Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket

Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket

PTFE is the most breathable membrane technology currently available and is employed in performance fabrics by both Goretex and eVent. The characteristic lattice structure of this material provides superior moisture vapour transmission properties in comparison to conventional PU and TPU membranes. Test results have proven PTFE Protection to retain an impressive breathability rating of greater than 28,000gms/m2/24hrs after multiple machine washes.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
19 out of 21(90%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Footman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good Waterproof jacket keeps you warm and dry

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
really good jacket have been in several downpours in the lakes and has kept me dry and warm good fit and plenty of room in the jacket to have some layers underneath only problem is that there are some sharp edges around the neck area which did start rubbing my neck area after 3 hours of mountain biking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Chas3117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fit and features. Fantastic discount in sale which gives even better value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Spike073
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Most Awesome Coat

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Endura MT500 is the most awesome coat i have bought. It is packed with features. I bought a medium size, i weigh about 150lbs & approx 5ft 11ins tall, it fits perfectly :) There is no restriction of movement, when on or off the bike. The product itself can withstand with whatever you can throw at it, from huge down pours of rain to loads of mud or both !!!! The zips are a little stiff, but thats because it is designed to keep the rain & mud out. The vents are excellently placed providing you with a coat that will not let you sweat in it. Buy this coat it is the best :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Cro13
Country:Croatia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great "bombproof" jacket

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is best cycling waterproof jacket i ever had.
Buy it in size Large, but i have doubt about sizes and ordered size medium too, (burgundy colour wich is fantastic).
I am 178 height and 76 kg weight. Medium fits me well, but because of my stomach problems i stay with large. The other reason i stay with large is because it's more "roomy" than medium and i can also wear one layer or softshell jacket extra if it's extremly cold outside. Most important, in large i can PUT THE HOOD OVER MY HELMET when wet,wich is impossible in medium.
MT500 is one supercycling jacket. I tested it on my commuting rides and mtb rides with only base layer under, and does'nt have any signs of sweating on me. It's 100% breathable and waterproof jacket (i tested it under the shower and stay dry).
I only must say that hood is not removable, but it doesn't mean nothing to me.
Jacket has 2 huge waterproof zippers on chest wich is good for put some things in when in hurry, or to put some air when it's hot.
All in all, no mistakes with that jacket and Endura do superjob with it.
I don't Know how long it will run but for now doesn't have any signs of wearing and when i decide to buy another one, MT500 will be again.
THANKS EVANS FOR GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wanno10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Poor quality for price

PostedDecember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I bought this jacket just under a year ago, and despite it not being as waterproof as similar priced jackets, I kept it as it looked good and fitted well. 6 months in and some of the internal seams started to come away making it less and less waterproof. Sadly this week the zip stopped zipping up, rendering the jacket useless. Very disappointed to say the least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveb123445
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, pity about the Zip jam

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, well designed hood, big pockets
Inside the chest pocket right up hard against the waterproof zip is the fabric cleaning instructions. Label is soft and flexi. First time I used the pocket I stuffed my phone and wallet in and zipped shut. The label got jammed in the zip and I only realised when tried to unzip. Tried everything to get it out, but eventually had to cut the zip.
Pity because the rest of the jacket is completely amazing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gillyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom
  • Staff
  • Expert

MT500 Jacket

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have just come back from a wet four days mountain biking in north wales, the trails & riding were epic. but it was all about the jacket, it was very very good, no over heating & sweating even when climbing for an hour or two. the waterproofing goes beyond its rating i think, i used a well loaded opsprey escapist 25 back back and a giro zen helmet and the jacket was conmfortable all day. more pockets than you can imagine. i cant stress how good this garment performed, try one on, then buy one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adderzigzag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Buy one its Winter now!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had to drop a review through as this is the second Winter season with this jacket felt it best to give it a good trial first!
I have had no issues with it waterproofness, if thats a word!
I even wear it in the shower to get the mud off, rather that put it through the washing machine, again no leakage. About to try it in the machine and perhaps reproof it too, its starting to get a little smelly now!
Get one I'm sure you will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DrY49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Not waterproof

PostedDecember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive, doesn't perform main function
I'm on my 3rd after 2 returns and bumped into a friend the other day who has one, none have been waterproof atall. Done the cool iron thing and everything that's recommended.
You've been warned.
BTW I'm talking light showers on the school run not a deluge out mountain biking.
The water doesn't even bead up on this material.
I actually don't know how Endura get away with this and seriously can't believe these other reviews given all 4 jackets I'm aware of we're the same.
-4points
0of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
andy2012
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good but brighter option would be preferred

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I like this jacket - its comfortable and does what it claims to do - keeps the weather out.
However, I find the dark colour off-putting for winter conditions. A version in yellow would be good.
Another 5cm of length at the front would be of benefit.
Also, for the sizes given, the actual sizes might be a little tight. I'm on the lower side of 'large' yet if I was buying again I'd go for XL.
Bearing in mind those comments, its still a good buy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fatblokeonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is a great Jacket and I would of given it 5 stars but for the price your paying for the Zips which are basically a dry suit zip and for the extra cost you would be better of buying a dry suit. That said as I say a great jacket with loads of ventilation but its a shame you cant fold the hood away when not in use (Endura take note).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sameness
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Perfect

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use this jacket mainly for commuting, and it does the job. Fully waterproof, keeps me warm and the advantage of the large side vents means I am still ventilated without compromising dryness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beast1
from Newcastle Upon Tyne
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great looking coat!

PostedFebruary 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Tried on other endura jacket to get afeel for the size. Other jacket was quite small but ordered this anyway. Was surprised the jacket was a good fit seeing i am xxl, more fitted than other ones i own but wasn't a problem. Nice looking jacket with good features, would surgest if you want good waterproof jacket this is the one to buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
luckymike

The best waterproof and breathable combo

PostedNovember 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
In my experience, it's either waterproof or breathable and never both. This jacket is the closest I've found to both but you'l still get very hot in it after a while. For winter riding it's perfect but this will not be breathable enough for summer use. It is completely waterproof which is the main reason I bought it and will keep you dry through heavy rain. The fit and design is excellent and the fact the vents are in the front instead of under the arms (where they are as good as useless) is a well thought through design. My only complaint is the hood which could have so easily been removeable but instead, just won't lay flat and tends to get in the way. I also use the jacket for hiking and here the hood really is annoying (but essential for when it does actually rain!) All in all, an excellent jacket and certainly the best I've had despite the relatively high price tag.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
northernboy1979

Great product

PostedOctober 13, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Jacket is great almost the day I got it, I was out in torrential downpour and it kept me bone dry. Looking forward to wearing it on the trail.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dirtface
from south wales
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

awsome

PostedOctober 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
totally waterproof with great venting. Perfect fit with plenty of pockets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike434
from Australia

Fantastic, highly recommended

PostedJuly 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
As previous reviews say, this product is excellent. The rain drops simply fall off. Totally water proof, has many nifty zippers for pockets and air vents. Only criticism would be that the hood can not be rolled up. Glad I got this jacket as a waterproof jacket and not another
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Herbie85
from Hertfordshire
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good buy

PostedJune 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Looks great, keeps the rain out, tuff material for offroad, huge vents are excellent. The hood can be slightly uncomfortable at times, but when it rains it is excellent. Great features i couldnt find with any other jacket. Reasonably priced, what more can you say!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AndyC

Excellent water proof jacket

PostedMarch 29, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a great water proof jacket for cycling. All the zips are sealed to prevent water from getting inside and it has a long back to prevent water from spraying up your back. It also has elasticated hand covers which allow you to wear gloves whilst stopping water and wind going up the sleeves.
The hood is a good feature, it is too small to wear over a helmet but is useful if you need to make urgent repairs whilst the heavens are pouring down on you. I have only given this jacket 4 out of 5 stars because it is a little expensive. This is a great looking jacket that keeps the nasty British weather at bay
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardy
from Saddleworth
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

The ultimate UK Jacket?

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
The ultimate in waterproofing and coping with the best of the UK weather ! Excellent and highly recommended. On the more expensive side but worth every penny given the increasing wet weather.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>