Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket

Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket

PTFE is the most breathable membrane technology currently available and is employed in performance fabrics by both Goretex and eVent. The characteristic lattice structure of this material provides superior moisture vapour transmission properties in comparison to conventional PU and TPU membranes. Test results have proven PTFE Protection to retain an impressive breathability rating of greater than 28,000gms/m2/24hrs after multiple machine washes.
Overall rating:
4.448 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(29 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 29 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
27 out of 29(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Review 1 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ertu
Country:Hungary
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Great jacket,I bought this for biking and urban wear. Fantastic discount in sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
luciferscage
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This certainly keeps you dry!

PostedAugust 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, a hood that goes over a helmet!
I am so glad that I bought this. Two days later I cycled my normal 10.5 miles to work for a night shift in glorious sunshine for it to start pouring down at 2am and continue like this until around 9am. Consequently the ride home was soggy and very messy (part of the route home being along an old canal towpath with a sand and chalk base). The Endura MT500 Hooded jacket didn't let in one drop of water, even having the vents open and having water and road/trail grime splashed up the back.
The great bonus with this jacket is the hood, which fits over a cycling helmet. This means you haven't got water running down through the neck collar. I do have another waterproof jacket but that doesn't have a hood and in a real downpour that can make things a bit uncomfortable. One thing that might have been useful is a way of stashing the hood away in the collar when not needed.
The jacket is light, although a bit bulky when rolled up, but does fit in my small rucksack.
Sizing, I'm 6 foot tall and about a 40" chest which by Endura's size chart should mean I would need a medium, however I've went for a large to allow for a jersey and base layer underneath and this fits just fine. Medium would have been a bit on the tight side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
gazzol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product as always from Endura

PostedJuly 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is a truly awesome jacket packed full of features. When I first read about this jacket and how good it was I balked at the price, trust me it's worth every penny. Truly waterproof and packed full or features it's a dedicated cycling jacket so it has a dropped tail and a hood which will go over a helmet. Sizing is bang on so if you like a loose baggy fit go up a size.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonny61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fit, good style, practical too

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We rode for several hours in very wet weather two weeks ago en route to Paris and this jacket kept me dry. It's a great fit, has pockets in the right places and good vents. I wasn't sure about spending nearly £100 on a cycling jacket but I'm glad I did, it's a fabulous jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stuart82

Great value and great features

PostedJuly 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this as a dual purpose riding and dog walking jacket. I have to say it's done well as both. Tons of space for storage and the vents are massive to keep you cool when going up. I bought the burgundy with 50quid off making it even better value, get one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
simonb0

PostedJune 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great waterproof. Lightweight but keeps you dry. Very breathable so far, haven't overheated at all which is a really nice change.
The large side pockets are useful but difficult to open with one hand, doubly so when on the bike. I suspect the zips will get easier to open with use but its only a slight negative at the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
JPag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product

PostedMay 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Recently purchased this as a replacement for an old gill jacket which gave up the ghost. I really like the jacket, has good waterproofing and large vents to help regulate your temp when climbing. Fit is excellent and covers your bum well. Would defo recommend this product. Read some other reviews about it not being completely waterproof but if you want something like that then look in a higher price range and above 20000mm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jkonathan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

In a sea of waterproofs I was drawn to this jacket

PostedApril 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, colour
Whilst browsing through what seemed like a sea of waterproofs, this one caught my eye. I was drawn by the colour and the techy nature of the hood. I wasn't even looking for another waterproof, but felt compelled to try this one on. The fit of this jacket was instantly appealing and flattering. It has been cut with my riding position in mind, the front is slightly shorter than the back and the arms are slightly longer to compensate for my reach whilst steering. This is a mountain bike specific jacket but I also use it whilst commuting. Out on the trail I have found it to be light, packable, durable and waterproof. After a long uphill slog the breathability isn't too bad either and this is assisted by some helpfully positioned vents. On the downside this jacket isn't the best for night riding as it doesn't have many reflective strips. AlI said and done this jacket is fit for duty and has curb appeal. I bought a large in burgundy.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Footman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good Waterproof jacket keeps you warm and dry

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
really good jacket have been in several downpours in the lakes and has kept me dry and warm good fit and plenty of room in the jacket to have some layers underneath only problem is that there are some sharp edges around the neck area which did start rubbing my neck area after 3 hours of mountain biking
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Chas3117
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

PostedMarch 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent fit and features. Fantastic discount in sale which gives even better value for money
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Spike073
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The Most Awesome Coat

PostedMarch 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Endura MT500 is the most awesome coat i have bought. It is packed with features. I bought a medium size, i weigh about 150lbs & approx 5ft 11ins tall, it fits perfectly :) There is no restriction of movement, when on or off the bike. The product itself can withstand with whatever you can throw at it, from huge down pours of rain to loads of mud or both !!!! The zips are a little stiff, but thats because it is designed to keep the rain & mud out. The vents are excellently placed providing you with a coat that will not let you sweat in it. Buy this coat it is the best :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Cro13
Country:Croatia
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great "bombproof" jacket

PostedJanuary 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is best cycling waterproof jacket i ever had.
Buy it in size Large, but i have doubt about sizes and ordered size medium too, (burgundy colour wich is fantastic).
I am 178 height and 76 kg weight. Medium fits me well, but because of my stomach problems i stay with large. The other reason i stay with large is because it's more "roomy" than medium and i can also wear one layer or softshell jacket extra if it's extremly cold outside. Most important, in large i can PUT THE HOOD OVER MY HELMET when wet,wich is impossible in medium.
MT500 is one supercycling jacket. I tested it on my commuting rides and mtb rides with only base layer under, and does'nt have any signs of sweating on me. It's 100% breathable and waterproof jacket (i tested it under the shower and stay dry).
I only must say that hood is not removable, but it doesn't mean nothing to me.
Jacket has 2 huge waterproof zippers on chest wich is good for put some things in when in hurry, or to put some air when it's hot.
All in all, no mistakes with that jacket and Endura do superjob with it.
I don't Know how long it will run but for now doesn't have any signs of wearing and when i decide to buy another one, MT500 will be again.
THANKS EVANS FOR GREAT CUSTOMER SERVICE.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Wanno10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Poor quality for price

PostedDecember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I bought this jacket just under a year ago, and despite it not being as waterproof as similar priced jackets, I kept it as it looked good and fitted well. 6 months in and some of the internal seams started to come away making it less and less waterproof. Sadly this week the zip stopped zipping up, rendering the jacket useless. Very disappointed to say the least.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steveb123445
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great, pity about the Zip jam

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, well designed hood, big pockets
Inside the chest pocket right up hard against the waterproof zip is the fabric cleaning instructions. Label is soft and flexi. First time I used the pocket I stuffed my phone and wallet in and zipped shut. The label got jammed in the zip and I only realised when tried to unzip. Tried everything to get it out, but eventually had to cut the zip.
Pity because the rest of the jacket is completely amazing
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gillyrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom
  • Staff
  • Expert

MT500 Jacket

PostedFebruary 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have just come back from a wet four days mountain biking in north wales, the trails & riding were epic. but it was all about the jacket, it was very very good, no over heating & sweating even when climbing for an hour or two. the waterproofing goes beyond its rating i think, i used a well loaded opsprey escapist 25 back back and a giro zen helmet and the jacket was conmfortable all day. more pockets than you can imagine. i cant stress how good this garment performed, try one on, then buy one.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
adderzigzag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Buy one its Winter now!

PostedJanuary 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had to drop a review through as this is the second Winter season with this jacket felt it best to give it a good trial first!
I have had no issues with it waterproofness, if thats a word!
I even wear it in the shower to get the mud off, rather that put it through the washing machine, again no leakage. About to try it in the machine and perhaps reproof it too, its starting to get a little smelly now!
Get one I'm sure you will love it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
DrY49
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Not waterproof

PostedDecember 14, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Expensive, doesn't perform main function
I'm on my 3rd after 2 returns and bumped into a friend the other day who has one, none have been waterproof atall. Done the cool iron thing and everything that's recommended.
You've been warned.
BTW I'm talking light showers on the school run not a deluge out mountain biking.
The water doesn't even bead up on this material.
I actually don't know how Endura get away with this and seriously can't believe these other reviews given all 4 jackets I'm aware of we're the same.
-5points
0of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
andy2012
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Good but brighter option would be preferred

PostedNovember 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I like this jacket - its comfortable and does what it claims to do - keeps the weather out.
However, I find the dark colour off-putting for winter conditions. A version in yellow would be good.
Another 5cm of length at the front would be of benefit.
Also, for the sizes given, the actual sizes might be a little tight. I'm on the lower side of 'large' yet if I was buying again I'd go for XL.
Bearing in mind those comments, its still a good buy.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fatblokeonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 20, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is a great Jacket and I would of given it 5 stars but for the price your paying for the Zips which are basically a dry suit zip and for the extra cost you would be better of buying a dry suit. That said as I say a great jacket with loads of ventilation but its a shame you cant fold the hood away when not in use (Endura take note).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Endura MT500 Hooded Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sameness
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Perfect

PostedOctober 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I use this jacket mainly for commuting, and it does the job. Fully waterproof, keeps me warm and the advantage of the large side vents means I am still ventilated without compromising dryness.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>