Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Tyres or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35

Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35

Overall rating:
4.417 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Review 1 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TernRider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Does the job so far...

PostedApril 20, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I had 2 punctures in the last 2 months and needed a more resistant tire for road and towpath riding. Seems to do the job well and a comfortable ride too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
akiran
Country:Turkey

Durable but not comfortable

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable, slippery
i used to have a pair of schwalbe big apple for my dahon. they were light and comfortable and cheaper; good for city cycling but not adequate for touring. Marathon plus undoubtedly durable bur very heavy and the surface is not non-skid enough. and the tyres are very thin so not comfortable like big apple. recommended for touring but unnecessary for city cycling. i wish i would get big apple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ltayler

Cheap Insurance Against Punctures

PostedNovember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, high puncture resistance
Cons: difficult to fit
Although folding bikes are very convenient, they generally don't have quick release wheels. This makes punctures repairs much more difficult which is why I was looking for a tyre with high puncture resistance. The Schwalbe Marathon Plus was exactly what I was looking for and I highly recommend them. They are more difficult to fit than normal tyres, however that's a small price to pay for the puncture resistance they provide.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jets1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Few Punctures

PostedJuly 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Moving onto 3rd generation of these and in 5 years have had only 3 punctures over @ 12,000 miles
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
weasel63
from Wodonga. Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great tires

PostedOctober 31, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
would recommend these tires to any rider. but would suggest buying Schwalbe tires to go with them as not all local bike stores carry tubes that fit properly. as i found out the hard way. after fitting schwalbe tubes have had no more problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jh13
from Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

recommended

PostedMarch 14, 2011
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
These tyres were recommended to me as practically puncture-proof. Very pleased with price and delivery time. So far so good regarding punctures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Trickcyclist
from Paris
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Pitfalls of an Internet Purchase

PostedNovember 27, 2010
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: puncture resistant
Cons: Expensive, not suitable for all 20" wheels
This was a timely invitation to review the Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35. I have just returned from the bike repair shop (in Paris) having had two rear spokes replaced. The mechanic told me that this tyre was too rigid for the wheels on the Dahon Mu Sl and that this was the cause of my very expensive broken spokes. There was no indication that this might be an issue with this tyre. If I have been informed correctly these tyres are going to be a very expensive mistake.
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Terrytandem
from London

Good purchase

PostedAugust 1, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Yet to get a puncture in oine of these tyres. Replaced because of mileage. Does what it says on the rim!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Miho
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

PostedFebruary 24, 2010
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
Not ridden it enough to comment on puncture protection but seems fine, Easier to fit than others led me to expect. Quite heavy due to the extra protection layer but worth it on roads covered with broken glass...
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fuzzyphil
from Hampshire
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Hopefully the answer to small wheel flats

PostedDecember 30, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought this for our folder as we kept having punctures. Bit hard to fit (as expected) but so far still maintained pressure. Not ridden sufficient miles yet to comment on longevity but its comfortable. Deleivery first class
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrJones
from Wakefield
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Schwalbe Marathon plus 20 x 1.35

PostedDecember 11, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Not cheap but quality and reliability will come at a price. After suffering 3 punctures in a week I have now had trouble free cycling and have not suffered any noticeable degradation in speed.
Best buy I have made by a country mile.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Schwalbe Marathon Plus 20 x 1.35
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
bentrider
from Shropshire
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good tough general purpose tyre

PostedDecember 10, 2009
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
A bit heavy and quite difficult to fit on 20" rims but a smooth ride and should be pretty bomb proof. Worth the cost.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
warekiwi
Herts , UK
 
Please wait while more information about warekiwi is loaded.
Additional information about warekiwi could not be loaded.
Accurately advertised!
Posted June 5, 2011
I paid extra to have these fitted on my German recumbent when I purchased it three years ago. Since then I've ridden over 6000miles . The tyres still look like new and I've never had a puncture!
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)