Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset

Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 20 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Review 1 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scottishreaper
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality build

Posted09 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
exellent build quality easy to fit and looks great
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikerjim1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Posted28 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This was brought to replace worn out chain rings. It was cheaper to buy this than new rings. Easy to fit (with right tools). Looks good .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Steven52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted06 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a good quality reasonably priced chainset. It is easy to fit and reliable. I have fitted this same chain set on three of my bikes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RogSkill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality at a good price

Posted05 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I needed to replace the old chainrings on my 2002 Specialized Hardrock, these were perfect for the bike, easy to fit and look great. Gear shifts are now super smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tony39
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This chainset looks great and performs faultlessly

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
The product was delivered promptly and was exactly as described. A mid-range product , it is well engineered and looks as if it will stand up to the average wear and tear both on and off road for many years. Gear change is smooth and precise when coupled with a new Shimano IG70 chain and HG51 8speed cassette. Excellent value for money. Tony 39
 
Products related to my review
 
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geddy1972
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

AS GOOD AS STX RC

Posted06 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
this is an excellent addition to my rebuilt handsome dog frame. i have removed the outer chainring and replaced it with a bashguard.
if only the middle and outer chainrings were alloy but for this price maybe im asking too much.
its almost as good as my stx-rc chainset that unfortunetly got ruined by the rain adn salt of too many winters commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HJ99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Strong and Sturdy

Posted15 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Very helpful Staff at the Birmingham Store and great customer service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yourm8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't forget your bottom bracket!

Posted19 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this chainring to adapt my hybrid bike giving me lower gears for touring .
I previously had a Shimano FC-M171 48-38-28 teeth chainring on a 123mm bottom bracket.
When I fitted this chainring, I also had to replace the BB for a 113mm size to keep the chainline in reach of my front mech.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Trevski
from Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy camper...I hope!

Posted20 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not fast
I purchased this chainset to replace the worn out 28/38/48 on my Giant Boulder 1, which I am rebuilding for touring. I found that this chainset requires a narrower bottom bracket than that on the bike - the inner chainring was sitting where the middle one was originally. I changed the BB from the factory 124 to a 113, and now it's all good.
I have 2 gripes.
1: With the 42T big ring, I've lost some top end on the downhills, might change to 48.
2: I went 175mm crank length, replacing 170mm, and it hurts my knees a bit - hoping it's just a settling in thing.
But, with my 175 cranks and new 22/34 granny, I con now ride up lamp posts...well, almost.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
1953
from UK
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good value chainset, smooth and quiet

Posted26 December 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This chainset has restored smooth and quiet gears to my bike, and made the gearing lower. Good value, although I do not know why buying a complete chainset is so much cheaper than buying just the worn chainrings,
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Lochalsh
from North Scotland
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My second bike was suffering from a seriously worn chainset which came to a head when my best bike was also off the road. Urgent action was required. The M410 Alvio Chainset arrived very quickly and fitted straight from the box with no issues at all.I did not even have to adjust the front shifter to get a smooth gear change. Quality good, weight reasonable for the price. Looks fine. No bedding in problems so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Compton
from Surrey
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Value

Posted21 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this with a chain and cassette.
The whole assembly was easy to fit (with the correct tools). However I needed to change the bottom bracket to 110mm, since my previous was 124mm (this was sorted by a trip to the Evans Kingston branch by some very helpful staff).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Amack
from lake district
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Evans Service

Posted24 August 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
I purchased a M410 Alivio Shimano chain set by e-mail. I received it within 48 hours, well packaged with a returns label included if it was not satisfactory.( Being Shimano I expect it to be of good quality and durability). I unhesitatingly recommend Evans for mail order, their excellent technical help and speedy delivery.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anders
from Leeds
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Shimano M410 Alivio Chainset

Posted24 February 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good value, Good quality
quality bit of kit at a reasonable price. used as part of a single speed conversion, so took the largest (42t) chainring and saved the other 2. fitting and conversion is easy, though you will need to shorter chainring bolts. tidy and subtle. GREAT!!!!!!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.