Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain

Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain

Chain uses a directional design with specifically shaped inner and outer plates to optimise shifting over the chainset and cassette. Outer plate design has been developed to reduce the chance of chain suck. The inner plate has been developed for better contact with gears providing smoother shifting under high load, giving efficient pedalling, increased rigidity and near silent running. 5.88 mm chain width, optimised for 10-speed Super Narrow HG drivetrains.
Overall rating:
4.577 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 26(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MickM1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

light and great value

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Does what the reviews say. Quality is great and good value as you would expect..would recommend this chain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hairyhands
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Does the Job

PostedSeptember 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Fitted this to my Ultegra chainset replacing a more expensive chain. I can tell no difference in performance and this chain was cheaper. That said I would defy anyone to notice any real difference in performance across any of the 10 speed chains.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GT3161
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Check for the pin/link

PostedSeptember 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
It's a chain! Pricing was good and I have done 150+ miles without incident.
The pack didnt include a masterlink or the special Shimano pin so be carefull. I had a master link off my old SRAM chain so was OK but be careful to check the package.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
markv
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this new chain as well as a new 10 speed cassette and the combination has given a quieter ride and a smoother gear change. Very happy with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triharder68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

nice light chain gives perfect shifting.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Not worth buying unless you have an Ultegra group set. If you have welcome to smooth seamless shifting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RuleV
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44

Excellent ... better than 105?

PostedJuly 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Combined with an Ultegra crankset, even a numpty like me can feel that this chain gives smooth delivery of such power as I put through it and lovely shifting.
What I can't tell you is that it is definitely better than the 105 chain. I held both and could tell a minor change in weight but only went for the Ultegra on the basis of it being only a few quid more as it was on offer. If it hadn't been, I'd have bought the 105 and I suspect I'd have also written a glowing report of that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tummas
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really smooth

PostedMay 30, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Smooth shifting and rolls smoothly ... I am fully satisfied!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aldoj
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Good so far

PostedMay 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to install and working well so far. Looks good, light and good price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ffish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great Chain!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
To be fair, you can't really go wrong with one of these chains. Excellent quality, look great (if you keep it clean!) and has lasted me about 3000km with only 0.5mm of stretch. Not sure the Dura Ace is worth the extra expense, as the Ultegra is perfectly good for all 10 speed set ups. Def recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stubbsjoshua
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great product. Great price.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product. Great price. Couldn't ask for much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlanNI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product used in conjunction with 6700 crank and cassette.
Great speedy service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ogo226
Country:Gibraltar
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano chain

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great chain to a ok price.
This is my second chain and replacing old one due to bought new wheel and cassette wanted to start with all brand new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality Shimano product at a very competitive price, Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weeman

Excellent chain, very quiet

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great chain, easy to fit and very smooth running. Used this chain for several hundred miles with no problem, still running perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triniluke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good solid looking chain! Hard to really review on a product like this until you get better wear out of it, but it certainly improved my drive performance after installing, as everything was freshly set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronstoppable
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great delivery from Evans and excellent pricing

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Real easy to fit and great delivery from Evans - 5 days from order to Aussie door step. Runs oh so smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seveneleven
Country:Brunei Darussalam
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Can't feel any vibration at all, very smooth and easy to maintain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BronzeWhaler
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great running gear

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The ultegra 6700 gear is great quality running gear. Would love higher spec stuff but the ultegra gear is exactly what I can afford but is ever relaible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
leopafe
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great and lasts long

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This is a great chain that doesn't rust (several rides in the rain) and lasts long. It is not great value as it is on the expensive side, but works very well as most of Shimano chains.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Ultegra 6700/6701 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dutchess
from Orpington, SE London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good chain

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced my chain after having my bike for 6 years and recently started biking more. After having problems with my gears they adviced me to change the chain. One store in my hometown told me that I also had to change the casettes which it would make it very expensive.
I didn't change the casettes and the chain works perfectly after adjusting the length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>