Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Baskets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket

Basil California Side mounted mesh basket

Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Review 1 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
funkydiva
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

basket

PostedOctober 5, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
strong well made basket ,easy on and off very usable and practical round town.
good value for money would highly recommend Evans and the basket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BrownFox
from Oxford
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Basil California Side mounted mesh basket

PostedAugust 18, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The concept is perfect for the town shopper. The product is sturdy and reliable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bennybbb

great for carrying anything!

PostedJune 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
No fiddly clips - simply hooks onto your rear rack - brilliant for dashing out.
Room for a work bag, a bag and a half of groceries, or whatever else.
Means you don't need special cycling bags to carry your stuff on the bike.
The vinyl covering is starting to wear under the hook after a bumpy tow path ride, lets see how long it lasts. Generally well built and GVFM.
Cheapest by far at Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bongoman54321
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good quality works well with rack, if you need to carry shopping this is great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dave2222222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple to use

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple to use, well made . Can't say much more but have to or the review
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MazJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Good basic product.

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: falls off!
Solidly built, plenty of space for your stuff. You may need to make some adjustments to make the basket secure though - the hooks are quite wide, so the first time I used it, the basket fell off when I hopped off the kerb. I've used cable ties to fix it on as I don't need to remove it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bellinger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Sturdy basket that you can take with you

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This was a replacement for the same Basil basket bought many years ago. It's easy to hook on and off the back panniers and is used for daily shopping. It's a practical solution that's weatherproof, light, and fairly sturdy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mattie2

PostedNovember 11, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The basket fits well on the bike rack. Good shape. Light but strong. I'm very pleased with this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
institches65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

So practical!

PostedOctober 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Fantastic practical items. Bought two - one for each side of bike. They hold loads of shopping - managed to get a £55 supermarket shop in with no problems. So quick and easy to get on and off - much easier than the velcro pannier bag previously used.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very handy basket

PostedApril 29, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought 2 of these for both sides of my rear rack. I also have the front basket. They are perfect for my grocery shopping. I put them in the trolley so that I never overbuy.
Would highly recommend. very easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dec1st

PostedJune 20, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Purchased to use on the stock rack from a 1970's Raleigh. It works great and is the only thing I could find that works with a baby seat on the back of my bike.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
vercors
from York
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Handy

PostedMay 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Handy Side basket for round town as a pannier substitute
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Basil California Side mounted mesh basket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SusanF
from EXETER
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Really useful

PostedNovember 5, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This basket is so handy. slips on and off the bike rack in an instant. is a great size for all the shopping and best bit is that its not on the handle bars interferring with the stearing, brakes and gears.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.