Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Car Racks or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack

Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack

Simple, compact, strong and easily adjustable 2 bike boot rack from Saris. Narrow arm spread carries most bike sizes while hold-downs separate and firmly hold bikes in place. 4 straps secure rack to vehicle. Folds down for easy storage when not mounted. Pleae see the suplier site for compatibility guides.
Overall rating:
4.164 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(61 reviews) 61
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 61 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
27
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
4
56 out of 61Would you recommend this product to a friend?92%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
169 Questions | 252 Answers
Customer reviews for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Review 1 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to use and quick to fit

Posted19 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Really easy to fit, bikes attach securely fits my mtb and road bike with no problems can still open boot with rack attached as well which is handy
Folds easily for storage
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great item, good value and easy to use.

Posted13 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
This rack was easy to put together, secured the bikes well, was excellent value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Avoid

Posted29 July 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
Although not complicated, the instructions actually made it harder to assemble. Once attached seemed to flimsy. Had no confidence in the product whatsoever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

Posted02 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Easy to attach to car and carries two bikes with no problem at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Solid

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
This carrier is a lot sturdier than I thought it would be. Fits my hatchback very well and fitting is easy.
One thing I will be purchasing is a couple of separate side straps. This is more for my peace of mind.
Lifting the bike on and off is easy but my bike cables run under the top tube so they do get caught up a little. This is just knack and you'll get into a best-routine soon enough.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saris Sentinel 2 bike car rack

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: none
This is a great cycle carrier, fits my 2002 BMW 330Ci Clubsport perfectly. Clears the boot spoiler no problem at all and is secure when loaded with two full size adult bikes. As for Evans Cycles they are a dream to deal with, fast delivery and posted to Northern Ireland cheaper than I could source locally.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Good Product

Posted03 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good product, used it on my peugeot 308, it can be a litte bit difficult getting smaller bikes on but once they are on it is pretty sturdy.
This works fine on hatchbacks as i was initially a little apprehensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

Good value for money car rack

Posted14 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Does what it needs to. Very easy to put together. Easy storage. Would recommend, I do not see the need to pay a lot more for a bike rack
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Decent 2 bike solution

Posted29 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Straight forward fitting and once it's been set up the first time it's a doddle from then on. Straps just clip over the boot frame and the arms rest well in place.
Depending on the car it is possible to open the boot with the frame attached - probably not with bikes on it though. Works on my Astra.
The plastic clip-lock straps seem a bit unsecure for keeping the bikes on the rail but they have worked so far. But I do use additional strapping just to be sure. Also, the rack is not really ideally suited to anything but a standard frame geometry as the top tube has to rest across the two arms of the rack. I do manage to secure a ladies full-sus with a bent low top tube but I have to mount it under the down tube instead. Works though.
One negative - car dependent - my number plate isn't that well visible!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Gets the job done

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I bought this for my medium frame Carrera bike on my Honda Jazz and it works a treat.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Did the job, no issues, no stress.

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Simple design that did the job well. A couple of times one of the bottom hooks lost its grip but once tightened there were no more issues. As long as the bikes were spaced apart and centrally balanced the rack felt safe to use whether on the motorway or going over suburban speed bumps. Takes up much less room than some of the others on the market.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Highly recommended

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Simple and easy to fix on the car. Takes very little space in the garage.
The product has good quality materials and was at a very good price. We are very happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Posted29 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Once I worked out how it went on the 1st time it gets a lot easier from then on, fully met my needs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Simple, easy fit bike carrier, works well.

Posted05 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This carrier was purchased to fit our Honda Jazz and used to transport our son's bike on a 1000 mile round trip to Holland. It's good quality and the four fixing straps have good, powder coated ends for fixing into the hatchback top and under the bumper. Travelling at 70 mph on motorways and major roads it worked very well, the only issue was on two occasions one of the bottom straps came loose from the bumper. This may be due to the Jazz's design and where the carrier is positioned the 2 lower straps have only 10 to 15 cm of loose end. Having side straps similar to a saris bones would be an improvement. Overall for the very reasonable cost it worked well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5

Fits well

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
It fits well on the back of my car, but would recommend adding padding to prevent scratching paint.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

This product fits easily onto back of the car.

Posted23 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
This product fits easily onto back of the car, even with a deep spoiler and the straps tighten up with no problems, but would use some rubber pads to help prevent scratches in paint.
The bikes sit nicely onto the bars and can be kept at a distance to stop scratches as well.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Beautifully simple

Posted03 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Easy to fit, easy to take off the back of the car. Bikes feel sturdy on the rack. Haven't tried it with two on yet but can only imagine it'll make it more fixed to the rack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack from Evans Cycles

Posted07 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, just works!
Piers at the B'ham Evans Cycle shop fitted my Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack for me on my Skoda Roomster. Evans were very helpful and found me this solution. I love the product, am impressed with Evans Cycles and would recommend it and them to anyone else.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good Basic Rack

Posted01 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I was after a reliable and simple basic rack for two bikes and this does the job very well. I was advised that there could be some side slip when fully loaded, but if the mounts are slid more towards the car then the weight distribution is better and I have experienced no 'side slide' at all when cornering. I also drive knowing I have a bike or two on the back!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Saris Sentinel 2-Bike Car Rack
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fits Well On Both Cars

Posted21 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: needs side straps
I found the rack to be quite straight forward to fit, its sits well on both my astra & my brothers fiesta. The only problem i feel with it is that there is some side movement regardless of how well I pull the straps. To stop this I purchased a set of extra straps which are ideal to stop the side movement.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>