Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Baskets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Basil Como Rear Basket

Basil Como Rear Basket

Overall rating:
4.636 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Basil Como Rear Basket
Review 1 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BanditPoppy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent basket

PostedJuly 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy and quick to fit. Easy and quick to remove. Large enough for a quick shop. I used to use pannier bags but now this basket is a permanent fixture on my bike. Great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OrangeB
Country:United Kingdom

Good but could do with a few security features

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, practical
Cons: insecure
Practical basket, seems to be pretty secure though I don't think it would stay on if it was knocked (but maybe that's a good thing).
I would have liked to see a gap in the mesh to allow a small padlock to be threaded through and round the rack. It's too easy to steal if left on the bike.
A standard light mount would have been good too - either a simple slot for a clip or a plate with standard touring rack mounting holes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Falcon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Versatile and very easy to clip and remove from the pannier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
somewheresilver
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female

Useful and easy to fit

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: handle could be stronger
I am finding more and more uses for this basket - it is ideal for chucking in all the random bits and pieces I end up needing for work, then with a luggage net over the top it keeps it all together over a fairly bumpy commute. Also useful for quick trips to the supermarket.
Very quick to fit and remove, only issues I've had are that you can't fit a pannier on the rack when using the basket, and that the handle feels a little flexible if the basket is heavily loaded.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rogbiz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Dead easy to put on the bike and to use

PostedNovember 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I was impressed at how good this basket is - if you have a pannier rack then this takes a few seconds to clip on, attaches securely, and easily unclips when you need to take it with you. I find it is perfect for going to the supermarket - take it round the store instead of one of their baskets, then bag up the shopping at the till and back into the basket to take home. Seems robust and I am hopeful it will last for years. The only qualification is that since it unclips so easily, you can't leave it on the bike when this is left somewhere public, as anyone can walk off with it, and it is not easily lockable to the pannier.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
cosmicgirl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit

PostedAugust 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Exactly what I wanted, it clips on easily not requiring any fixtures or fittings, and is easy to remove if you want to switch between panniers and the basket. My only reason for 4 rather than 5 stars is that it does feel like it might come off if I used it for heavy items. It hasn't and I have filled the basket to capacity, so there is no foundation to this, and this is the price you pay for the flexibility of being able to remove easily I guess.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
madwag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

excellent basket

PostedAugust 7, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I love this basket. It is easy to use with quick release and a spiffy handle that folds down when it is attached to the pannier. Great value for money.
I also recommend a bungee strap or two to keep things from bouncing out when riding.
I would also like to say that the staff at my store in Bristol are always helpful and professional.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dotdotdash
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Very practical and looks good

PostedFebruary 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
A very nice basket. Light but strong and really easy to put on and take off any bike - as long as you have a carrier! Looks good on my Pashley but would look equally stylish on more modern bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
miannini

Suspicious went down! Works great!

PostedSeptember 9, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I was worried when I opened the package: it didn´t look as it would have a strong enough grip on the rear rack.
Thanks God, I was wrong! This item grips very well and is pretty sturdy. Very easy to install or remove. Really nice item.
*PS: you may hit your heels on it if using on small wheeled bikes, like 16 an 20" foldings. Make sure you rear rack is above your leg motion circle!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silva
from Middle East
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Excellent rear basket

PostedJuly 17, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Excellent product. Make sure you have a back carrier before buying.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Basil Como Rear Basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tiredout

PostedJanuary 26, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good size and the springy clips hold much better than you'd think.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.