Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml

Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml

Overall rating:
4.312 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 16(81%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Review 1 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spodge

Excellent Lube

Posted16 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I use this in summer and the Finish Line Ceramic Wet in winter. Clean to use, lasts well and the chain runs smoothly and quietly. Also it is not necessary to clean the chain every application, I re-lube every couple of rides and do a full chain clean around once a month. Over the years I have tried many different types but always come back to Finish Line, they really do make excellent lubes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Twinspark
from Edinburgh
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wax Lubricant that isn't waxy

Posted05 October 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, lasts
Cons: Expensive
Used to use Finish Line's Krytech lubricant which was great bar the fact that it set up hard with the result that wax flakes used to come off. Have also used Halfords equivalent which is the same bar the fact the flakes are green!
With this Wax lubricant the set up is dry and seems finer with the result that it doesn't seem to flake off. Has held up well during some wet rides.
Also unlike the previously mentioned products it remains a liquid in the bottle (it does require shaking up before use) and doesn't clog the nozzle (so no squeezing hard to get some product on the chain and having it shoot across the carpet / floor / driveway * delete as appropriate!)
Definitely recommend for commuter use and will be buying more supplies.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
onoffroadie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great product..

Posted20 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great lube. Been using it for over 3 years...and don't think I'll be changing it as just restocked.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moocowmoomoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant smooth running chain & gears

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Apply and allow to dry, and top up & dry before a ride and it is brilliant!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adeyw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product

Posted09 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Good value larger size bottle, leaves a visible ceramic coating looking like the finish when the bike was new. Finish Line products always seem to work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
geoffdastardly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent lube in summer

Posted24 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
excellent lube in dry conditions sticks to the chain but doesn't attract dirt I lube fairly frequently as I think it works better with a micro thin coating
Obviously not ideal in heavy rain conditions
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gaunty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Kingston

Great

Posted02 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Good stuff - especially as the weather's been so good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stumpjump
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Long lasting quality lube

Posted02 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
In the wonderful weather conditions we have a wax type lube seems to last well and keeps the chain cleaner
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwivelo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't leave home without it.

Posted01 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I've used this product for years and it is by far the best for a smooth clean chain after miles of riding. Great stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
darren094205
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

super chain lube

Posted30 April 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
i had the finish line dry and wet lube - had no problems, chian runs quiet, tried this spec out (had teflon lube last time from finish line), worth the extra money, lasts longer, copes better with the rain, look no further its excellent lube, a few drops on after the chain has had a good clean and dried off, lube leave to soak in for an hour, then off you go
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Jamestuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Expensive

Posted28 April 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive
Only used it a few times and it looks like loads has gone already. For a dry lube it's very wet going on, I think most of what's in the bottle is alcohol, smells like it anyway.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeOldie
from Bournemouth
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good But Pricey

Posted18 November 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive, tricky to apply cleanly
Seems to stick to chain and not be too badly affected by water. Only time will tell how well it stops wear, but seems good in terms of quiet running and smoothness. DONT expect this to be economical to use. A large proportion of it is a solvent which carries the wax into the crevices of the chain and then evaporates. It is a very thin, runny liquid and it takes about an eighth of a bottle, ie about £1's worth, to lubricate a dry, cleaned chain. A job best done with the chain off the bike, laid out on a bench.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
adamson

From my point of view it doesn’t work.

Posted19 July 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive, Uncomfortable, doesn't work, noisy
From my point of view it doesn’t work. It keeps chain clean – that’s correct, but chain works louder then extremely dirty, first 10-15 miles the noise it’s not so bad, but later it becomes so annoyingly loud that in my case it kills the pleasure of ride. What‘s more it's very thin compare to traditional lubricants and the lubrication is quite difficult, I mean it goes everywhere and doesn’t “catch” the chain – again very annoying.
To sum up, I gave it a try and definitely I’m not going to use it again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jcarr
from London
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Quality chain lube

Posted04 February 2011
No, I do not recommend this product.
Seems to work well. Quiet, easy to apply and as good as most other lubes I've used. A little pricey, so only long term will tell if it's worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bignose
from SE
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good, but expensive

Posted20 July 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
This stuff definitely works but it's not cheap. I reckon I can get eight lubes out of a 4oz bottle, making it £1.25 a pop, whereas the old-school wet or dry lube lasts for ages. But it certainly keeps all the rubbish off your chain and cogs: spookily effective in fact. Buy it if you're minted, lust after it if you're skint.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Finish Line Ceramic Wax Lubricant - 120ml
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike2909
from Scotland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Does what it says

Posted06 June 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I decided to try this after a recommendation from a fellow cyclist in the USA.Very easy to use, need using sparingly.I followed the instructions and it works as it says.The chain and cassette stay much cleaner and they attract much less debris.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.