Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket

Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket

Sold Secure Rating: Silver
Overall rating:
4.469 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 32(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 9 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Review 1 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anteater
from Rome, Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Convenient sized lock

Posted22 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
As U-locks go this one appears pretty secure and has the added benefit of being small (and therefore, lighter) than the longer models. Paired with a cable with loops you can lock the front wheel to the bike too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Jakie272
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too small for me...very good as second lock though

Posted21 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Uncomfortable
Lock is good and strong however too small to go across bike n poll.
Very good as second lock though...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laidbackrider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good things come in small sizes

Posted06 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: small locking capacity
I bought this for 2 uses: as a lightweight D lock for day rides and for use as a secondary lock in town. Its small, neat, and considerably lighter than a full size D lock. Its small size works both ways; makes it harder for a thief to burst the lock , on the other hand its too small to safeguard a wheel in addition to the frame. Because of this IMO its primarily a secondary lock.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Andymck
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Cracking piece of kit!

Posted02 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great piece of kit, good size (not too big to stick in a bag), and easy to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Label
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female

Perfect second lock

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Really sturdy, very small lock, ideal as a second lock, although it's tiny so only really good if you can find a proper bike stand or railings you can fit your handlebars through.
Lightweight for what it is, I haven't tried the bracket, but I can carry it in my bag without really noticing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
christina13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Clapham

Sturdy but a bit stiff

Posted15 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
It does the job but I find it a bit difficult to lock/unlock sometimes as it's a bit stiff.
Easy to attach to bike
Fairly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
atreceno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Perfect size but only silver security

Posted14 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, perfect size
Cons: only silver
This lock has the perfect size to lock the back wheel and the frame at the same time. Unfortunately, it has only silver security. A-bus U-mini 401 has the same size and gold security. It is also more expensive, though.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Nice and compact

Posted27 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, compact
Cons: rattles
Does the job well. It is designed to fit neatly round the neck of the frame so there is limited access for a saw. Because of it's neat fit, it prevents your bike from falling over if secured to a single post or if some idiot wants to mess with it they will soon give up.
I previously owned the larger of kryptonite locks (silver colour) and I much prefer this. Light, compact and easy to carry. I'm going to buy a belt holder for efficiency.
I marked it down a star because it rattles a bit in the barrel when locked up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
succulent
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted23 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Easy to fit and much lighter than than the normal one. brilliant service and price. Evans always the best.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice lock

Posted20 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Nice, compact, lightweight lock.perfectly suitable for smaller frames with non quick release wheels. Will fit round rear frame/wheel and most bike racks with ease. Not recommended for mountain bikes with quick release wheels.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dram45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Solid and Secure

Posted01 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: great quality, great security
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
A compact and robust lock. Perhaps too heave for some to carry every day, but perfect for leaving attached to your favourite railing.
Kryponite quality throughout and a choice of optional 'insurance' features.
It's at the upper end on pricing, but, with such great quality, will provide long-term value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Serge76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Strong mini-lock

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This lock is light and portable. I'm happy leaving my racer around town secured with this mini-lock. 3 keys provided. Great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
John74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Good quality lock

Posted18 August 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought a new bike (Marin Larchwood) and struggle to find a lock that would fit the frame for carrying. This lock fits well and even though it is small I have been able to lock the frame to railings easy. It does rattle a little when carried in the mount on the frame, but think most locks of this type do. It is of good quality and gives confidence that bike will still be there when you return. Due to it's size it is fairly light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PrinceRock
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light, easy to carry and use, Solid Secure rated

Posted10 May 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, easy to use
The first thing you notice when you get this lock is how tiny and light it is. I was initially sceptical that it wouldn't be big enough to lock my bike with but I needn’t have as this lock is just about perfect. It's dead easy to use and because of its diminutive size you can sling it in your bag and forget about it.
If you are looking for a Solid Secure rated lock which you can take with you everywhere you go then look no further this is a true stand out product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iMess
from Exeter
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent product

Posted03 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After recently returning to cycling from an 11 year gap, this is my favourite product after the bike itself! Very sturdy and weighted in the right places. Also comes with a bracket to mount which is also very solid, maybe a bit difficult to mount but stays in one place and hasn't shifted.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Lennart
from Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Lock!

Posted29 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock is a great, safe lock!
I use it for my fixie, with a rather thin frame and the mini-lock works fine for it. For MBT i would suggest the bigger brother.
This mounting thingy that comes with it is not really good, i would suggest the belt-holder for it!!!!
But anyways, it's a really good and safe lock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matamon
from Winchester
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Great Lock!

Posted07 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
This is a great lock, especially when combined with the 4ft kryptonite cable. It is good at what it does, although mine rattles a bit over some of the rougher terrain.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Commuterjohn
from Cardiff
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kryptonite evolution mini lock

Posted14 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This lock is not the same build as the evolution series 4 lock.
It has a bent foot design with only one lock as opposed to the series 4 which has a double bolt lock and thicker shackle.
However it is a good little lock which will foil anyone with a mini jack trying to open it as there is no room to get it in.
It is large enough to easily lock the cross bar to a cycle rack or railing but is a squeeze on my mountain bike to lock the frame and back wheel to a rack.
However I use it with an Abus Bordo lock as my second lock and have had no problems with the bike security.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jp1979
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

decent lock

Posted16 April 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this lock to conform to insurance requirements as it is silver-rated. For a solid lock is relatively light due to its size.
Before buying it you should consider whether or not you are often wanting to lock your bike to lampposts as the lock is not big enough to fit around them - for bike racks it's fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite Evolution Mini Lock with Standard Bracket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
READYSTEADYGO
from Great Yarmouth
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

GOOD PURCHASE

Posted19 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
A very good solid lock on the heavy side but that's normal for more security recommended indeed as I have 2 of them one for each wheel. Also Evans themselves will do a price match which make it a better value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>