail end of the winter we've just had and managed to get a few outings before temperatures improved. I look forward to riding in it later in the year. One spacious rear pocket, adjustable cuffs, snug around the neck, definite good value item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
coneybyrd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Works ok but is not breathable.Good as a wind stop

PostedMarch 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks classy Pockets are usefull and not obtstructive even when full .lightweight and easy packable. useful for walking too
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Green37
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Stylish waterproof light weight

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, very waterproof
I am really pleased with this cycling jacket. Does exactly what it says on the tin. Light weight and breathable and even in driving torrential rain yesterday I remained dry! Highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CyclonePhil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I am really pleased & would recommend the jacket

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a lightweight, waterproof and rainproof jacket and after doing some research and reading other reviews I decided upon the Altura Nevis.
I'm glad that i did, it keeps out the cold and I don't need to wear too many layers anymore, not really been tested in the wet yet but I have no reason to doubt that it will keep me dry + it has positive reviews on this score also.
Looks good too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
natalie123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

This product has great features for the price

PostedFebruary 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is superior with prompt colours (i.e. yellow version) and give me confident when cycling, other road users will see me
In addition it is warm and waterproof giving all round protections
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jim1954
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bargain cycling jacket

PostedDecember 31, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very functional jacket that is ideal in wet and windy conditions.Found the front zipped pocket ideal for personal details - contacts etc and your visa card and the rear pocket ideal for your emergencies ie pump,bars etc. Also with the high neck collar this kept out any chills. Would thoroughly reccommend this jacket.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
worjackiedog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Brilliant

PostedDecember 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Had this jacket for four years now, keeps the wind and rain out, large back pocket, even in the worst rain over the top of the moors I feel comfortable, I keep looking for another jacket but I'd be surprised if anything would beat this, very good buy
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brightonbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job at a Good price

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I have not used in heavy rain but it breaths well in rain and kept me dry. Its not as fancy as some of the more expensive jackets but as long as it keeps the water out thats what i needed. It has a large pocket on the back But could maybe have done with a couple on the front but you get what you pay for i suppose.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Robin22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Keeps you dry

PostedOctober 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
A good value jacket for commuting, leisure riding and short sports rides but not for the hard training runs as you would become very hot a damp on the inside. Downside would be storage as it would require a back pack to keep it in but for the evening rides it makes a good addition to keeping you a little safer and to date has stop the rain from coming in.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A quality product

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A quality cycling jacket, lightweight and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emptyset
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great for the price

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Simple, great jacket for an entry level price. Great for blocking wind and has kept me dry in light rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamied007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lightweight rainproof jacket

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is great for getting caught in a rain shower while out on the bike, lightweight and waterproof.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bike999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Jacket

PostedAugust 14, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Would recommend this jacket, does exactly as it says, good price and also looks great.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ElTel51
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good kit.

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Waterproof, wind resistant, light, comfy collar, bright and roomy. What more is there to say about a good quality, reasonably priced cycling jacket?...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sibbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product is lightweight and comfortable

PostedJuly 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Worn only a couple of times but already feeling the benefits to spend longer in the saddle - lightweight, comfortable, good back pocket, top chest pocket OK, wrist straps OK, yellow is bright but isn't that the idea. Little evidence of internal wetting from perspiration.
Yet to test in persistent heavy rain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Altura Nevis 2012 Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beta
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

great jacket, light, water proof so far

PostedJune 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Good jacket, you dont get too hot in it and it packs up if you need to put it in a back pack. Fit is very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 5 6 next>>