Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots

Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots

Overall rating:
4.476 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Review 1 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
c14ops
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tasty - like cola bottles

PostedAugust 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
mmm I like these. its like having cola bottles. no so many carbs per pack tho, so it does take up a bit of room but the taste is worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScottR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Tasty, energy boost

PostedJune 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These are great. Provide a nice change from bars or gels. The Cola flavour taste great and also include a small caffeine boost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CelineS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent energy quick fix when running or cycling

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy to carry and lovely taste. I have used them for years and Evans is now one of the only shops which sell individual packs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kimbobs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy to take on long runs

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: easy to take
I have used these for my marathon training and find them gentle on the stomach and easier to take than gels. Give you a real energy boost 5-10 mins after swallowing. They don't taste too bad either!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BobNasty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good little kicks

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, tastes great
Great little shots good for a small hit when needed and they last once opened so you don't need to have all at once
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chicruns
Country:United Kingdom

Good product

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
My son use's these for his running and feels they give him a boost when required as he does not drink caffine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BC40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Love these little gels. Fast acting and great taste. Beats some of the other brands out there hands down. Amazing how many people you ride with have never tried them / seen them. Always take an extra packet to share.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bornagainrunner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tasty and easy to carry

PostedOctober 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, tasty, easy to use
I carry a couple of Power Ride Shots in my back pocket on long runs and during races. They give me a boost of energy just when I need it most. They have a great lemony taste, with just the right texture.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Barbulda
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Funny energy 'candy'

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Does what needs to and if you are a candyholic like me, its defo worth a shot.
Actually even has a little bit of protein in it which is great especially for training sessions on the road, so the recovery is easier.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alec78uk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Eqivlent to nealy two gel packs for £2.00

PostedJuly 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cola flavor tastes like cola bottles =:-) and are a lot cleaner to eat than gel packs but you still need to drink lots and lots of water with them or you feel sick!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ktp1
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Commuting

Great tasting, and easy to eat and digest

PostedMay 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Will be buying again - taste good, and easy to digest.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Claudia307
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Finally, I've found a tasty energy sweet!

PostedMarch 12, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, great taste
Not a cyclist but a runner & struggled to find energy sweet that is not too sweet/sugary/grainy/tastes horrible! These sweets seem to melt in teh mouth and therefore easy to run with. Not overly sugary, they;ve got a great cola taste....bit like old school cola bottles!.....and give you that caffeine kick right when you need it. Have got me through 1 marathon so far and have another 2 this year that they are already helping me through the training for. Lightweight to put in your bag and Evans cycles are really great price. Recommended them to lots of friends who also get on with them. Will be recommending them to lots more!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jjlyall
from Newark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sticky Energy

PostedFebruary 6, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great variety from the normal Gel or bar, and something to just nibble at as you go along. Great taste, not as strong as gels. Only downside is that they are sticky getting out of the packet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMK24
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great energy fix

PostedJune 30, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
These are great to have on you for any long rides and you only need a couple for any real length of distance covered. Easy and compact and lightweight to travel with compared to a bar.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Chewbikker
from North East
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great tasting instant hit

PostedApril 28, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
I really like these as a great tasting instant hit. just when you feel a like a little boost these are great for a simple quick boost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CKAarhus
from Denmark
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedSeptember 7, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Fast energy and with nice flavour, easy to take, use these when you hate swalloving gel.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
philsalway
from Cambridge
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Powerbar Rideshots

PostedAugust 2, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: taste great, gave me an energy boost
Cons: Expensive
These are really good, I'll definitely use them again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fish
from Winchester
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female

Very easy to carry, very easy to chew, very good!

PostedJuly 14, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I run long distances and also compete. So I was looking for an energy boost which was easy to carry but also taste good and not sticky. This product ticked all the boxes. You can leave it in your mouth and let it melt or simply bite into it and enjoy it. So even a bit of fun while you run.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Druss010
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Energy boosters

PostedJune 11, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I find the Rideshots a really good way to get an energy boost towards the latter stages of a hard ride. The energy and caffeine do seem to have a definite effect and really provide a kick when you're flagging. The cola flavour is very nice too. They taste more like good old cola bottles rather than energy food!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Powerbar PowerGel Energize Shots
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
lefrog
from Devon
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Rubbish

PostedMay 10, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
I think this product is not design for people on bike. you put it in the back pocket ride for an hour or event less and then you want one.
the opening is easy enough so you can do it on the go but i dare anyone to reseal the bag while riding. the next challenge would be to actualy get them out of the packet, half melted all sticky they just won't come out. So you reach in for one and the mess start sticky finger galore you now have a stick glove, handle bar and gear shifter.
they you pop one in and they just taste like the cola bottle you had when you were a kid no better.
Just a waste of money buy yourself a packet of jelly babies they are less messy and cheaper.
If you are a walker they probably will be fine....
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>