Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tools or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Topeak Alien III Tool

Topeak Alien III Tool

Overall rating:
4.812 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Topeak Alien III Tool
Review 1 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tel001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality - excellent range of tools

Posted07 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
Excellent tool, like the fact it splits in two. I did hope never to user this however manage to break my chain on one ride! The tool allowed me to split / remake the chain and I cycled home. I really like how the tool splits in two, increases the options for a roadside/track repair.
Even better it was 'on sale' and I didn't have to pay full price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biketinkerer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

As useful as a bike tool could get.

Posted08 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
As an on the road emergency only tool, you can't beat this. I have used the chain tool (even has a hook for the chain), every allen key, the torx, flat head, phillips, its a well built tool. Its easier using the chain tool with an actual 5mm allen key rather than the other half of the tool, but on the road you can fix just about anything. This tool won't let you remove your cranks or bottom bracket, but thats about the only 2 things this tool doesn't do!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mate84

Posted04 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
This is a great and really handy tool and has the basic functions one needs to fix simple problems. It is pretty robust. The wrenches have a fixing mechanism too, so they stay firmly in the open position when they are being used. I like it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Benjy10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Perfect

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This tool is perfect for any mountain biker or commuter, having said this, I wouldn't recommend it for road rides, with so many tools it is slightly weighty, overall great product and service!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sibbo238
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Amazing tool

Posted24 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A tool for every trail need. Used it the first time out
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul299
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great piece of kit

Posted29 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought one of these to put in my saddle bag when riding and it's fantastic.
Although so far I haven't had to use it I know that if a problem does arise when I'm alone and miles from civilisation this will have the tools on board to deal with it.
The little compartment for holding extra chain links is handy too is you have a Shimano chain like I do at the moment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
razocaine
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent tool for the job

Posted22 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I needed a new multi-tool after the pound shop one bit the dust. I thought this time I would go for one that was much better in build and design. Anyway the alien III has everything you need in a sturdy, well designed housing. It is quite heavy but then lighter options don't have the same amount of tools on offer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RandomCustomer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sweet Multi-Tool

Posted26 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
What can I say other than it does what it says on the tin... For the trail this tool is perfect, it is a little bulky however, but splits into two separate pieces and also comes with a nice little holder that I believe attaches to the stem.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
District9
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

SOLID BUILD QUALITY

Posted09 June 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
SOLID BUILD QUALITY, I’ve destroyed a couple of multi tools under normal use but I don’t see that happening with the Alien III. It has enough tools to sort the majority of trail problems (excellent chain splitter for a multi tool) and the two piece design makes even more problems solvable. It might seem slightly pricey, but then how much would you pay NOT to push 20km through the mountains in the rain. If you want a tool that should last a life time… will help you fix most issues until you can get to the workshop, a tool that looks to cool for school, then get an Alien for your ‘spaceship’.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryXJ6
from United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

A very well thought out, quality multitool.

Posted21 February 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
The Alien 3 is a quality multitool. I've used it many times, nothing has snapped, bent or broken and you can put a lot of force through it. The fact that it seperates into two halves makes even using tools such as the link breaker easy. Topeak have even put thought into the carry case by fitting it with one of their universal fixing brackets, so it will attach to a wedge bag saddle bracket, or you can purchase an adaptor to fasten it to your handlebar or frame. Expensive, but well worth the money as it feels like it will last forever.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Clarvis
from London
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Topeak Alien III Tool

Posted15 July 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This is a really good tool - very sturdy, with pretty much every tool you need. Most importantly is very well made, and looks like it will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
notabikegirl
from Kazakhstan
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

According to my boyfriend...

Posted21 June 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
...this tool is complicated! He doesn't know how to use all the bits and pieces and apparently it's a bit heavy. But he's impressed with the quality and the way it splits apart, and I think that once he works out what everything's for he'll be more than happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
airwolf
from guildford
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality

Posted30 March 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
excellant quality,the chain tool did exactly what it was supposed to do after having 'fun' with a chain on the way to work.It is expensive but i belive that you get what you pay for
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zScooby
from Thatcham
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Solid piece of kit

Posted05 September 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This tool has a very good solid quality feel to it. It is well designed, easy to use and even has a neat little safety catch to stop the penknife coming out accidentally when you are accessing the rest of the options. The size and weight are what you would expect from something with this many options and good build quality. Very very happy with it :-)
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bennnyy
from South East London
Age:Under 18
Style:BMX
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

More than i need. ;D

Posted27 April 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, everyone loves you for it
I bought this as i cycle 8 miles daily to and from school as an emergency tool, I also take this to several skate parks and there's always someone who needs a tool and they love me for it. However it's not exactly lightweight.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Topeak Alien III Tool
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
subzero
from Aldershot
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Is it worth it?

Posted04 March 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Good quality
Great having this under the seat, does what its says it does bit pricey though
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.