Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots

Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots

Overall rating:
4.407 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
25 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Review 1 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Perfect energy boost

Posted23 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Great for having loose in a saddle bag, a refreshing energy boost for mid to end of rides. Used constantly over a 100 mile sportive with great results. Nice flavour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent, easy to use on the go

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I got these after I tried a friends PowerGel shots and they are ideal for stuffing in a pocket and grabbing on a ride. They are fairly soft, easy to eat (good size) and taste good! Little bit of caffeine too, just to give you a boost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

PowerBar Gel Shot cola

Posted17 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tasty, texture
Prefer these to gels and a great taste, shame there are not more in a pack
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great replacement to gels!

Posted19 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Perfect if you don't like or can't take gels! Taste great. Expensive per packet though!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Addicted to these

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, taste great
Cons: Expensive
i am addicted to these. Taste like a certain brand of children's sweets and give you a good kick when struggling on a cycle or as I tend to use them on my weekly half marathon run. Just miss out on a top score as pricey for what it is.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nothing taste with little caffeine kick

Posted02 January 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
At this price I'd prefer to use gels rather than the hassle of getting these out of packets.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tasty - like cola bottles

Posted05 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
mmm I like these. its like having cola bottles. no so many carbs per pack tho, so it does take up a bit of room but the taste is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty, energy boost

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are great. Provide a nice change from bars or gels. The Cola flavour taste great and also include a small caffeine boost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent energy quick fix when running or cycling

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to carry and lovely taste. I have used them for years and Evans is now one of the only shops which sell individual packs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to take on long runs

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to take
I have used these for my marathon training and find them gentle on the stomach and easier to take than gels. Give you a real energy boost 5-10 mins after swallowing. They don't taste too bad either!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good little kicks

Posted18 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tastes great
Great little shots good for a small hit when needed and they last once opened so you don't need to have all at once
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom

Good product

Posted19 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My son use's these for his running and feels they give him a boost when required as he does not drink caffine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted31 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Love these little gels. Fast acting and great taste. Beats some of the other brands out there hands down. Amazing how many people you ride with have never tried them / seen them. Always take an extra packet to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tasty and easy to carry

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, tasty, easy to use
I carry a couple of Power Ride Shots in my back pocket on long runs and during races. They give me a boost of energy just when I need it most. They have a great lemony taste, with just the right texture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Funny energy 'candy'

Posted13 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does what needs to and if you are a candyholic like me, its defo worth a shot.
Actually even has a little bit of protein in it which is great especially for training sessions on the road, so the recovery is easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Eqivlent to nealy two gel packs for £2.00

Posted12 July 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cola flavor tastes like cola bottles =:-) and are a lot cleaner to eat than gel packs but you still need to drink lots and lots of water with them or you feel sick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting

Great tasting, and easy to eat and digest

Posted28 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Will be buying again - taste good, and easy to digest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Finally, I've found a tasty energy sweet!

Posted12 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, great taste
Not a cyclist but a runner & struggled to find energy sweet that is not too sweet/sugary/grainy/tastes horrible! These sweets seem to melt in teh mouth and therefore easy to run with. Not overly sugary, they;ve got a great cola taste....bit like old school cola bottles!.....and give you that caffeine kick right when you need it. Have got me through 1 marathon so far and have another 2 this year that they are already helping me through the training for. Lightweight to put in your bag and Evans cycles are really great price. Recommended them to lots of friends who also get on with them. Will be recommending them to lots more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
from Newark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sticky Energy

Posted06 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great variety from the normal Gel or bar, and something to just nibble at as you go along. Great taste, not as strong as gels. Only downside is that they are sticky getting out of the packet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great energy fix

Posted30 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These are great to have on you for any long rides and you only need a couple for any real length of distance covered. Easy and compact and lightweight to travel with compared to a bar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>