Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set

Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set

The 'spokes' create a powerful ring of light when in motion, giving you and the bike an extra layer of safety on the roads.
Overall rating:
4.192 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
13
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 16 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
distantsun
from Cambridge, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These spoke lights work well. While they're not as bright as the images suggest, they definitely improve side-on visibility. Be sure to turn the demo mode off (which is on as a default) before using!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jabecca
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

They do the job

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bright and eye-catching at night, but a bit awkward to turn on/off and only really good for permanent placement on your spokes as they are quite fiddly to get on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tandemizer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

BE SEEN!

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: cannot be fixed to the wheels
Great product, easy to fit and remove. Increases side-on visibility by 1000%, makes motorists notice that there is cyclist crossing their path or alongside them. With these lights cars actually give you a wider berth and are more cautious around you in poor light and in darkness. They also turn heads! Very cool, effective and highly recommended. I'd be very happy if there was a version for permanent attachment to the wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marowak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

awesome little wheel lights

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i got these for my brompton and they add a great little extra light on the dark evenings and mornings.
they look very cool when you are travelling fast - like something from tron!
good value and easy to fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NotChrisFroome
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Does the job

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Wanted lights for my wheels. these did the trick and light up well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Camdenbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Out of battery

Posted20 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought two pairs of these for a fun night bike ride. The first pair, which luckily I have to my son were fine, but the other set was useless. One did not work and one appeared to work. I took the non-working one back to the store in Chalk Farm (London) where an attentive member of staff played around with it until he realised the batteries were dead.
Sadly by the time the night ride started neither worked more than 10 second before cutting out.
A sad waste of money
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
r0b0c0p123

Cool little addition to look awesome!

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The lights were a little tricky to fit at first, also due to the lack of a screw panel at the back which would better secure the product to the wheel spokes.
I expected the lights to be white, but they were amber. I have now got used to this however.
I love the way they light up the wheels when cycling along. They are a great product for a approachint T-Junctions and being seen from the side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
emster2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love these lights

Posted14 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great lights for spokes to be seen from the side. Not very bright but doesn't need to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lynnemarg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Extra illumination

Posted13 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Initially, my husband found that the lights switched themselves off but taking the units apart and reassembling them seems to have solved the problem. However, he didn't read the instructions first so maybe he had missed out a procedure before fitting the lights! Having been knocked off his bike twice in 4 months by cars emerging from junctions to his left (although he has 2 sets of lights and hi-viz outerwear), he feels less vulnerable now. His bike has a rosy glow when he cycles - just like the lad in the old ReadyBrek ad!
NB This product only fits round (not flat) spokes.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
antoinesud
london
 
Please wait while more information about antoinesud is loaded.
Additional information about antoinesud could not be loaded.
Posted 30 September 2014
he didn't switch off demo mode!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 10 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maverick680
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like these

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Definitely a good product for increasing your visibility, I think it's pretty difficult not to see a light that's going round in a circle and makes me feel like anyone who can't see me must be blind.
These lights can be seen from almost 360 degree's, even from the front and back but obviously with less impact than the side view.
Whilst one light on each wheel is sufficient to light you up quite well, unless you're going really fast, it's not quite the "powerful ring of light" as advertised. If you really want the ring of light, I'd suggest using 2 lights on each wheel which at £20 a set is not going to break the bank. That said, I wouldnt call these great value, it's just a bit of plastic with a light in it afterall.....
The only issue I have with these is that they can be a pain to get on and off, better to put them on and leave them on but obviously they might get nicked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmy652
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good set of lights

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good set of spoke lights for the price. Easy to install, nice and Bright. Nil concern
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skatopsihos
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

amazing lighting, easy install

Posted04 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
used these twice so far in the dark, definetely way more visible than normal reflectors, however you need some time to get used to it since your eyes will stare at the flashing orange thing under your legs instead of the road ahead.
Also I'm scared they will fall off at some point although they are pretty well fixed on the rims
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GPRTW1
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Be seen side on!

Posted15 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These lights fit easily to your spokes. Initially they appeared quite dim however they are certainly bright enough to be seen clearly when on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Slymoy
from Middlesex
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks good, but a little pricey.

Posted03 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
These look good and makes sure you are seen by other road users at night from the side. They are well made but they are on the expensive side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
singlespeedboy
from uk
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

v easy to fit

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
v good lights for my commuting , and being seen from the side by cars
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eaglesteeth
from Northampton
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought these 10 months ago as I was looking to make myself more visible at night down the country lanes near my house.
Easy to fit, still going strong now on the same batteries and definately makes me more visible in a funky way!
I'm happy with them
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sealisthenew
from Finland
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

So ugly they actually are quite cool

Posted29 September 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Unattractive
Quite easy to fit in and seem to stay in place well. Adds to visibility. Haven't really noticed a much difference in handling.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Happiyeti
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Ideal for good side-on visibility

Posted15 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Very effective at making you visible from the side. Especially useful for junctions & roundabouts.
With one per wheel you have to go very fast to get the full circular light ring effect. I might try 2 per wheel.
Note: These are often set to display mode when you buy them. This mode switches itself off in 20seconds or so. To take them off this mode: "Press and hold button until rapid flashing is observed (10 or more seconds)" easy!
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simo1
from sutton surrey
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Lights

Posted10 February 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These spoke lights are brill. They light up my wheels with a bright ring when moving and flashing mode gets you noticed when stopped . Easy to fit and easy to take out of try me mode
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CardiffCommuter
from Cardiff
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Night time safety

Posted22 November 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, do the job
They might not look very bright in the daytime, but come night fall these beauties create a wheel of fire that's easy for motorists to see, particularly when approaching junctions and roundabouts. To avoid throwing your wheel out of balance I recommend fitting both to your front wheel at either end of the wheel. I don't bother fitting them to my rear wheel as they're partially obscured by my panniers.
Excellent addition to night time cycling – a must have for commuters.
+7points
8of 9voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>