Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chains or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain

Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain

Chain uses a directional design with specifically shaped inner and outer plates to optimise shifting over the chainset and cassette. Outer plate design has been developed to reduce the chance of chain suck. The inner plate has been developed for better contact with gears providing smoother shifting under high load, giving efficient pedalling, increased rigidity and near silent running. 5.88 mm chain width, optimised for 10-speed Super Narrow HG drivetrains.
Overall rating:
4.583 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(36 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 36 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
15
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
36 out of 36Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
12 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanIra
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Very nice upgrade

Posted30 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Since the installation of the new Ultegra 6700 chain and cassette system the gear changing has be a dream. All aspects associated with shifting through (either up or down) as be improved. I would recommend this to anyone who is thinking of an alternative/upgrade chain and cassette system.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lemon65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Excellent value.

Posted09 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Smooth changes and quiet running chain, supplied and fitted promptly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EddieMPP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain, really slides into gear

Posted22 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Great chain that's light weight and makes a real difference to gear changes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good, lightweight chain

Posted20 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality, Looks great
Chain is lightweight but robust. Care needed to fit correct way round as this is "handed". Shifts well under load. Connecting pin needs to be inserted with care to ensure that it has even protrusion either side of link.
As with all chains, may need links to be removed to provide correct length for gearing set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Deanaero
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

High quality if a little pricey

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Purchased this chain in store and had it fitted for free by the in-store mechanics. Result!
Been using the chain for a couple of weeks now and I'm pretty happy with it. Riding and gear changes are smooth. Pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
v27jam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Lightweight and Top quality from Shimano

Posted18 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this to go with an Ultegra cassette and they work very well together. Smooth shifts, well made and lightweight. Great price too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davros77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Does the job nicely!

Posted16 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It's an Ultegra chain... What can you say? Bulletproof and good value...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
thebadchimp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

good kit

Posted11 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Can't seem to do no wrong with ultegra kit - effortless with di2 shifters!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RacerRichT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin

Posted04 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I seemed to be going through the dura-ace chains fairly quickly so am hoping this one will last a little longer. It seems to change just a nice too
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alan27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Good chain

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Having previously had KMC chains with the 'quick link', I decided to try this Ultegra chain with solid pin. It was easy to fit with my Park CT5 chain tool, and I prefer the security of the solid pin over the 'quick link'.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

light and great value

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does what the reviews say. Quality is great and good value as you would expect..would recommend this chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hairyhands
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does the Job

Posted23 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted this to my Ultegra chainset replacing a more expensive chain. I can tell no difference in performance and this chain was cheaper. That said I would defy anyone to notice any real difference in performance across any of the 10 speed chains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GT3161
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Check for the pin/link

Posted12 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's a chain! Pricing was good and I have done 150+ miles without incident.
The pack didnt include a masterlink or the special Shimano pin so be carefull. I had a master link off my old SRAM chain so was OK but be careful to check the package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markv
It was bought:Online

Posted01 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this new chain as well as a new 10 speed cassette and the combination has given a quieter ride and a smoother gear change. Very happy with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triharder68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

nice light chain gives perfect shifting.

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Not worth buying unless you have an Ultegra group set. If you have welcome to smooth seamless shifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RuleV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44

Excellent ... better than 105?

Posted22 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Combined with an Ultegra crankset, even a numpty like me can feel that this chain gives smooth delivery of such power as I put through it and lovely shifting.
What I can't tell you is that it is definitely better than the 105 chain. I held both and could tell a minor change in weight but only went for the Ultegra on the basis of it being only a few quid more as it was on offer. If it hadn't been, I'd have bought the 105 and I suspect I'd have also written a glowing report of that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tummas
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really smooth

Posted30 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Smooth shifting and rolls smoothly ... I am fully satisfied!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aldoj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good so far

Posted15 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and working well so far. Looks good, light and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ffish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great Chain!

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
To be fair, you can't really go wrong with one of these chains. Excellent quality, look great (if you keep it clean!) and has lasted me about 3000km with only 0.5mm of stretch. Not sure the Dura Ace is worth the extra expense, as the Ultegra is perfectly good for all 10 speed set ups. Def recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stubbsjoshua
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great product. Great price.

Posted26 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product. Great price. Couldn't ask for much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>