Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack

Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack

Simple, compact, strong and easily adjustable 2 bike boot rack from Saris. Narrow arm spread carries most bike sizes while hold-downs separate and firmly hold bikes in place. 4 straps secure rack to vehicle. Folds down for easy storage when not mounted. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides. PROMO OFFER: Free set of Saris Protect-o-Pads with all Saris car racks - enter code SARISPAD online. Valid while stocks last, cannot be used with any other promotion.
Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 54
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
25
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
50 out of 54(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
136 Questions | 216 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Review 1 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good value for money car rack

PostedOctober 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what it needs to. Very easy to put together. Easy storage. Would recommend, I do not see the need to pay a lot more for a bike rack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Decent 2 bike solution

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Straight forward fitting and once it's been set up the first time it's a doddle from then on. Straps just clip over the boot frame and the arms rest well in place.
Depending on the car it is possible to open the boot with the frame attached - probably not with bikes on it though. Works on my Astra.
The plastic clip-lock straps seem a bit unsecure for keeping the bikes on the rail but they have worked so far. But I do use additional strapping just to be sure. Also, the rack is not really ideally suited to anything but a standard frame geometry as the top tube has to rest across the two arms of the rack. I do manage to secure a ladies full-sus with a bent low top tube but I have to mount it under the down tube instead. Works though.
One negative - car dependent - my number plate isn't that well visible!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hazelHC

Gets the job done

PostedAugust 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this for my medium frame Carrera bike on my Honda Jazz and it works a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Edluth
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Did the job, no issues, no stress.

PostedJuly 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Simple design that did the job well. A couple of times one of the bottom hooks lost its grip but once tightened there were no more issues. As long as the bikes were spaced apart and centrally balanced the rack felt safe to use whether on the motorway or going over suburban speed bumps. Takes up much less room than some of the others on the market.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grafiti
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Highly recommended

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple and easy to fix on the car. Takes very little space in the garage.
The product has good quality materials and was at a very good price. We are very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alan1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

PostedJune 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Once I worked out how it went on the 1st time it gets a lot easier from then on, fully met my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PNWD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Simple, easy fit bike carrier, works well.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This carrier was purchased to fit our Honda Jazz and used to transport our son's bike on a 1000 mile round trip to Holland. It's good quality and the four fixing straps have good, powder coated ends for fixing into the hatchback top and under the bumper. Travelling at 70 mph on motorways and major roads it worked very well, the only issue was on two occasions one of the bottom straps came loose from the bumper. This may be due to the Jazz's design and where the carrier is positioned the 2 lower straps have only 10 to 15 cm of loose end. Having side straps similar to a saris bones would be an improvement. Overall for the very reasonable cost it worked well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Emma70

Fits well

PostedApril 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It fits well on the back of my car, but would recommend adding padding to prevent scratching paint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gaz1365
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

This product fits easily onto back of the car.

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product fits easily onto back of the car, even with a deep spoiler and the straps tighten up with no problems, but would use some rubber pads to help prevent scratches in paint.
The bikes sit nicely onto the bars and can be kept at a distance to stop scratches as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kirk04
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Beautifully simple

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, easy to take off the back of the car. Bikes feel sturdy on the rack. Haven't tried it with two on yet but can only imagine it'll make it more fixed to the rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack from Evans Cycles

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, just works!
Piers at the B'ham Evans Cycle shop fitted my Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack for me on my Skoda Roomster. Evans were very helpful and found me this solution. I love the product, am impressed with Evans Cycles and would recommend it and them to anyone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Johnny1600
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good Basic Rack

PostedMay 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I was after a reliable and simple basic rack for two bikes and this does the job very well. I was advised that there could be some side slip when fully loaded, but if the mounts are slid more towards the car then the weight distribution is better and I have experienced no 'side slide' at all when cornering. I also drive knowing I have a bike or two on the back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Richiebhoy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits Well On Both Cars

PostedMay 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: needs side straps
I found the rack to be quite straight forward to fit, its sits well on both my astra & my brothers fiesta. The only problem i feel with it is that there is some side movement regardless of how well I pull the straps. To stop this I purchased a set of extra straps which are ideal to stop the side movement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
neuro

easy to install

PostedApril 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
easy to install, you can put on and take off in 5 minutes,
When you buy the rack, be sure to purchase strips for attaching the bike and if you intend to carry children's or women's bikes order a crossbar to properly secure the bike on the rack
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bigal54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good quality and light weight would recommend this

PostedApril 4, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
simple well made product to carry no more than 2 bikes,first setup takes time to adjust all straps and find the right position on the car then everything works fine, the rack is easy to fold up after use.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A good budget carrier with the usual Saris quality

PostedFebruary 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
It takes a little time to properly adjust the Sentinel the first time you use it, but you only need to do this once and after that it's very quick to fit and remove from the car. The straps need to be tight to prevent the carrier from moving when you turn corners, but so far I've not noticed any marks on the car from either the hooks or the pads. The rack is quite light, which makes handling it easy, and I like the fact that it folds slightly to help free up boot space when it's off the rear of the car. It also has well designed bike fixing loops, which are shaped to take into account brake or gear cables running down either side of the bike's top tube and therefore protecting your bike's paint when strapped in. All in all, a quality carrier at a good price.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Line6
from Greater London
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Line6

PostedOctober 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy initial set-up, quick and easy to put on and take off vehicle
A good budget bike carrier, easy to initially set up on the vehicle and only takes a minute or two to put on and take off when needed.
It would benefit from some lateral support as movement can be seen when cornering, even a slow speeds.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bhodi
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sturdy & reliable

PostedAugust 11, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
For the price this is a good product. It takes a couple of goes before you nail putting it on so that the straps are tight, but once you've mastered it it's spot on.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Gaz12345

Saris Sentinel 2

PostedAugust 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
The product it self is solid and easy to set-up.
However, with my Ford Focus the narrow rests from the car rack does make the product sway from side-to-side. I purchased further straps to pin the rack down, which has sorted this problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
teapot
from South coast
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not the best purchase

PostedJuly 17, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: sideways rock
Fitted to the car easy enough and the built in straps good for securing the bikes.
Thick sponge pads to protect the car body but found that when turning corners a lot of sideways movement. Maybe because of the thick sponge pads and the narrow arm spread. Would recommend extra straps to prevent the sideways rocking.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>