Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set

Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set

The 'spokes' create a powerful ring of light when in motion, giving you and the bike an extra layer of safety on the roads.
Overall rating:
4.152 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
30 out of 33Would you recommend this product to a friend?91%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Review 1 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from Cambridge, UK
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted28 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These spoke lights work well. While they're not as bright as the images suggest, they definitely improve side-on visibility. Be sure to turn the demo mode off (which is on as a default) before using!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Eye catching safety light

Posted16 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Looks great, great safety feature
These are certainly an excellent additional safety feature when riding in gloomy or dark conditions. They really help you to stand out, particularly to traffic which is at right angles to you, for example at road junctions and roundabouts.
Using the flashing mode not only extends the life of the battery but is also better at drawing attention to your presence in the event that you are stationary.
Fitting is easy and whilst the light requires firm pressure to turn on and off at least there is little likelihood of the light being turned on in error.
Some other reviewers have commented about the light turning off soon after being switched on. This is overcome by deactivating the "try me" mode although mine needed the button to be held for well over 5 seconds.
Using a single light on the front wheel has not produced any issues as regards the balance of the wheel, but then again mine is not a road bike with the slimmest of wheels/tyres.
Really pleased with my purchase, particularly as effectively half price in the sale.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for being spotted from the side at night

Posted09 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Good product. Feel safer with it and would buy again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great addition to your lights for winter riding

Posted14 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
These certainly will get you noticed for any traffic coming from a junction or roundabout
Easily attach to your spokes however not convinced they will stay on so had to use some string to fully tighten as nothing provided to attach them even though there are 2 little holes at both ends
Pleased with the overall product especially as half price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted05 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
These lights are quickly and easily fitted. I find them a little difficult to turn on but my husband has no problem. As they were discounted I bought 3 sets in all for members of the family. If you want to add to your visibility on the road at night and be noticed they are a good buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spoke lights

Posted05 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Really pleased with these as they are straightforward to set up and use. They also give splendid illumination side on and are a real safety feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Trendy but not worth the money

Posted10 March 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
Probably good if you're a hipster, or you want to be, but these are only really effective if you're riding when it's very dark. And in the type of environment where it's really dark, there don't tend to be many vehicles around that would be a risk to you, which makes these a bit redundant.
If you do find yourself riding in darkness and want to be seen then a reflector would be much better value for money and a good set of lights and hi-vis jacket is what you should be thinking of.
In normal night-time conditions (i.e. city riding with streetlights, cars, etc.) the effect of these spoke lights is minimal, but they do have the pro/con that people might give you a second look as you ride by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Improves your side-on visibility

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, secure fit
Cons: initial struggle to put on
These lights are great for improving your side-on visibility and although they were a struggle to put on that did give me confidence that they were very unlikely to slip off anytime soon. I think they are unlikely to get stolen as they don't look very fancy so hopefully it should be safe to leave them on my bike at all times.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

They do the job

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bright and eye-catching at night, but a bit awkward to turn on/off and only really good for permanent placement on your spokes as they are quite fiddly to get on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

BE SEEN!

Posted20 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: cannot be fixed to the wheels
Great product, easy to fit and remove. Increases side-on visibility by 1000%, makes motorists notice that there is cyclist crossing their path or alongside them. With these lights cars actually give you a wider berth and are more cautious around you in poor light and in darkness. They also turn heads! Very cool, effective and highly recommended. I'd be very happy if there was a version for permanent attachment to the wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

awesome little wheel lights

Posted17 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i got these for my brompton and they add a great little extra light on the dark evenings and mornings.
they look very cool when you are travelling fast - like something from tron!
good value and easy to fit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Does the job

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Wanted lights for my wheels. these did the trick and light up well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

Out of battery

Posted20 November 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I bought two pairs of these for a fun night bike ride. The first pair, which luckily I have to my son were fine, but the other set was useless. One did not work and one appeared to work. I took the non-working one back to the store in Chalk Farm (London) where an attentive member of staff played around with it until he realised the batteries were dead.
Sadly by the time the night ride started neither worked more than 10 second before cutting out.
A sad waste of money
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cool little addition to look awesome!

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The lights were a little tricky to fit at first, also due to the lack of a screw panel at the back which would better secure the product to the wheel spokes.
I expected the lights to be white, but they were amber. I have now got used to this however.
I love the way they light up the wheels when cycling along. They are a great product for a approachint T-Junctions and being seen from the side.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Love these lights

Posted14 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great lights for spokes to be seen from the side. Not very bright but doesn't need to be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Extra illumination

Posted13 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Initially, my husband found that the lights switched themselves off but taking the units apart and reassembling them seems to have solved the problem. However, he didn't read the instructions first so maybe he had missed out a procedure before fitting the lights! Having been knocked off his bike twice in 4 months by cars emerging from junctions to his left (although he has 2 sets of lights and hi-viz outerwear), he feels less vulnerable now. His bike has a rosy glow when he cycles - just like the lad in the old ReadyBrek ad!
NB This product only fits round (not flat) spokes.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
antoinesud
london
 
Please wait while more information about antoinesud is loaded.
Additional information about antoinesud could not be loaded.
Posted 30 September 2014
he didn't switch off demo mode!!!!!!!!!!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 17 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

I like these

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Definitely a good product for increasing your visibility, I think it's pretty difficult not to see a light that's going round in a circle and makes me feel like anyone who can't see me must be blind.
These lights can be seen from almost 360 degree's, even from the front and back but obviously with less impact than the side view.
Whilst one light on each wheel is sufficient to light you up quite well, unless you're going really fast, it's not quite the "powerful ring of light" as advertised. If you really want the ring of light, I'd suggest using 2 lights on each wheel which at £20 a set is not going to break the bank. That said, I wouldnt call these great value, it's just a bit of plastic with a light in it afterall.....
The only issue I have with these is that they can be a pain to get on and off, better to put them on and leave them on but obviously they might get nicked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good set of lights

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good set of spoke lights for the price. Easy to install, nice and Bright. Nil concern
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

amazing lighting, easy install

Posted04 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
used these twice so far in the dark, definetely way more visible than normal reflectors, however you need some time to get used to it since your eyes will stare at the flashing orange thing under your legs instead of the road ahead.
Also I'm scared they will fall off at some point although they are pretty well fixed on the rims
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Cateye SL120 Spoke Light Set
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Be seen side on!

Posted15 January 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These lights fit easily to your spokes. Initially they appeared quite dim however they are certainly bright enough to be seen clearly when on the move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>