Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

Overall rating:
4.815 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 27(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vytas
Country:Lithuania
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Heavy. Good quality. Complicated fitting. Poor label colours quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atreceno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Simply the best lock

PostedMarch 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I was looking for a good lock for a long time. When I came across this lock I thought: "this is the one". The size is perfect to use it grabbing the back rim and the frame at the same time. The only inconvenient is that you will need a back pack to carry it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twango
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very rigid lock

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a very heavy, rigid and robust lock. A thief who actually manages to break this lock almost deserves to have my bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaColonel
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Piece of mind!

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great heavy!! duty lock, although its the mini version, i can still lock both the back wheel and frame to most bike racks in Sydney.
Their is no bracket to attach to the frame, however it locks around the seat tube and seat stays quite nicely...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alex1223
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

secure

PostedSeptember 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good lock easily locks bike through frame and rear wheel with extra space to lock to normal cycle frame
Is heavy but to be expected. Includes 3 keys probably best to price match elsewhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rest assured

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I use this in combination with an Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock for ultimate piece of mind. It's been nearly 2 years and not a worry. The Fahgettaboudit is small, solid and locks my back tyre to the frame. The only problem is stowing away the lock while riding - I've resorted to locking it around my rear rack and bike frame where it just fits, but this is something that definitely needs consideration.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shaow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tough, small, heavy

PostedJune 19, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, deterrent
Cons: Heavy
although its a mini size, I've had no trouble using it to lock up the bike frame at crowded cycle stand at work. It is a bit more tricky trying to get both the front wheel and frame in together, but I've bought the 4 foot krytoflex which goes around front and back wheel with the mini lock on the top tube.
its very sturdy, AND heavy. The only carrier I could find that straps this to the bike was the kryptonite handlebar carrier, which hold the lock very well.
For whats its worth, I've registered the lock and the bike to take advantage of the kryptonite guarantee, but from what I understand they only pay up if the bike's stolen because of a fault with the lock and you can return the broken lock to them....!
I would highly recommend. Can't argue with Sold secure Gold Rating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dan17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock Solid

PostedJune 18, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: secure, thief deterant, thick, strong, well built
Cons: Expensive
If you want your bike to be safe I highly recommend this lock. Yes it is heavy, but you wouldn't trust it if it was feather light would you?
I have this lock and a Magnum 300 D-Lock, which is larger and weighs a little less. If I could only take one with me it would be the Kryptonite Fahgettaboudit. It fits perfectly around a bicycle pole, through the seat stays and back wheel, meaning a thief would find it incredibly difficult to get any tools or machinery inside the U to perform a leverage attack. The thickness is unreal. From the description you imagine it to be thick but it looks even bigger then I expected.
A frame mount of sorts might have been a nice addition but no real issue for me as I carry it in my backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Parabiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Forget about using any other bike lock

PostedMarch 10, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
My first impressions were that "its a bit heavy", However,its that way for a reason.
Its the type of lock that puts my mind at ease when Im away from my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ello

Its very heavy

PostedAugust 22, 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Its solid which would help deter thieves. However it is very short so unless you use it just to lock your wheels to a bike stand, you would need a cable to lock bike frame to any fixed object, which kind of defeats having a solid lock as cables are less of a deterrent and means you have to carry 2 things
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chel
from Guildford
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

New bike, new lock

PostedJuly 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The thought of having my new bike stolen was too much, so I bought what looked like one of the strongest locks on the market at the same time. I was a bit worried about its heaviness (which was why I chose the mini size) and about its ability to fit round my bike and cycle racks. In the event, however, I'm hardly aware of its weight when I'm cycling around. Some stands do make it a challenge to find a way of locking up both frame and wheel - but a cable is the answer to that. The mechanism operates slickly and I love the light on the key. The marketing blurb does this lock justice - it's made all my other locks feel like copper piping in comparison.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yoko
from surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Peace of mind

PostedJune 23, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
MG, this is really heavy! It weighs exactly 2 kg. Though this does look trustworthy.
I have happened to find out that this Mini Lock snugly fits on Brompton's seat post (cylinder sits on the stay where you hook the bungees. See the picture) .
I believe the quality of this lock is superb, but a little bit concerned this is too heavy to carry around. So 4 stars.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhilJ

PostedJune 8, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This thing is TOUGH, it appears a lot more substantial than any other D-lock I've used and the price wasn't bad either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jollycamel56
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

thicker, small, making it a nightmare to confront!

PostedMay 26, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, heavy!
I've shopped around and nothing is better than having your bike in house next to you while you sleep!
Second to that is lock!
1. It is chunky cpmpared to other models making it a nightmare and a lengthier process to cut through!
2. It is small which makes it sit tighter to the frame of the bike, someone thinking of cutting or using some sort of leverage will be trying what ever they can to avoid damage to the frame
3. It just looks mean!
Who cares if it is heavy, it provides that piece of mind that they'll need extra time to get through this lock if they attempted to steal your bike, more time means more risk for the thief, Happy days for us.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrishall
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

PostedMay 2, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, sturdy
This is a great lock. Although the shank is too short if you wish to put it through your rear wheel & connect it round a post. However this can be overcome with a cable. This is a heavy item though I don't see this as a con. As for the price, well what price do you put on your beloved bike?
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
from Bristol
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy but STRONG

PostedMarch 29, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, tough, replacement keys
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, not suitable for locking more than one bike
This is one heavy lock and doesn't come with a frame mount. But this thing is seriously tough. I was looking for the 'ultimate' lock for those occasions when I can't avoid leaving my Brompton in public. It's also quite stubby, making car-jack attacks very difficult. To be honest, a thief would be better off cutting the bike frame or rack rather than this lock. Kryptonite also provide replacement keys if required, and have a guarantee to replace your bike if it's stolen in the first year. If you need to lock up more than one bike, you'll have to get an additional cable to wrap around.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AngelVideyra
from London
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

great lock

PostedJanuary 22, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
this is the strongest U lock you can get., this is definetly reliable lock. strongly suggest
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Streethawk
from Manchester
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

The best bike lock around

PostedDecember 30, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, strong
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
So long as the weight isnt a problem, simply buy this and you'll never have to worry about your bike again.
I'm a big guy, and i cant even flex the loop when its separated from the bar. Locking mechanism is slick and there's a cover for the key hole to keep debris out.
Its a shame there's no frame mounting kit included for this price though.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afterthought
from Stockholm
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Rock solid

PostedOctober 20, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Ordered the Fahg Mini online from Stockholm and and it took just one week to be delivered to my door so the service from Evans was great ! The lock itself is very solid and gives great peace of mind. My two points of concern before buying the lock were the size and weight. The size is perfect and have not once wished it was slightly bigger. The lock is heavy but again it hasn't worried me at all. OVERALL AN EXCELLENT LOCK THAT I WOULD VERY HIGHLY RECOMMEND.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mgmazz
from Glasgow
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does exactly what it says on the tin!

PostedSeptember 28, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This is a great lock by any measurement. After having had two bikes stolen over the past year I was looking for something that was indestructable.
It was actually the policeman who was dealing with the theft of my second bike that recomended this lock to me. He said that anyone trying to steal a bike secured with this lock would be more likely to try and cut through what the bike was attached to before attempting to cut through the lock.
One minor point, this lock is HEAVY!
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>