Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 32Would you recommend this product to a friend?97%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Review 1 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
arte
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy to carry but a thief would not snap it off

Posted11 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
at 2kg it is heavy to lug around, but having had a close look at its construction I would suggest that a thief would need some heavy duty equipment and a quiet secluded place to cut it off. The only problem I found was that the keys were a bit sticky in the lock at first and I had visions of having to cut it off myself. I would recommend that you work the keys in the lock a few times until it operates easily. It would be easier for a thief to cut the bike frame than attempt to remove this lock!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WonkoTheSane
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Heavy but super strong

Posted06 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, solid
Cons: Heavy
I can't imagine anyone breaking this, even with tools.
It does weigh down my bag a bit, but I suppose you'd weigh it up against what your bike's worth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anteater
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Heavy duty lock / reasonably convenient size

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
This lock is smaller than the very hefty larger NY lock - which means it is easier to transport around. It certainly seems alot more sturdy than the Kryptonite mini - and both sides of the D need to be cut to release it.
Locking around back wheel + frame + post is generally pretty easy (larger posts are a problem) - but works with metal fencing, street signs etc.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JacobDK
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Possibly the best U-lock out there

Posted06 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, heavy, strong
Cons: Heavy
I received this U-lock approximately a week ago, and couldn't be happier. It's big, heavy and strong, I have no doubt that it will keep my bike safe in the city, as well as anywhere else. It's big enough to lock the bike to stuff, and mini might not be the correct name for this.
Of course the heavyness of the lock, also requires one to be sure of the use of the product. I do use the lock for commuting as well as inner city biking, which is quite okay, since I have a good bag with a u-lock holder as well. If it was purely for commuting, and it was parked in a low-risk zone, I would consider a lighter lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Henkan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Heavy lock

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Probably on of the best but very heavy. It doesn't come without a bracket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vytas
Country:Lithuania
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Heavy. Good quality. Complicated fitting. Poor label colours quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
atreceno
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Simply the best lock

Posted14 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I was looking for a good lock for a long time. When I came across this lock I thought: "this is the one". The size is perfect to use it grabbing the back rim and the frame at the same time. The only inconvenient is that you will need a back pack to carry it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twango
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very rigid lock

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is a very heavy, rigid and robust lock. A thief who actually manages to break this lock almost deserves to have my bike!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DaColonel
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Piece of mind!

Posted03 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Great heavy!! duty lock, although its the mini version, i can still lock both the back wheel and frame to most bike racks in Sydney.
Their is no bracket to attach to the frame, however it locks around the seat tube and seat stays quite nicely...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
alex1223
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

secure

Posted01 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Good lock easily locks bike through frame and rear wheel with extra space to lock to normal cycle frame
Is heavy but to be expected. Includes 3 keys probably best to price match elsewhere
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dec3
Country:Australia
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rest assured

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I use this in combination with an Abus Bordo Granit X-Plus Folding Lock for ultimate piece of mind. It's been nearly 2 years and not a worry. The Fahgettaboudit is small, solid and locks my back tyre to the frame. The only problem is stowing away the lock while riding - I've resorted to locking it around my rear rack and bike frame where it just fits, but this is something that definitely needs consideration.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
shaow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

tough, small, heavy

Posted19 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, deterrent
Cons: Heavy
although its a mini size, I've had no trouble using it to lock up the bike frame at crowded cycle stand at work. It is a bit more tricky trying to get both the front wheel and frame in together, but I've bought the 4 foot krytoflex which goes around front and back wheel with the mini lock on the top tube.
its very sturdy, AND heavy. The only carrier I could find that straps this to the bike was the kryptonite handlebar carrier, which hold the lock very well.
For whats its worth, I've registered the lock and the bike to take advantage of the kryptonite guarantee, but from what I understand they only pay up if the bike's stolen because of a fault with the lock and you can return the broken lock to them....!
I would highly recommend. Can't argue with Sold secure Gold Rating.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dan17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rock Solid

Posted18 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: secure, thief deterant, thick, strong, well built
Cons: Expensive
If you want your bike to be safe I highly recommend this lock. Yes it is heavy, but you wouldn't trust it if it was feather light would you?
I have this lock and a Magnum 300 D-Lock, which is larger and weighs a little less. If I could only take one with me it would be the Kryptonite Fahgettaboudit. It fits perfectly around a bicycle pole, through the seat stays and back wheel, meaning a thief would find it incredibly difficult to get any tools or machinery inside the U to perform a leverage attack. The thickness is unreal. From the description you imagine it to be thick but it looks even bigger then I expected.
A frame mount of sorts might have been a nice addition but no real issue for me as I carry it in my backpack.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Parabiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Forget about using any other bike lock

Posted10 March 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
My first impressions were that "its a bit heavy", However,its that way for a reason.
Its the type of lock that puts my mind at ease when Im away from my bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ello

Its very heavy

Posted22 August 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Its solid which would help deter thieves. However it is very short so unless you use it just to lock your wheels to a bike stand, you would need a cable to lock bike frame to any fixed object, which kind of defeats having a solid lock as cables are less of a deterrent and means you have to carry 2 things
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chel
from Guildford
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

New bike, new lock

Posted08 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
The thought of having my new bike stolen was too much, so I bought what looked like one of the strongest locks on the market at the same time. I was a bit worried about its heaviness (which was why I chose the mini size) and about its ability to fit round my bike and cycle racks. In the event, however, I'm hardly aware of its weight when I'm cycling around. Some stands do make it a challenge to find a way of locking up both frame and wheel - but a cable is the answer to that. The mechanism operates slickly and I love the light on the key. The marketing blurb does this lock justice - it's made all my other locks feel like copper piping in comparison.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
yoko
from surrey
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Peace of mind

Posted23 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
MG, this is really heavy! It weighs exactly 2 kg. Though this does look trustworthy.
I have happened to find out that this Mini Lock snugly fits on Brompton's seat post (cylinder sits on the stay where you hook the bungees. See the picture) .
I believe the quality of this lock is superb, but a little bit concerned this is too heavy to carry around. So 4 stars.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PhilJ

Posted08 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This thing is TOUGH, it appears a lot more substantial than any other D-lock I've used and the price wasn't bad either
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jollycamel56
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

thicker, small, making it a nightmare to confront!

Posted26 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, heavy!
I've shopped around and nothing is better than having your bike in house next to you while you sleep!
Second to that is lock!
1. It is chunky cpmpared to other models making it a nightmare and a lengthier process to cut through!
2. It is small which makes it sit tighter to the frame of the bike, someone thinking of cutting or using some sort of leverage will be trying what ever they can to avoid damage to the frame
3. It just looks mean!
Who cares if it is heavy, it provides that piece of mind that they'll need extra time to get through this lock if they attempted to steal your bike, more time means more risk for the thief, Happy days for us.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chrishall
from Sheffield
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kryptonite New York Fahgettaboudit Mini Lock

Posted02 May 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, sturdy
This is a great lock. Although the shank is too short if you wish to put it through your rear wheel & connect it round a post. However this can be overcome with a cable. This is a heavy item though I don't see this as a con. As for the price, well what price do you put on your beloved bike?
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>