Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain

Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain

Chain uses a directional design with specifically shaped inner and outer plates to optimise shifting over the chainset and cassette. Outer plate design has been developed to reduce the chance of chain suck. The inner plate has been developed for better contact with gears providing smoother shifting under high load, giving efficient pedalling, increased rigidity and near silent running. 5.88 mm chain width, optimised for 10-speed Super Narrow HG drivetrains.
Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Review 1 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ffish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great Chain!

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
To be fair, you can't really go wrong with one of these chains. Excellent quality, look great (if you keep it clean!) and has lasted me about 3000km with only 0.5mm of stretch. Not sure the Dura Ace is worth the extra expense, as the Ultegra is perfectly good for all 10 speed set ups. Def recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stubbsjoshua
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great product. Great price.

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great product. Great price. Couldn't ask for much more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlanNI
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect

PostedOctober 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Great product used in conjunction with 6700 crank and cassette.
Great speedy service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ogo226
Country:Gibraltar
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano chain

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Great chain to a ok price.
This is my second chain and replacing old one due to bought new wheel and cassette wanted to start with all brand new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Paul63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality Shimano product at a very competitive price, Thanks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Weeman

Excellent chain, very quiet

PostedSeptember 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great chain, easy to fit and very smooth running. Used this chain for several hundred miles with no problem, still running perfectly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Triniluke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good solid looking chain! Hard to really review on a product like this until you get better wear out of it, but it certainly improved my drive performance after installing, as everything was freshly set up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ronstoppable
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great delivery from Evans and excellent pricing

PostedAugust 1, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Real easy to fit and great delivery from Evans - 5 days from order to Aussie door step. Runs oh so smooth
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seveneleven
Country:Brunei Darussalam
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great chain

PostedJuly 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Can't feel any vibration at all, very smooth and easy to maintain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BronzeWhaler
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great running gear

PostedJune 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
The ultegra 6700 gear is great quality running gear. Would love higher spec stuff but the ultegra gear is exactly what I can afford but is ever relaible.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
leopafe
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great and lasts long

PostedMarch 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This is a great chain that doesn't rust (several rides in the rain) and lasts long. It is not great value as it is on the expensive side, but works very well as most of Shimano chains.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dutchess
from Orpington, SE London
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good chain

PostedDecember 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I replaced my chain after having my bike for 6 years and recently started biking more. After having problems with my gears they adviced me to change the chain. One store in my hometown told me that I also had to change the casettes which it would make it very expensive.
I didn't change the casettes and the chain works perfectly after adjusting the length.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David186186
from Gibraltar
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I buy this item once a year as it is essential to change the chain every 4000klm especially if you do a lot of climbing hills.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TheFourthMan
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good product and good service

PostedJuly 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does just what it sayes and delivered very quickly through Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
stumpyevans
from bristol
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Simply Shimano

PostedJuly 19, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
This chain runs quietly and shifts well when used with other 6700 components. It is relatively new so I cannot comment on reliability or lifespan, but expect it to be typically Shimano and last well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Brighton
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shifting chain

PostedFebruary 10, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a really good chain that will provide excellent shifting, particularly if you fit with a new cassette.
Note: this comes with a traditional pin fitment, rather than the quick links, so you will need a chain tool to fit it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mtb101
from Melbourne - Yarra Trials
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Usual Shimano Quality

PostedJanuary 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: read the instructions!
Purchased new chain and cassette, this chain is directional (holes/writing on outside) note also shimano pin fitting instructions. Works and looks great, no problems here.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny73
from Australia - Melbourne
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Ultegra 6700 10-speed Chain

PostedJanuary 6, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says.......alternative if you dont want to spend the money on Dura Ace chain
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.